We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Hidden gem

Ther are 2 ways into this & we took the long scenic drive in. What a special place. so tranquli and... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Elizabeth D
Lovely place to visit

Lovely peaceful place to visit. Very scenic and a short distance from the centre of Sligo town... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Rhona42
via mobile
Read all 126 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Sligo
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
88
23
6
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
23
6
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews light candles peaceful place loved ones spiritual experience drink the water piece of heaven special place quiet reflection few moments sligo town nice setting lovely place to visit prayer religious nature sanctuary trees
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ther are 2 ways into this & we took the long scenic drive in. What a special place. so tranquli and spiritual. Not sure if you can immerse yourself in the waters of the well but it looks like you can. However it is so cold. .

Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely peaceful place to visit. Very scenic and a short distance from the centre of Sligo town. Very spiritual place from a times past. Would recommend a visit for like minded people.

Thank Rhona42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stopped in hear one morning. Such a wonderful place to visit. Very quiet and spiritual. A great place to stop and meditate/pray. Just an amazing hidden gem.

1  Thank Carl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2018

This is not really a tourist attraction as it is off the beaten track and mainly used by the locals for Holy occasions, however it is very interesting to visit. There is a small natural well and stream running through the area it is beautiful. Years ago many people would through a penny in to the well and make a wish, they would also drink the water - this practice has been stopped for health and safety reasons.
Over the last few years the area has been improved. There is an altar and some small places to pray and light candles around the site but no seating. I especially like the small alcove at the top of the steps in honour of St Bernadette and the Virgin Mary.
The area has uneven ground but a wheelchair could be pushed around by a strong person.
Please remember this is a Holy area to the people of Sligo and treat it with respect.
There is a free parking area.

2  Thank SunnyDay365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2018

This is not for everyone, and not widely promoted by the locals. Its a bit difficult to find but that adds to the experience as well as keeping the site a bit special because not everyone will take the trouble. This is good because this ancient religious site is still just that, a living place of worship. If you are looking for a moving spiritual experience without the grandeur of great cathedrals then this is for you

Thank allancamer0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2018

This was an interesting place to visit, given its history. No one else was here when we were, and it was a dull damp day. While I found it interesting, I think those of Faith would get more from a visit here.

Thank Noel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2018

A lovely place to just take a walk, some time to just be still and think, you dont have to be religious to appreciate the beauty of this area. A wonderful peaceful place to enjoy a few moments to yourself.

Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2018

Water bubbles from the ground and is surrounded by RC shrines with candles, plaques, and people in prayer. Very quiet, ancient, and moving.

Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2018

The history of this spot really touched me.
To think that people were forced to travel by foot to pray in secrecy back when, is so sad.
When I pulled into the small car park it was almost dusk, and there was nobody around.
Through the trees I could see flickers of light, and I was almost apprehensive about stepping in, but am so glad I did.
The tranquility was beautiful, so quiet and peaceful.
Candles burn at the alter, and the smell of the candles with the damp woods, and sound of nature in the surrounding woods was something I can't begin to explain.
I sat for a little while to reflect, walked around the stations of each cross, and lit a candle of my own before retreating back to the car.
Such a lovely little spot, and one not to be missed.

1  Thank claddagh1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

Lovely spot for quiet reflection. Even if you are not a religious person, it is interesting from a historic perspective. Obviously well cared for and has ample parking.

Thank Marli F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews