We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but noisy if there is a party going on on the floor above.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Peterborough West
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Peterborough
UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good but noisy if there is a party going on on the floor above.”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We had an enjoyable time here twice in 2010. Overall very good value and the food was excellent. Our first stay was spoiled somewhat by the antics going on above on the Saturday night of our first visit. The management did their best but it seemed impossible.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_stern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    210
    87
    25
    18
See reviews for
65
117
40
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerry
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights recently on a business trip.
The hotel itself is nothing special but service was good and the attraction for me was that it has a leisure centre and gym.
The bedroom was fine with 1 of the widest beds I have seen in a hotel.
I only had cereal for breakfast but the cooked breakfast looked appetising.
I had dinner which again was fine, nothing special but no complaints either.
My only gripe is that you have to pay for wi-fi in your room. You do get 30 mins free in the lobby or bar/restaurant area.
It was my first time staying in Peterborough so I can't rate it against other hotels there. I have to go back to Peterborough and have asked that I be booked in to the Holiday Inn Peterborough West again as it is perfectly adequate for a business traveller.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeclanKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
384Chris_B, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough West, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear DeclanKerry

Thank you for your comments, I am pleased to hear that your stay was pleasent and comfortable. I was also pleased to hear that you will be returning to us again when next on business in peterborough. I look forward to making your stay even more comfortable and ensuring that our hotel is a must stay choice for you in the future.

Kind Regards
Chris Brand
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel over Xmas, from check-in to departure the standard of service was excellent. Our room was very spacious , extremely well appointed and excellent standard of cleanliness.The Xmas gift outside our room om Xmas morning was a lovely surprise. The whole hotel was clean and bright and very welcoming. Breakfast was well laid out and with a very wide variety of choices. On our return on Xmas evening, after spending the day with family, the bar was empty but we were served with drinks and not made to feel that it was an inconvienience.
Overall, an extremely pleasant experience and we will certainly stay again when visiting family in the area. Thank you for contributing to our lovely Xmas holiday.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
384Chris_B, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough West, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear Lorna B

Thank you for your kind comments. I was pleased to hear you liked your Christmas stocking that Santa left for you outside your room, even though your away from home you still deserve a little gift.

I look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind Regards
Chris Brand
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We had our work xmas do last week - a Hollywood theme - if your idea of fun is being herded into a room and made to sit through some 'entertainment' before being served the smallest portions of food (and I'm not a big eater but I was starving at the end) imaginable whilst sitting in a cold draught, then witnessing the 'games' involving blindfold drawing, tongue twisters. bras and condoms then this is the place for you. Add to that wine at £7 a glass and you have a recipe for one of the most expensive, tacky nights out in Peterborough.

Apparently the weekends are even more expensive - in these cash strapped times places are going to have to offer value for money and quite frankly this event doesn't.

One of our party summed it up when they said it was like Butlins but not so classy.

A truly vile night out - purile, sexist and outdated - never again

Room Tip: Go to another venue
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
384Chris_B, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough West, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear S D

I am sorry to hear that your experience was not as you expected. We work hard all year to make our Christmas parties fun and enjoyable for all who attend, for which the majority leave happy to return the following year.

If you would like to contact me to discuss your experience in person I would be happy to listen to your comments.

We have over 7000 guests attend our parties each year, however I would like to resolve your issues and restore your faith in the Holiday Inn Peterborough West so that all 7000 left my property satisfied.

I look forward to hearing from you

Kind regards
Chris Brand
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We had the pleasure of attending the Oscar's Christmas party Night on Friday 9th of December and I'd like to share our experience with you.On entering the hotel we noticed that the red carpet was down and we were swiftly guided to our destination out of the cold. First impressions were good as we noted that there were plenty of friendly staff on hand.We ordered a drink at the bar and were served straight away. No big feat you may think,but it was, as there were now 300 people awaiting to enter The Buckingham Suite!!!So well done to all of the bar staff.We were announced in to the suite on time and WOW!!!!
What a delight it was.The room looked amazing.The tables were dressed impeccably and the ambience was delightful.Our wine was pre ordered and was already in ice buckets on the table.Nice touch.
The host,introduced himself "Kev Lawrence" and was brilliant .We were kept entertained all evening with party games and a delightful cabaret singer.We were even entertained by a young staff member strutting his stuff on the dance floor.How cool is that?
On to the food mmn mmn!!
The food was delicious.The plates were warm,the taste amazing and the presentation spot on.Well done to all of the kitchen brigade,you nailed it!! Oh,only one teeny thing though,sprouts were too al dente,but it was not an issue.
The toilets also were. kept clean all evening
I would also like to say at this stage that also the service we received throughout our evening was fantastic from the waiter service even through to security, so well done all of you.
Even though it was a busy night for the hotel,bearing in mind there were TWO functions going on at the same time,Mr Chris Brown took the time out to listen to my comments. A lovely Manager who obviously knows his stuff.
Thankyou so much Holiday Inn,Fab time,well worth the money and we will be back with an entourage next year.
Karen Rutterford

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
384Chris_B, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough West, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear Mrs Rutterford

Thank you so much for your kind comments, I am so pleased to hear you had a good night.
We have worked hard over the years to make our Christmas parties a night to remember, it is great for my team to read the many wonderful comments they get back from the parties and this inspires them to work hard for next year.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back next year, but i suggest you book up early as the bookings are flooding in already.

Kind Regards

Chris Brand
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, UK
Level 6 Contributor
708 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 557 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I stayed at this hotel 9 years ago when it was part of the Moat House chain. It is a most unattractive building, plain to the point of boring, and undistinguished – it is surrounded by grassed areas. The changes inside were cosmetic in most places, the stairs and landings were just how I remembered them! With heavily patterned red and blue carpets in the corridors. The décor in the room was unchanged too. My scores for that visit were:
A couple of gripes to start with. They claimed, when I checked that my booking was for 3 days later when I had clear confirmation of my booking. Fortunately they were able to find me a room. Secondly one of the tea spoons on the hospitality tray was dirty when I first used it and was not properly cleaned after I had used it. The car park when I arrived was so full, I had to park in an unofficial space. Also, next to the fan/ventilator in the bathroom was a most unpleasant brown stain – no idea what caused it but it was very unattractive.
On entering the hotel, the lounge is very small but bright and clean, and the reception desk is clearly defined. There is a small business centre. My room was allocated on the second floor, with a choice of stairs or a small lift. The room faced out on to a grassed area and the windows were steel framed which meant that area of the room was very cold. I could hear fast moving traffic at all times. I did however sleep well. The room seemed small, but was about 4.5m x 4m, with a desk unit, small occasional chair and table, 2 bedside cupboards and the bed was large enough for a pleasant stretch out. There was an open wardrobe area and a small bathroom, with a bath (chipped in places), wc and sink unit. There were plentiful mirrors and lighting levels were good. The décor is pale cream, as was the carpet, generally I thought the room was clean. The old fashioned radiator did work well and raised the temperature quickly.
Different wifi packages are offered and I chose the economy 60 minutes non-consecutive within 24 hours. It would very efficiently and I was able to use it effectively with the minimum of fuss. The TV was an old style CRT with 10 channels and 4 radio channels and access to movies. I used the health club – still named ‘Moativation’ as it was when it was a Moat House Hotel – which was clean and bright with plentiful equipment.
The hotel is well situated for someone visiting Peterborough city centre (you will need to drive in as it's too far to walk) or just overnighting on a journey down the A1. I didn't receive the cookie/gift/courtesy call mentioned by other reviewers.
My score (out of 10) for the hotel: Location 8; Car Parking 6; Accessibility 6; Reception/Check Out 6; Size of Room 6; Facilities in Room 7; Hotel Facilities 7; Hotel Decor 6; Service 6; Value for Money 6.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topkoppite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Great hotel,great staff.housekeepers excellent.food average at breakfast but fab evening meals.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
3.0 km away
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
#12 of 27 in Peterborough
778 reviews
1.4 km away
Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
3.4 km away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 27 in Peterborough
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Peterborough
Holiday Inn Express Peterborough
#13 of 27 in Peterborough
407 reviews
3.2 km away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#6 of 27 in Peterborough
911 reviews
2.9 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Peterborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Peterborough West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Peterborough West

Property: Holiday Inn Peterborough West
Address: Thorpe Wood, Peterborough PE3 6SG, England (Formerly Peterborough Moat House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Peterborough
#4 Luxury Hotel in Peterborough
#7 Romantic Hotel in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Peterborough West 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Peterborough is situated just 2.5miles from the City Centre and the East Coast mainline train station, 5 minutes drive from the A1M and opposite a challenging 18 hole golf course. The Holiday Inn Peterborough West is easily accessible and ideal for both the business and leisure traveller. Our recent refurbishment means huge investment and fantastic new facilities throughout the hotel including air-conditioning wireless internet access and refurbished bedrooms and bathrooms. With 17 modern, air conditioned meeting rooms, fantastic conference and banqueting facilities, Holiday Inn Peterborough West provides outstanding facilities accommodating up to 400 delegates. A visit to our Club Moativation health and fitness club will help to ensure your feeling at your very best throughout the day with a range of excellent facilities including an indoor heated swimming pool, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi, dance studio, fully equipped gymnasium and beauty salon.Another great place to unwind is our restaurant and bar. Friendly & informal, the perfect venue to relax with friends or colleagues. Our restaurant offers an extensive range of dishes to suit all tastes whilst the bar offers light snacks and drinks throughout the day. In compliance with English Law smoking is only permitted in designated smoking areas at this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Peterborough West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Peterborough West Hotel Peterborough
Peterborough Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing