We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Dancing break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Castlecourt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Castlecourt Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Wicklow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dancing break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Spent 5 days here for the ballroom dancing break. We booked a Deluxe room on the internet. On arrival we were allocated a standard room but after a phone call to reception we were sorted out with the correct room. The room itself was excellent but was located at the side of the hotel where deliveries arrived from 8 o'clock onwards. Even during the day trucks could arrive and have their engines running for up to twenty minutes. Avoid that side if possible. Breakfast was hit and miss depending on who served you. Our order was mixed up on two mornings and the scrambled egg was cold enough for my partner to have it returned. Not much warmer at the second attempt. Full Irish was excellent and their was a plentiful supply of fresh fruit. Evening dinner service was much better. As regards the food, duck was to die for but the steak was very average. The remainder was very good without being brilliant. The Ballroom dancing was superb with a marvellous couple in Jim & Josephine Tinneny and made the week most enjoyable. Would attend the dancing but stay at the Plaza across the courtyard. I should also mention that the massage at the Spa was excellent and got an excellent haircut at the hairdressers.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    968
    352
    127
    49
    27
See reviews for
397
526
23
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athenry, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Sometimes you hear people talk of their small break in a nice hotel and how good the food was, you might even hear them talk as if they were boasting about “The nice staff” and how they had a lovely time in the “Swimming pool and Jacuzzi”. Oh and not forgetting the “lovely room”. One would think that they were only trying to make you jealous on this fabulous break.....
Well let me tell all that might read this review that in our case all the above is true when we visited the CASLECOURT HOTEL in Westport, What a great time myself and my wife had and at such a reasonable price for the three nights. Thank you Castlecourt. N and M B.

Room Tip: Go for rooms faceing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

we stayed here for my sister's hen party and what a fantastic weekend. From the start the hotel staff were so helpful and accommodatiing in my dealings with them in the organising of a large group to stay. The hotel is in the heart of Westport which is a really beautiful and buzzing town. The hotel was really busy the weekend we stayed but is so well run. The accommodation, staff and food were all second to none. Would definately reccommend the castlecourt as a place to stay and a wonderful location for a hen party or a family break.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cliffoney71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Good value for money - we availed of special 3 night offer and enjoyed the little extras given with offer.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got what we requested. The hotel is in the town so convenient for shop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flojo291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I'm in this hotel right now, it's 12.30am and I can't sleep through the noise of reverberating dance music. I called reception who said there's a wedding and a 21st party going on. They offered to put me in another room - after midnight when I'm already in bed?! What grates most is that when I checked in two days ago (along with three other rooms' worth of my family) and they mentioned music in the hotel bar - as a positive feature - I specifically asked if I'd be able to hear it from my room and they reassured me that I wouldn't.
I really don't understand why this hotel receives such rave reviews. The deluxe rooms with four-poster beds etc are quite nice, but the standard rooms are basic, the plumbing is less than perfect and equipment such as TVs, kettles, heating - even window fittings - have seen better days. I get the impression the hotel is trying to tick all the desirable boxes but it's all a little rough around the edges. All day today (Saturday) trying to just make our way around the hotel every corridor and stairwell seems to have been jam-packed with wedding guests.
If you want to host a large function in a town centre in a huge hotel, this might be for you. If you're on a quieter break or prefer to wind down your own celebrations by midnight to relax or sleep, look elsewhere. Wild horses wouldn't drag me back to Castlecourt.
12.45am and the music is louder than ever. Thanks a lot Castlecourt.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Poppysmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Westmeath, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Just got back from a stay here with my girlfriend for a relaxing stay during the week, not only is it a great hotel but I would say it has to be one of the best deals I have been offered in a long time, We got the Midweek escape for 1 night a 4 coarse meal in the restaurant and a complimentary bottle of wine for 99 euro, the standard of the hotel is excellent, friendly staff and the food was good(tiger prawns could of been better do my girlfriend though). Even on a wednesday night the bar was busy with football on and a great atmosphere all around no complaints from me there anyway!!It just goes to show that good deals pay off its not easy to fill a hotel on a wednesday but the casclecourt can. I have to mention Kevin the barman very friendly and helpful also.

Great job guys keep up the good work ! We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed here for 2nights midweek in March. This hotel has a timeless elegance and has been finished to a very high standard. The rooms are spacious with lovely big windows so there's a nice airy feel to the room and the heavy black out curtains ensure a great nights sleep, even though the walls are pretty thin and you can hear everything happening next door! Luckily, our neighbours were fairly quiet. There was a strong smell of smoke (cigars) when we entered the room so had to leave the windows open for a while to clear, which wasn't so nice. The room itself was absolutely spotless.

There are loads of facilities including entry to the gym/swimming pool/sauna and lovely little touches like complimentary newspapers every morning and the reception staff are very helpful in giving out directions and maps etc.
Another thing I noticed about the hotel was that it has some lovely artwork on the walls and always had beautiful bouquets of fresh flowers throughout the halls and lobby which you can smell throughout the hotel and gives it a nice homely touch.

Breakfast consisted of a cold buffet (cereals, fruit, cold meats, cheese and pastries) and hot food to order. As well as the full Irish, the breakfast menu offers some nice alternatives like French toast, porridge, vegetarian breakfast and kippers. The staff are attentive and overall I found the staff very chatty and friendly.

Westport has so much to offer and the castlecourt is the perfect base for walking around the town and Westport House. The pretty tree-lined streets and waterways make the town picture perfect and the people are so friendly. The hotel made for such a relaxing getaway and was the perfect luxury break for us.

Room Tip: I got an excellent deal booking online with the hotel directly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalwayLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.0 km away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
2.0 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.4 km away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 15 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
0.3 km away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castlecourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castlecourt Hotel

Property: The Castlecourt Hotel
Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Westport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#5 Family Hotel in Westport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castlecourt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your The Castlecourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecourt Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing