We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit old, far from city center” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
321 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A bit old, far from city center”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

It was ok, but it the room interiors look quite old and don't give the impression to be extremely clean. You definitely need a car, nothing interesting at walk distance, even for eating. The double bed is quite small, so not that comfortable.
Good Irish breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    132
    69
    49
    44
See reviews for
165
130
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cahir
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Lovely place,receptionist friendly and explained everything to us and very easily understood.Room lovely and comfortable and food great,reasonable yet well presented.Staff so cheerful and efficient.Great rates and well done we will be back

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CahirJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Delayed at reception check-in for 20 mins. They had the complete wrong rates for our weekend (12 women on a golf wkend)
When I eventually arrived to my bedroom it had not been cleaned. Coffee cups everywhere, bed not made and the bathroom towels strewn on the ground. So back to reception to change rooms. Whilst the General Manager Barry Howard was apologetic I cant say the same for the girls on reception. The second room I have to say in my view was extremely dusty-as it remained so for the wkend. Also the chair in the bedroom was filthy.
Swimming pool does not open until 9 am on Sundays!!! No chlorine in foot bath to enter pool are. The carpet on the back stairs to the Spa Area totally unacceptable-really dirty. The Hotel itself absolutely too hot yet when we had our Dinner in the Dining Room on the Saturday night - no heat on whatsoever - the staff said it was broken. Some of our ladies had to get their coats including me. Our soup that evening was cold and so were some of the main course dishes (they did give us 1 bottle of wine between 12 in lieu of this mild inconvenience) There was also a Wedding on on the Saturday-on the 1st floor it was impossible to get to sleep with the noise of the music-why not put those guests not attending the wedding at the other end of the Hotel (too obvious I guess). Plus a lot of shouting in the car park during the night also from the wedding me thinks. Says there are 5 channels on the TV (imagine in this day and age 5) only 3 worked in my room, RTE 1, RTE 2 and ~TV3 how exciting.
The breakfast was not what one would expect either in this day and age-coffee that tasted like treackle, no fresh croissants or pastries (stale), no fresh french bread. When I went to get scramled egg with my bacon and tomatoes none left and the waitress said it would take at least another 5 -10 mins. All in all not a good experience and as a group of 12 women we did not find the staff friendly or did they even ask us about our weekend or returning when checking out on the Sunday-they were totally indifferent to us.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Esat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Tullamore, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

This is our second stay at this Hotel in the last six months and cannot fault it. The food was excellant and it is a very child friendly Hotel and the staff are amazing. Will be back hopefully soon.

Room Tip: The second floor is quieter. The family rooms are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noreen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

This is our 4th visit in 3years so we can't recommend this hotel highly enough. The staff from booking, to checking in, to food and bar service have all been fantastic. I love the Irish feel to the place. The rooms are spotless, the leisure centre is perfect especially if you have kids, we have a 4 yr old.The kiddie pool is great and its safe. The lifeguards are attentive.The food.....OMG its simple, large portions and soooooooo tasty! We just love the "chips in a pot". We are actually posting this on the last night of a 3 night stay on the free WIFI in our room while enjoying a beautiful and well priced pint. Unfortunately this will be our last visit for a while as we are emigrating during the summer. We will miss our short breaks here.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms when functions being held if your a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWCOMMUTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOMahony01, Sales & Marketing Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear DWCOMMUTER,

Thank you for your respond. It was a great pleasure to read that you were looked after from the minute you booked and throughout your stay.
I will ensure to pass on your kind comments to all of the team who I am sure will find very motivating.

We wish you all the best with your move and hope someday in the future you might return.

Kindest Regards,

Claire O'Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

overnight stay for a family occasion. Very enjoyable and comfortable, very friendly atmosphere, rooms very clean and food excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cnj123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOMahony01, Sales & Marketing Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear cnj123456,

Thank you for your respond. I am delighted to read that you found the atmostphere friendly and welcoming.
Most importantly it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to the Woodlands Hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Claire O'Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callan, Co. Kilkenny
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Very happy with my stay. Lovely hotel and very cheap and well priced.
Will be returning again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xtinamangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOMahony01, Sales & Marketing Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear xtinamangan,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you were happy with your stay here in the Woodlands Hotel, Waterford.

I am especially happy to read that you thought your stay was well priced.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Woodlands Hotel, Waterford.

Kindest Regards,

Claire O'Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
3.3 km away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
3.6 km away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
4.1 km away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
4.4 km away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
4.6 km away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel

Property: Woodlands Hotel
Address: Dunmore Road, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing