We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Oldest Rock with Unique Engraving Techniques

Going to the Petroglyphs, we need to pass a man made tunnel. Entrance fee is P20 for adult and P10... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
nhengswonderland
,
Antipolo City, Philippines
Great Historical Rock Art

The Angono-Binangonan Petroglyphs was an interesting site to visit. Having background in arts and... read more

Reviewed April 4, 2018
Kristoffer A
via mobile
Read all 32 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Binangonan
from US$20.00
More Info
from US$36.00
More Info
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
4
15
12
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
15
12
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national museum entrance fee view deck rock shelter petroglyphs art cave philippines site vandalism guard treasure meters capital figures jacob esperanza
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 32 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2017

The Angono- Binangonan Petroglyphs is the oldest work of Art in the Philippines. with over 127 stone carvings it is truly amazing. People should be made aware more of the importance of these artifacts and the youths must be exposed to this for them to protect this... Rizal is truly the Art capital of the Philippines...

Date of experience: June 2017
2  Thank shielalopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2017

A man made cave serves as the gateway to Angono-Binangonan Petroglyphs. The cave is dark, cold and a bit mysterious. The cave is followed by a five minute trekking. Luscious trees and bushes line up at the side of the pathway leading to the National Museum Site.

Museum Docent , Esperanza Jacob, welcomes and educate the guests about the petroglyphs before going to the actual location of the rock shelter.

The petroglyphs is carved at a shallow rock shelter that measures sixty three (63) meters wide, eight (8) meters deep, and the highest point is at five (5) meters. One hundred twenty seven (127) primitive drawings are visible in the rock shelter. Most of them are clustered and in the forms of animals, person and other linear or circular figures.

Unfortunately, some guests vandalized the rock shelter and wrote their names and other figures near the primitive drawings. To put an end to this unnecessary actions and to preserve the cultural treasure of the Philippines , the museum made a view deck where in an appropriate distance between the guests and the drawings is implemented.

Date of experience: June 2017
2  Thank traveleatpinast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2017 via mobile

This place is off road and a bit small, but it's still worth the drive. It's a shame the place wasnt named as a heritage site right away so there were plenty of vandals already. But there's something really special in seeing the carvings made by early human settlements here, especially the huge turtle which they worship. Definitely worth looking at especially if you're a history buff.

Date of experience: December 2016
2  Thank Cybill Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2017

So since I have gone to National Museum in Manila a lot of times, I thought it might be time to visit one of its regional branches, that's actually near to where I live -- the Angono-Binangonan Petroglyphs Site. It was a bit of an irony because after almost three decades of residing in the Angono-Binangonan border, it was in this day that I decided to go there.

I felt that, as a local, it would be a shame if I don't pay a visit to one of the town's (and country's) cultural treasures -- the Angono-Binangonan Petroglyphs.

Actually, it's been for long that I planned to visit the site, pero laging nauudlot. Every time that we jog and climb up the hills, we'd always end up at the entrance of Eastridge or Thunderbird. Speaking of Thunderbird, the Petroglyphs is just several walks away from the resort/casino.

I didn't know what the Petroglyphs looked like before, but it is recently renovated. There's a nice wooden view deck where you can see the 127 prehistoric artworks carved right onto the rock face... They're supposed to date back to 3000 B.C. (or approximately 5,000 years ago). Reportedly, there are also archaeological finds in the site, most likely the tools the prehistoric men used for these etchings, but we weren't able to see them.

It was Botong Francisco who was responsible for discovering the site back in 1965. I don't know if he was National Artist already by the time of the discovery, but one thing's for sure -- that it further cemented Angono's rightful distinction as the country's "art capital." The petroglyphic artworks have very well made Angono as the cradle of the country's art.

Since the National Museum's main branch now has free entrance, the Angono-Binangonan Petroglyphs is free too. Just go to the information center and sign a logbook.

The cave that led us to the site might have been known to house bats and even snakes. I guess this might be true. At first, we hesitated, but after seeing a group of travelers exiting the place, we thought the cave might not be scary at all. Turned out, it wasn't! Rather, it was a bit disappointing because of the vandalism marks inside the cave. I hope the management can do something about it because these marks just ruin the whole thing, undermining the site's mystical atmosphere and character.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank Nievs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2017 via mobile

This is a bit of a drive considering traffic. But the visit is worth it considering these are 3000 years old. Nice place for kids to see and appreciate.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank rey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews