We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Holiday Home”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
decked sitting area lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
decked sitting area
lounge
kitchen diner
superking zip linked beds
or twin beds
sofa bed
deep mattress
good sized double
conservatory
shower room
great garden
floorplan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
acebai
2 reviews
“Fantastic Holiday Home”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is an amazing holiday home. It was spotlessly clean. Julie was wonderfully thoughtful as she provided essential provisions such as milk, eggs, coffee, tea, etc. We would thoroughly recommend it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2014
Thank you for your lovely review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gingerpie
Notts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best s/c accommodation we have ever stayed at!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

This was the best self-catering accommodation we have ever stayed in. Lovely welcome from Julie & Mike spotless rooms and a welcome hamper of eggs from their own hens (delicious), milk, bread, orange juice and butter, as well as as much tea & coffee you could drink. We stayed at Eastside with its lovely big, fully equipped kitchen (better than our own!), our 4yo slept in the comfy sofa bed and we had the double bed. Lots of books to read, board games as well as DVDs already supplied by the owners. Had a look inside the other accommodation, The Lodge, as well which has 2 bedrooms, and just as well equipped. Both have access to the large garden at the rear which has a large trampoline, zip wire, swings and is also home to the chicken pen, which my son loved. Julie was brilliant and had printed off details of local childrens play centres and Nene Valley info, all which were within a 20 minute drive. Crowland centre is about a 10 minute walk from Eastside, with a local co-op, spar, couple if pubs, chip shop and Italian restaurant. We took little un to the local garden centre too as they had a small soft-play area.

Overall, a great place for a weekend, mid-week (or longer) break. Brilliant price, they have the same price all-year round and don't increase it for school holidays (unlike most other rip-off holiday providers) and it felt like going to stay with friends or relatives rather than a holiday booking. Will definitely, definitely be returning!

Free wifi as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: home-from-home feel
Liked least: nothing we didn't like!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2014
Thank you for this lovely review. We love to see the children playing in the garden and are pleased that you found the 'What can we do Today' pack helpful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brenda l
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
“perfect holiday accomodation - suitable for all ages”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Fen-Acre, we have stayed twice in the double room and will continue to stay here when we visit family in the area. As we walked in to the accommodation the kitchen was modern and fully furnished to a high standard allowing us to prepare food from a light snack to a full 3 course meal. The kitchen then opened up onto the lounge (open plan) which had two large settees which were very comfortable and a television. A well fitted shower and toilet area which was nice and spacious. In one storage cupboard was access to a washing machine and drier. The bedroom too was a decent size with plenty of storage space within the large sliding wardrobes, the bed was very comfortable and the general design was of good taste. In addition to the apartment is a conservatory equipped with lounge furniture which then leads onto decking that overlooks the garden. Overall the accommodation felt very homely, well laid out and it was clear that a lot of care and planning had gone into the design and set up of these apartments, we cant fault it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort, style & excellent value
Liked least: Wish we could have stayed longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gecko24
Brisbane, Qld
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“If you need accom in Peterborough region - stay here!”
Reviewed 29 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We were visiting friends in the Peterborough area and cannot recommend more highly this unit. The lounge is spacious and comfortable. The eat-in kitchen is large and the best equipped of any self-contained accommodation we have stayed in around the world. A starter-pack included fresh eggs, frozen bread, apple juice, milk, tea, coffee, sugar, cereal etc and presumably left by others, the pantry had stocks of vinegars, oils, salt and pepper, sauces, herbs etc which was great for travellers.

The bed was very comfy and opens onto a conservatory. With the weather cold and overcast we discovered why the Brits love these-it was bright and light and so warm all day - we spent most of our time when home, here. Free wifi was great for keeping in touch with the folks in Aus. The owners are welcoming and friendly and happy to give info on the surrounds. Email correspondence to organise the booking (made from overseas) and keep in touch prior was excellent.

Crowland was convenient to visit friends in neighbouring villages and the city centre. The village itself is interesting and walkable from the unit, with its Trinity Bridge and abbey. There is a highly regarded restaurant and two mini-marts for groceries.

All in all an excellent stay and one we would recommend most highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The conservatory, unit's spaciousness and facilities
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I will certainly ensure that our friends who run restaurants in the town see your comments. We try to ensure that people can arrive here and find everything they need, other than their money, clothes and good weather so indeed it is us who provide all the basic cooking bits. In fact we have recently planted a herb garden so the culinary inclined guests can pick even fresh herbs!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara A
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT FACILITIES-HOME FROM HOME”
Reviewed 21 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day stay in Eastside@Fen-Acre..
It was very comfortable and we wanted for nothing.
Nice touches in the welcome pack-much appreciated.
Lovely area of the Fens.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable mattress,warm & cosy.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2013
Thank you for leaving such a positive review. What a good job you left before the snow set in!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K
Milton Keynes
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed 19 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

rented both East side and the lodge to stay with friends and family. Felt very much like a home from home- all the mod-cons and spotlessly clean.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Watching the children on a trampoline, with chickens running around.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay made all the more enjoyable by the care and attention shown by the owners.”
Reviewed 3 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This is our second visit in 2 months (which says a lot in itself). Julie and Bub are great hosts with a fund of knowledge about the area, and a strong desire that the guests should have an enjoyable and relaxing visit. Any small problems (e.g. the radiator in the bedroom not working) were quickly remedied.
Eastside is very well equipped with just about everything that you'd need to use during a visit, and the shops in Crowland village can be easily reached either on foot or by car if you need milk, bread, etc;. The village is worth a visit in its own right, and Eastside is very well located for visiting many sites in the wider area - we'd both highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The range of facilities available within the property - like 'home from home'.
Liked least: Mattress is a bit soft - personal taste as many people will like it.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$91
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing