We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (581)
Filter reviews
581 results
Traveller rating
258
164
94
38
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
164
94
38
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszaks restaurantwaterford cityacross the riverlovely hotellarge roomminute driveevening mealfull irishsaturday nightvisiting waterfordcar parkstanirelandsuirtelevision
Filter
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 581 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2015

We spent 3 nights in a nice clean room below reception looking out over the rear garden. We were amused by the fire escape instructions telling us to proceed along the corridor, when you could lift the window and step out into the garden! Two small problems with the room were dealt with immediately. We had one group meal which was good, as were the breakfasts, but we ate out at a nice Italian restaurant as we wished to see Waterford. A very helpful lady called Julie was very persistent in retrieving and posting on a pair of my trousers which managed to avoid the suitcase. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2015

I'm a proud waterford man and do all I can to support local,however the hospitality of the management of this hotel is non existent. If you can navigate up the road (the hoe che min trail in Vietnam was in better state) you will arrive at a hotel which in all fairness is well presented, we attended the day after a wedding there and before you jump to conclusions of the approx 45 of us over half were women and children all we'll behaved and respected the privacy of all guests ect,, the problems started when we went to order drinks, the average waiting time was nearly 10 mins with some of our party left waiting 20 mins for a drink,, I felt sorry for the staff because they had no idea what they were doing while the manager ( a Eastern European gentleman ) flapped around , time and again we asked him to address the issue and time and again he made excuses and went hiding ,, they hadn't the bar stocked and to tbh and when the kegs needed to be changed they lost the keys to the keg room and left us standing like dopes for a drink ,,ok not to bad so far eh just some one having a moan?in fairness the food wasn't bad for Sunday lunch . Some of the party decided to order food ( soup & sands) in the resturant and were told they must eat it in the bar and made move from their seats 2 people just got soup and were charged incorrectly €27 for 2 bowls and were told we were wrong ,we then headed to the main room just off the bar ,and approx 9 of us decided to sit down in the restaurant as a group for dinner, we asked the other manager ( some Irish woman ) if we could pull the tables together for the group in which she point blankly refused , by the way there was no one else in the resturant at this stage and again we were well behaved eventually she reluctantly gave in to our request,,, the food was over priced and doesn't offer googol value, we then returned to the room of the bar when we once ageing decided to order drinks again a lengthy wait and I never mention the price of a pint but it was quite clearly overpriced for the level of service we received that's of course if your drink ( bottle ) wasn't warm ,, we then again headed back to the room for another quite few drinks when outer friend the polish manager was delighted to inform us that the bar was stopped serving ,, I asked why he said that was that we close at 11.30'sharp and didn't want our business , don't expect your tables to be cleaned as the groom ended up clearing tables and clearing bottles at no stage did the staff clear one table ,, if you pay on card you have to walk half way through the building to the one and only card machine in reception in this day and age it speaks volumes of how poorly run it is ,, by the way don't ask for cash back that's a dirty term and they won't accomadate you even though your a couple of miles in an isolated place away from an atm,, we were then told again we weren't wanted and after the groom negotiated with the manager they said as we gave them so much business they would leave us have one more drink then when some of the party went back to order the said drink they were laughed at , then things got crazy 2 songs were played on a guitar and we were instructed to get our taxis and leave which we did and by the way it's fair to say none of us will ever set foot in the place again which considering all the attendees were from Ferrybank and involved in the local community I don't think they will ever have any of them back again ,, if you want hospitality AVOID, AVOID, if you want a fair priced drink AVOID AVOID , if you want a good experience AVOID AVOID,,sad really because the place has some potential!!!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank water4dman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2015

Have just returned from a small Landscape Designers tour to Ireland. We stayed at the Athenaeum House hotel for one night on our way to Cork. Yes it is on the other side of the river from Waterford and can be a little hard to find, but what a wonderful delightful hotel. Our group was soaked after probably one of the wettest days this summer, but the hotel was just a welcome oasis away from all the noise of the city. The owner Stan, was more than helpful. We had a Huge lunch on the road, so they were going to put on a small BBQ for us, but with the weather being as it was - we had a delightful buffet BBQ inside. Stan spoke about the hotel's history, the staff were so friendly. The rooms were large - they were clean - the bathrooms were a very good size. I cannot fault anything about the hotel. It really was like staying in someone's home. It was one of the most delightful stays on our tour. We had time in Waterford the next day, and after such a wet day before we arrive - it was an ideal quiet location for us. Thanks Stan and Kelly for the attention to detail. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2015

Found Athenaeum on Booking.Com
Could not believe what amazing good value we received.
Accommodation, dinner and breakfast were superb. 10/10 to French chef.
The staff were friendly and very informative.

Room Tip: Enjoy a refreshment on the balcony
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zenacoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2015 via mobile

Rooms need a complete overhaul! Bathrooms were extremely in need of good cleaning and Reno! What a total disappointment and would never ever stay again!! Not a Manor House at all and NOT 4 star! The beds were horrible and both me and my husband were in great distress from the condition of the mattress, springs should not be felt and there was NO padding! Linens were worn and thread bare in areas! The poor staff tried there best with what they had! Breakfast was disgusting eggs did not at all taste like eggs and we refused to eat the breakfast the next day! Could not wait to leave and eat some Real breakfast! Had no idea that eggs could be so disgusting! When leaving the receptionist said she would have someone check into it what a joke they already had our money as we were pre-paid. Run far away from this place

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank mapeterson25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews