We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
90
9
0
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
9
0
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsachill viewother gueststower roomsconeshouse partysauna suitecommunal diningsailors barextraordinary locationget away from it allon arrivalfantastic hostsfrom start to finisheach eveningstayed for nightssecond to nonecroagh patrick
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 102 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2017

Stayed in the Achill View room of the Clare Island Lighthouse, which overlooks Achill Island across the bay - stunning. From the off everything was lovely. We were collected from the short ferry crossing from Roonagh, took a quick tour around the lighthouse itself, right on the edge of europe. Our room was lovely, cozy warm and very comfortable. The 5 course Dinner was delicious and meeting with other guests was fun. Walks, relaxing by the fire, enjoying the scenary makes the Lighthouse a treat, and will you'll feel so refreshed. Excellent hospitality, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sguthrie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1954, General Manager at Clare Island Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Very happy you enjoyed your wee break at the Lighthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile

Wonderful island, great lighthouse and perfect hospitality! The perfect place to get away and enjoy the great outdoors. Getting to the lighthouse was a fun adventure and it just got better from there.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1954, General Manager at Clare Island Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017
Google Translation

Delighted !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2017 via mobile

I stayed on 20-22nd Sept 2017.

Arrived on the ferry from Roonagh. Met two lovely sisters who were chatty and an American couple visiting island for 2nd time. Mix up on the harbour meant I was waiting for pick up and the Lighthouse team was there all along.

Manager disarmed me immediately sensing my grumpiness and could not have been more friendly. I was staying with a group of 11 or 12 Italians and the only solo traveller separate from the group.

Was hoping to meet several other
Travellers and enjoy the communal dining which I've done many times.

Didn't like them - inconsiderate / selfish / rude group who tried to dictate what time we ate and a number of other things. Had a 14 year old in group who should have been at school and no under 18's allowed. Their guide was a supercilious individual who had no awareness (didn't care) about anyone else's enjoyment or space.

Anyway team could sense it was awkward for me and made a fuss of me. I ate with the manager in 1st night and second I was invited into Kitchen for dinner. Manager showed me around Island as a special thing to do and showed me the lighthouse tower when Italians were out.
Food very good quality. Room comfortable. Location a one off.
I would recommend anyone goes but ensures they are in a mix of couples / solo's and not a bigger group who should either take the whole place or not dominate the stay. Island is beautiful and 2 days is enough. Glad I went. Disappointed I had to meet these horrible other inconsiderate travellers. Must say they even played the piano before dinner but couldn't play at all so it was like listening to a small child bang the keys. Such was their ignorance.

Would like to thank the team for doing their best to make me welcome and look after me. Hoping the 14 year old gets a serious detention when back at school and his parents a fine for taking him out of school term time !

No complaints about the team - lovely people. Great island. Worth a visit.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank GordonsBrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoieWestport, General Manager at Clare Island Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2017

Thank you and really glad you enjoyed your stay with us despite your misgivings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2017

This was our second visit to the Lighthouse and yet again nothing was too much for our hosts. The attention to our needs was second to none and it always felt like they downplayed going that extra mile to ensure we had a lovely time. Book in here if you are lucky enough to get the chance... its a bucket-list experience not to be missed!

Room Tip: You are staying in a Lighthouse - you can't go wrong as the views everywhere are spectacular...
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FinDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1954, General Manager at Clare Island Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2017

Was really delightful to see you back at the lighthouse and hopefully will see you again next year !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile

Had booked to stay at what looks like an extraordinary location in October four weeks ago. Got emailed to say booking was cancelled due to circumstances beyond their control. I felt Rachel was very sympathetic as I had spent hundreds of pounds on flights for this trip and had great difficulty in getting the time off work.

Another member of staff appeared unimpressed when I pointed out I had been short-changed in my deposit return (this was kindly returned.

Overall I'm very disappointed I wasn't able to stay at the venue and the situation has left me in a difficult position which is nobody's fault really.
I do feel the situation could have been communicated more effectively. Having lived and travelled extensively across the world I have rarely felt dismissed by a hospitality organisation. Maybe I've just been lucky.

The bluntness by the second staff member was more than was needed for business. Disappointed it happened in my homeland.

Stayed: September 2017
2  Thank McCloskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1954, General Manager at Clare Island Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2017

We are indeed truly sorry we had to cancel your booking and fully appreciate your disappointment. Once the booking was cancelled our main concern was to refund your deposit as quickly as possible. When you let us know there was a shortfall in the full refund amount due to admin charges we immediately refunded same. We are sincerely sorry you felt in any way dismissed as this was never our intention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews