We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Athenaeum House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed 27 August 2015

This hotel was beautiful, inside and out. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was quiet and peaceful and very spacious. While we were there, there weren't any children or loud crowds - mostly couples. For this trip, I was with my mother. However, I think it would be great place to return with my husband.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dixie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2015 via mobile

The room was dated and in need of some repairs (e.g., holes in the wall). We ate dinner and breakfast in the hotel and the food was good. The servers were very attentive. I enjoyed visiting with the neighbourhood cat out on the deck before dinner :) Waterford is just across the river.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Josie852_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

This is a wonderful house in a lovely setting. Staff are friendly and the restaurant is welcoming. I would recommend Zak's restaurant, the food is great.
Sadly that's where it ends! I couldn't recommend a stay. The bedrooms are tatty, bed sheets not ironed, towels old and the curtains in two of the rooms we saw were torn and frayed. Shower curtains unclean and mouldy tiles in the bathrooms.
I complained while we were there and was told that we couldn't be moved and I also Emailed the owner on our return as I was genuinely shocked at its condition and couldn't believe they knew how bad it was. I was offered a free stay.. No thank you, that wasn't the point.
It doesn't cost much to replace these items and clean properly.
Ironing the sheets costs nothing.
We didn't refuse to pay but only hope that the money is put to good use! Some new curtains maybe!

I really hope the owners improve it because it could be wonderful.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Lucky with the weather for probably the first day this summer which really helped to bring out the true qualities of this lovely venue. Service excellent, food very nice, beautiful grounds looking back into Waterford City across the river. The grounds are very private. Room kept to a high standard. Breakfast the next morning was lovely. No complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank yolatenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

We spent 3 nights in a nice clean room below reception looking out over the rear garden. We were amused by the fire escape instructions telling us to proceed along the corridor, when you could lift the window and step out into the garden! Two small problems with the room were dealt with immediately. We had one group meal which was good, as were the breakfasts, but we ate out at a nice Italian restaurant as we wished to see Waterford. A very helpful lady called Julie was very persistent in retrieving and posting on a pair of my trousers which managed to avoid the suitcase. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2015

I'm a proud waterford man and do all I can to support local,however the hospitality of the management of this hotel is non existent. If you can navigate up the road (the hoe che min trail in Vietnam was in better state) you will arrive at a hotel which in all fairness is well presented, we attended the day after a wedding there and before you jump to conclusions of the approx 45 of us over half were women and children all we'll behaved and respected the privacy of all guests ect,, the problems started when we went to order drinks, the average waiting time was nearly 10 mins with some of our party left waiting 20 mins for a drink,, I felt sorry for the staff because they had no idea what they were doing while the manager ( a Eastern European gentleman ) flapped around , time and again we asked him to address the issue and time and again he made excuses and went hiding ,, they hadn't the bar stocked and to tbh and when the kegs needed to be changed they lost the keys to the keg room and left us standing like dopes for a drink ,,ok not to bad so far eh just some one having a moan?in fairness the food wasn't bad for Sunday lunch . Some of the party decided to order food ( soup & sands) in the resturant and were told they must eat it in the bar and made move from their seats 2 people just got soup and were charged incorrectly €27 for 2 bowls and were told we were wrong ,we then headed to the main room just off the bar ,and approx 9 of us decided to sit down in the restaurant as a group for dinner, we asked the other manager ( some Irish woman ) if we could pull the tables together for the group in which she point blankly refused , by the way there was no one else in the resturant at this stage and again we were well behaved eventually she reluctantly gave in to our request,,, the food was over priced and doesn't offer googol value, we then returned to the room of the bar when we once ageing decided to order drinks again a lengthy wait and I never mention the price of a pint but it was quite clearly overpriced for the level of service we received that's of course if your drink ( bottle ) wasn't warm ,, we then again headed back to the room for another quite few drinks when outer friend the polish manager was delighted to inform us that the bar was stopped serving ,, I asked why he said that was that we close at 11.30'sharp and didn't want our business , don't expect your tables to be cleaned as the groom ended up clearing tables and clearing bottles at no stage did the staff clear one table ,, if you pay on card you have to walk half way through the building to the one and only card machine in reception in this day and age it speaks volumes of how poorly run it is ,, by the way don't ask for cash back that's a dirty term and they won't accomadate you even though your a couple of miles in an isolated place away from an atm,, we were then told again we weren't wanted and after the groom negotiated with the manager they said as we gave them so much business they would leave us have one more drink then when some of the party went back to order the said drink they were laughed at , then things got crazy 2 songs were played on a guitar and we were instructed to get our taxis and leave which we did and by the way it's fair to say none of us will ever set foot in the place again which considering all the attendees were from Ferrybank and involved in the local community I don't think they will ever have any of them back again ,, if you want hospitality AVOID, AVOID, if you want a fair priced drink AVOID AVOID , if you want a good experience AVOID AVOID,,sad really because the place has some potential!!!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank water4dman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2015

Have just returned from a small Landscape Designers tour to Ireland. We stayed at the Athenaeum House hotel for one night on our way to Cork. Yes it is on the other side of the river from Waterford and can be a little hard to find, but what a wonderful delightful hotel. Our group was soaked after probably one of the wettest days this summer, but the hotel was just a welcome oasis away from all the noise of the city. The owner Stan, was more than helpful. We had a Huge lunch on the road, so they were going to put on a small BBQ for us, but with the weather being as it was - we had a delightful buffet BBQ inside. Stan spoke about the hotel's history, the staff were so friendly. The rooms were large - they were clean - the bathrooms were a very good size. I cannot fault anything about the hotel. It really was like staying in someone's home. It was one of the most delightful stays on our tour. We had time in Waterford the next day, and after such a wet day before we arrive - it was an ideal quiet location for us. Thanks Stan and Kelly for the attention to detail. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.4 km away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,220 reviews
1.0 km away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,381 reviews
2.8 km away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,214 reviews
1.5 km away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,428 reviews
0.5 km away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenaeum House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum House Hotel

Address: Christendom, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Waterford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#6 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: $108 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Athenaeum House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing