We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$126
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Granville Hotel(Waterford)
US$162
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$63
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$123
US$113
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Portree House(Waterford)(Great Value!)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitzwilton Hotel(Waterford)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (571)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveller rating
255
161
93
37
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
161
93
37
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszaks restaurantwaterford cityacross the riverlovely hotellarge roomminute drivewaiting stafffull irishcourse mealsaturday nightvisiting waterfordcar parkstancarrieirelandsuirduvet
Filter
Updating list...
432 - 437 of 571 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Lovely little hotel,very nice staff and food top notch.Only problem was the room,very outdated.Carpets torn,wallpaper peeling ,ceiling in bathroom cracked sealing around the bath mouldy.I informed reception when leaving and informed of all problems.Very apologetic but would have expected an e-mail from the manager,just to be polite.Room named after a famous Beatle(John Lennon) but may have found a different type staying in the room now.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kend123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear Kend123

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed our food, I will pass on your comments to our Executive Chef Jean Baptiste Dubois.

I have checked the John Lennon room with our maintenance team and we are unable to find torn carpet, or crack in the celing, also the bedroom walls are painted, not wall papered perhaps you might email me directly and I'd be happy to look into this matter for you.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Kindest regards

Mailo Power
Director Athenaeum House Hotel
Email: info@athenaeumhousehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed here a couple of months ago. This was our first visit to the hotel in about 8 years. Whilst the property has deteriorated a little in that time we still had a very enjoyable stay. The room was good, well equipped, quiet and with a nice view. Our booking included bed and breakfast and dinner in the restaurant. Both meals were excellent especially the dinner which was first class and worth travelling to the hotel for even if you are staying elsewhere.

Overall, a peaceful couples getaway, with excellent food, close to Waterford city.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GC61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear GC61

Welcome back.

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel during your recent visit. Glad you enjoyed your return visit to us. Appreciate your kind comments, look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Mailo Power
Director Athenaeum House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We were staying only one night in this hotel, which was just as well. On first arrival we were impressed by the lovely old building and grounds. The staff were so friendly but regretably that is about the only positive thing I can say about our stay. When we were shown our room I noticed that my bed linen was not clean and upon further examination there was a smell of "Deep Heat" cream from the sheets. The room furniture looked well worn with stains on one chair. We informed reception of the condition of our room and FOUR rooms later we found one that was CLEAN or did not have noise from the air-conditioning. The staff were wonderful, apologitic and obviously embarassed. Because we were arriving late we had arranged to eat at the hotel but our evening meal was not up to the standard of a four star hotel. The breakfast was no better. When we checked out we informed the receptionist of the condition of our room and she apologised and said she would get the owner to contact us. This he did not do. Regretably this hotel does not meet the standard of a three star hotel and we would advise any impending clients to think carefully before deciding to stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Una R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear Una

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointing stay with us. We do not have a record of one of our guests being moved four times, we would regard this as a very serious matter.

Please contact me directly on this matter, we appreciate your feedback.

Yours sincerely

Mailo Power
Director Athenaeum House Hotel
Email: info@athenaeumhousehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We were efficiently checked in and welcomed. The rooms were first class and very comfortable and clean. The room was a very good size with a beautiful bathroom. The restaurant was excellent with a good choice of meals and wines. A good choice for both business nad pleasure.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pedro00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I was actually born in Ferrybank where the hotel is located, so I know the area well. I was actually born in Ferrybank where the hotel is located, so it feels a little strange to be writing a review about a hotel in my home place. This is a very pleasant well maintained hotel outside of the city. We received a warm welcome and found the service good. The hotel has recently been painted and has a fresh feel to it. The excellent restaurant has a very good value table d'hote menu of €25. The large glass dining area gives an old-world ambience which we liked especially.
Decor throughout is a bit mixed. Our bedroom was an excellent size and spotless but the furniture had a prefabricated IKEA feel to it. However given the reasonable price this was a small issue and more authentic antique furniture would doubtlessly increase the price considerably. Less acceptable were the matrasses which were distinctly average - not what one would expect nowadays in a hotel of this quality. The beds also come with blankets without a duvet option. Nonetheless we slept well as we were very tired after our journey. Overall, given the reasonable price of €80.00 for B&B for two people I have decided on an excellent rating in spite of some of the weaknesses.
The main issue in relation to the hotel comes down to location. For peace and quiet in a semi-rural location it is a very good choice. It is only suitable for a Waterford city stay if travelling by car as it is quite a distance to the city. If you are interested in a city centre location the Tower, Granville or Dooley’s are good choices in Waterford but do look up my review of the Tower for tips on room choice if considering staying there.

Room Tip: Better views of the river suir from second floor rooms but all are fine.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hillstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews