We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Part of the family!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexandra Court Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrogate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alexandra Court Guest House
Ranked #35 of 102 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Part of the family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Adam and his family treat you like long lost relation. In our case he met us at the car to assisit with luggage and introduce us to the neighborhood. You can not do better if you are looking for a clean, friendly, safe location near the center of Harrogate. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the wireless routers. Wireless is available but spotty in certain areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JakeandPandO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
41
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

My husband has stayed at Alexandra Court every time business has taken him to Harrogate over the course of the past 10 years. After hearing about how nice it was, I finally got to experience it for myself in May 2011.

In addition to the private rooms and baths in the B&B, there are at least two self-servicing apartments available for a very affordable rate. Our one-bedroom apartment came with a fully stocked kitchen, regular linen-changing service (by two of the cheeriest women you'll ever meet) and all the amenities you may expect from a hotel (private bathroom, television, DVD player, stereo, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, sufficient storage/closet space, microwave, sitting room, etc.). The bedroom had a queen or king-sized bed (can't remember which) and our two children were each given a mattress and linens at no additional charge.

Adam and his staff were very personable. In fact, he loaned us a car seat for our daughter and was very helpful in pointing us in the right direction for things to do and places to see. We met his family and found them to be very delightful. We felt like we were among friends.

It should be noted that the guest house was full while we were there, but we never heard any noise from any of the other guests.

My husband has stayed in many of the non-apartment guest rooms and he raves about the breakfast and accommodations. Per my husband's recommendation, many of his colleagues have also stayed there and enjoyed their experience.

I was not brave enough to get behind the wheel while I was there (I've never driven in the U.K.), but everything was within easy walking distance -- the bus parade, train station, parks, restaurants, take-away eateries, etc. And, Alexandra Court does offer on and off-street parking at no additional charge.

Harrogate was a great locale to launch on numerous day trips around Yorkshire. Given our wonderful experience at Alexandra Court, I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else if my travels ever take me back to Harrogate. And, I would definitely recommend Alexandra Court to anyone visiting Harrogate and Yorkshire.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Quisqueyagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

Stayed one night in harrogate on way home. Nice location with just a short walk to town. Clean accommodation with a good sized room which included nice en-suite and plenty of tea and coffee facilities. Good english breakfast. Owners very friendly. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: No need i think all rooms good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bikerbedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

A friend and I recently stayed at the Alexandra Court Guest House, which is adjacent to the International Centre. This gem of a guest house is 5 minutes walk from the centre of Harrogate and 2 minutes from the International centre.
Our stay was wonderful from the moment we walked through the doors. The hotel has a really friendly feel to it, we were greeted warmly by the owners and shown to our room which was decorated to the highest of standards.
The room was extra large, and ultra modern in style. The furnishings were way above average, stylish and very, very clean. The room also had a flatscreen tv, tea/coffee making facilities along with water, biscuits and other snacks. I noticed a fridge and a microwave hidden discreetly away.
The ensuite was spotless, again very modern and had nice little complimentary products.
The breakfast was served in the dining room, where we were offered a selection of different juices and a variety of breakfast options were freshly cooked. My friend had a vegetarian cooked breakfast which she decribed as the best she'd ever had. I had a full english, which was cooked to perfection.
We had looked at staying at a major chain of hotels in Harrogate and are both so pleased we chose the Alexandra Court Guest House. It was fabulous!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
0.1 km away
Alamah Guest House
Alamah Guest House
#3 of 102 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.1 km away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#2 of 102 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Alexa House
Alexa House
#60 of 102 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.0 km away
Brookfield House Hotel
Brookfield House Hotel
#31 of 102 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.1 km away
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#59 of 102 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Court Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Court Guest House

Property: Alexandra Court Guest House
Address: 8 Alexandra Road, Harrogate HG1 5JS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing