We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Barley cottage, a perfect place to simply relax”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Barley Cottage is a 2 double bedroom fully facilitated stone cottage with modern amenities.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Barley Cottage is a 2 double bedroom fully facilitated stone cottage with modern amenities.
Barley Cottage has an open plan living/dining/kitchen space with stairs leading up to the bedrooms.
Small Mezzanine reading area.
View from mezzanine reading area.
View from mezzanine reading area.
The Old North Road through Water Newton.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Tony C
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Barley cottage, a perfect place to simply relax”
Reviewed September 29, 2020 for a stay in September 2020
1
person found this review helpful

My partner Sue, booked our stay. She was really impressed by the ease at which each small query was answered by Stephen. When we arrived, Stephen and Philip were both there to greet us and show us around the beautiful cottage and grounds leading down to the river Nene.
The cottage was utterly charming and very comfortable. All amenities clean and tidy. We were made to feel so welcome by these two strangers who soon became our friends. They worked so hard to make us feel special; full of advice on places to visit with local walks along the River Nene to the railway.
We also took the short drive to Stamford. This is a beautiful example of an unspoiled 17th and 18th century town, which has been used in several period films.
We loved it so much we hope hope to return one day soon. We know that we will once again be welcomed by Stephen and Philip and once again feel relaxed in the peace and quiet of a truly beautiful village.

Date of stay: September 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
15 Oct 2020
Hi Tony,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. It really was our pleasure and we can't wait to listen to our very own personalised CD ... Best wishes to you both and we look forward to seeing you again soon :o)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2020 for a stay in June 2020

Date of stay: June 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Oct 2020
Thank you for your lovely review. We are SO pleased you had a great stay and look forward to seeing you the next time :o)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 22, 2018 for a stay in October 2018

Date of stay: October 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Oct 2019
Thank you very much indeed for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and it was super meeting you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
chrissie2...
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Really Lovely Cottages”
Reviewed September 23, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We have just had a 2 night stay at River Nene Cottages. Along with our son and his family we booked both 4 bed cottages and they were ideal. Very spacious and comfortable. Lots of hot water for the big showers, lovely large towels, comfy beds and well equipped kitchen for catering, if required!
Gorgeous gardens with river frontage. There was also a swimming pool but unfortunately the British weather was cold and rainy when we were there!

Close to the A1, which was good but it was very quiet - no traffic noise.

Can also recommend the Falcon Inn in Fotheringhay for dinner, great food.

Would happily recommend these cottages. We hope to return before too long!

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
24 Sep 2018
Thank you very much indeed Chris - lovely meeting you all and we are delighted you all had a good weekend, despite the weather.

Best wishes from us both and we look forward to seeing you the next time. Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Jul 2018
Thanks for your review Adam. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay . Best wishes from us both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
neilk1142
1 review
“Great place!”
Reviewed June 17, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We spent two weeks here and had a fab time! It was ideal location and the property had everything we needed.

Date of stay: June 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
18 Jun 2018
Thanks very much Neil. Great meeting you all and we hope you had a good time in London too :o) Best wishes, Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doglover7...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Charming, dog friendly, but a little noisy”
Reviewed September 20, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed at Barley Cottage because it is handy if you want to visit Stamford and Burghley House and not stay in town. Stephen and Philip couldn't have been more welcoming and friendly and as dog loving as we are (or nearly!). The cottage is small, but beautifully done up, if a little dark. The beds are comfortable, the cottage clean and a plentiful supply of hot water. The letting comes with access to a lovely garden, next to a church by a really pretty river and there is easy access to public footpaths for dog walking and leg stretching. The only draw back is that the cottage is only a few hundred yards from the A1 and therefore there was a lot of traffic noise. This should not have come as a surprise to me as it is clear from the map where the cottage is located, I just hadn't thought it through........so my fault. So, in summary, if you want a handy jumping off spot for the fabulous Burghley House and Stamford that is dog friendly, prettily situated, with charming hosts then this is the place for you. If you want somewhere quiet, maybe not

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
21 Sep 2017
Bless you and many thanks for your very kind review. I am glad you had a lovely time and that your three furry beasts enjoyed the surrounding countryside.

As with most things in life there are some compromises, one of which is that the listed cottage building does not allow us to enlarge the windows. We appreciate the exposed beams are traditional brown at the moment and we are embarking on a complete change of internal scheme next year which will help address this. Many people do comment positively on the non shabby-chic'ness that has so often become the norm these days; quaint, quirky and traditional.

With regard to the A1 we are about 500m off the road sited right next to the River Nene. The big positive of this for a lot of people is the shear convenience of simply turning off a major route.

Yes, if the wind blows in our direction then we are affected by some road noise, but generally with a different wind direction and the noise of the water pouring over the river lock gates, one isn't always aware of this. This is only the second time in our 18 months of operation this issues has been raised by guests. As a business and a village we are currently in negotiations with Highways England to resurface the A1 past us with 'quiet tar'.

Best wishes from us both !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.