We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely staff make this a top choice for a good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haycock Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Haycock Hotel
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Peterborough
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely staff make this a top choice for a good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

We recently stayed in the Haycock using a Telegraph offer. We live localy so invited friends to join us.
Five years ago we got married at the Haycock so it holds fond memories. It is true to say its looking just a little tired and could do with a little tlc but in no way shabby.
The staff of the Haycock really made our stay special, it was friendly and nothing to much trouble. Even though we were there on a special weekend deal, they reserved the best suite for us, the best table for dinner and every thing was seemles.
Thank you Haycock for a great stay

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    177
    115
    82
    65
See reviews for
133
274
17
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

well where to begin? when we started looking at the venue my now wife and i found it a very nice venue with a good deal for the package we chose to have there. once all the preperations were in place, we had asked all our guests monetary gifts to go towards our honeymoon but i will elaborate on that later. just before the day we had a lot of help from the staff with sorting out how we wanted it and how it was going to look and we felt very looked after, we couldnt fault it. on the day, of course nerves had kicked in and all was going well, we had a table set up by the bar in the drayton room where people could leave their gifts, we had an open suitecase for this, but as a caution we had asked if there was a safe (twice we asked) we could put the gifts in and was told they had a conference room with which we could put the gifts in which would be safe and locked unless my wife and i or her mother wanted to transfer anything in there. after the ceremony guests started leaving their gifts which my mother inlaw sat with to look after.
once it had filled a bit, we had those gifts put into the locked room they provided us with and as more guests arrived for the dinner service, the case filled up some more. now i will add that after the ceremony we all went outside to have pictures taken and there was approx 15-30mins where the case had been left unattended though there were relatives going to and from the bar for drinks. after dinner we had every last gift and present moved into the locked room before the evening guests arrived. before dinner we had 2 girls looking after us who were absolutely lovely in helping our day run smoothly. the main meal was lovely and the food quality was i'd give it a solid 9/10 but after dinner they left and was replaced by another woman who was equally as helpful, all of which helped us move things into this locked room. during the evening the DJ was amazing and we had an awesome BBQ provided by the hotel for the reception, again this was beautifully cooked, i felt i could kidnapp the chef. about an hour or 2 into the reception i moved some more gifts with my mother inlaw into the room again but this time it was a guy, think he was a manager there, and on our way out, he joked to me that a wedding prior to ours had complained of things going missing, i didnt take much notice but he didnt seem that bothered by his comments so neither did i. after the night had ended we both left to go to bed and was told by the woman that looked after us that they would move anything that was ours into the room for us to collect in the morning. we were pretty tired so left them to it. the room was lovely and the only letdown was the multijet shower, it looked powerful and would cure any hangover but the water flow was really weedy, but as we had such a good night we didnt complain. we had someone unlock the room and we put all the gifts into the car and left for home. once there, we left the gifts for the next day and upon opening them we quickly realised that there were a few gifts missing, one from my father included which is what got us thinking. all the gifts that went missing (around £500's worth) were from the beginning of the day which we had put in the locked room before the main meal. so with that we went straight to the haycock to talk to someone to see if anything had been found, we were told by reception that nothing had been handed in so we asked to see a manager. the manager we saw wasnt at the wedding but when we explained where the gifts were put he was quick to say that only 1 person would have had the key to the room the whole day and no one else would have access to it. obviously this wasnt true as we explained 4 people who worked there helped us move gifts in there over the course of the night and for all we knew, more could have put stuff in there at the end when we had left for bed. we was honest to tell them that there was a half hour window where no one was looking after the gifts. which we do accept could have been the point when it went missing, as much as we couldnt fatholm our own gift giving reletives stealing from us. they were also quick to point out the part in their contract that they take no responsibility for lost or stolen items unless they are found negligent and that we should have considered having adequate insurence, and if we were concerned there had been a theft, to contact police and they would fully cooperate. now i cant say anything on the particulars after this, nor do i want to. but all my wife an i would like to warn anyone having a function here, just be mindful that this has happened to us and we would not like to see anyone else in this position. the wedding was fantastic and the staff were great, it was money and a day well spent, but the after care and the theft was a big let down to a perfect day. we would also like to add that these events are just the facts, we draw nor share any conclusions nor point blame for the theft. any that you the reader draw are strictly your own. we just want to help others so they may protect themselves more should they wish to stay here for a function. thanks

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steven s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
363 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

We stayed over here for one night and went to a Christmas party in the function room. A bit about both - the hotel is an old coaching stop with lovely stone walls, courtyards and orangery. It is similar in atmosphere to the George in Stamford, but that where the similarity ends! The real problem is no money has been spent for a while, it's tired, the staff undertrained and lacking a professional touch. Some of the main doors have big A4 paper notices stuck on them - 'use this door', the rooms are tired, unpainted, cheap fittings and almost grubby. e.g. we had a room with a recently fitted replacement toilet seat - it was the cheapest flimsiest white plastic seat imaginable - for anothe £3 a nice wooden seat would have made all the difference. Bathroom lights didn't work, the door didn't self lock. truly not worth more than £50 a night. Linens quite nice but bed was a bit hard.
The breakfast was not too bad - a bit on the cool side and served to you, so not cooked to order but out of a hot cabinet in the kitchen, that was not so hot!
The christmas party in the function room was overfull, understaffed, slow service and truly dreadful food. Crackers as cheap as they come and music too loud. Need I say more?

Room Tip: not sure what is best- they all look the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

I stayed at the Haycock for 5 nights in November through work.
It is a nice looking hotel in a lovely location (although very close to the A1).
The rooms are modern and clean with well maintained en-suite facilities.
The restaurant food was of a good quality and reasonable value for money (not cheap).
Breakfast was very pleasant.
I will happily stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in September 2011 for a wedding.
Staff lovely, they all seem to do everything, ie the bar man on the Friday was sorting out the wedding etc on the Saturday.
Had bar snack on arrival, and had the wedding breakfast as our main meal the next day, which was beautiful (in fact one of my friends asked for the recipe for the chicken).
Breakfast excellant, waitress service for hot food, tea & coffeee, and self service for fruit,toast, juice etc. You ordered individually which was great, with the choice of kippers, omelette in addition to the usual full english if you prefered.
We stayed in one of the garden rooms,really nice,very clean.
Its a really nice feel good old fashioned country hotel, with a few nice shops in the village. I even had my hair done at the salon over the road, which was great, and arranged by the friendly bar man.
Would definately return if I was ever in that neck of the woods again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSCheshirelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We really enjoyed our Afternoon Tea (via a Groupon offer costing only about £8) The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a reserved table in the Lounge and were treated to a good selection of carefully prepared sandwiches, scones with jam and cream, and fancy cakes, accumpanied by as much hot coffee as we needed. Very good value indeed, although we didn't check what the normal price would have been.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rogcambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

We went there today to take advantage of the 'very generous' Groupon discount. We were treated as second class citizens. We were ushered form the dining room area to the bar area. It lacked atmosphere as well as service and comfort. I thought the idea behind these Groupon promotions was to get a 'launchpad' for the offerings of the establishment? the only good result was that we had invited our friends John and Sheila to join us as our treat. Unfortunately Sheila wasn't feeling too good so they didn't make it - lucky for them!!

On arrival at the Haycock we were 'welcomed' by an insipid chap on reception whose greatest skill was his finger - which pointed us towards the bar - where we would be 'dealt with' (I didn't think at this point we would be a problem!).

On arrival at the bar the scenario that I was presented with involved three people: a middle aged couple and a senior citizen, who needed to sit down. The staff behind the bar didn't seem to have them on their radar - they said there wasn't a table for three readily available (albeit they had pre-booked a table for three!!!). Having spent 10 minutes listening to the 'management' attempting to 'manage' the situation I pointed out that we had booked a table for 4 which now was down to 2.They were told they were welcome to our table - the offer was gladly taken up. From here it went down hill for us!!

We were escorted to a table that hadn't been cleared - this was done by our host.We sat down and observed the waiter clearing and then cleaning our table 'in the bar'. - what an atmosphere!! damp and cold and that was the staff's attitude!!

We were seated in an area that lacked: comfort, atmosphere, and service.

After a 20 minute wait our pot of tea arrived, then 25 minutes later the two tier (I did note non Groupon Afternon Tea partakers had three tiers!) cake stand was presented. Our tea was now stone cold. We waited a further 30 minutes for a waiter to appear - but guess what? none did so.

This venue is on a downward spiral for sure !!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Peterborough hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
2.6 km away
Sibson Inn Hotel
Sibson Inn Hotel
#14 of 29 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
13.1 km away
Bell Inn Stilton
Bell Inn Stilton
#2 of 29 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
11.6 km away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#6 of 29 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
11.6 km away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 29 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
6.8 km away
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
#12 of 29 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haycock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haycock Hotel

Property: Haycock Hotel
Address: London Road | Wansford, Peterborough PE8 6JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Haycock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Macdonald Associate Hotel, The Haycock Hotel is one of the finest ­­­­3-star hotels in Peterborough. Set in the idyllic surroundings of Wansford, on the River Nene, our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to ­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­ the motorway and only 80 miles from London, our hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. Our hotel is also a perfect venue for celebrations, events and conferences; we boast superb hotel accommodation, stylish meeting and function rooms.Our hotel in Wansford is perfect for country adventures; roam the amazing countryside and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. Once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Haycock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haycock Hotel Peterborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing