We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place to stay.”
Review of Arden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arden House
Ranked #5 of 100 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great little place to stay.”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed at this little guesthouse in a nice part of Harrogate at the end of April this year(2012) and on arrival were treated to a nice pot of tea.The staff who ran it were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.The room was spotless and in the morning, we had a wonderful breakfast.The guesthouse is about 10 minutes walk from the town centre.We would definately recommend this place for anyone going to Harrogate.Around the corner is a great Mexican restaurant,within walking distance.I cannot fault this place.
john and Sarah, Nottingham

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2,so if you get this room,well done !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarrogateTraveller, Manager at Arden House, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Many thanks John and Sarah for your excellent review. It was a pleasure to meet you. I hope you return one day in the near future. Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    110
    25
    13
    4
See reviews for
38
200
29
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

First time in Harrogate so we relied on Tripadviser to guide us. We were looking for a guest house rather than a big hotel.The only negative comment included must have been a "one off." Our experience left us completely satisfied. The hotel, though small, is an absolute delight. From the moment we checked in, Beverley, the proprietor, was helpful but not overbearing. The room was warm, well decorated and yes the shower room is tiny but it did the job. After all we were seeking a nice place, comfortable bed, good breakfast, parking and easy accessibility to the town. Arden House has all of this plus exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VolvoC30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarrogateTraveller, Owner at Arden House, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you and hope you both return again one day. Thank you for your kind comments. Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Stayed 3 nights in March.Who is writing these reviews?After reading the reviews in Trip Adviser we were disappointed.The first room we were put in was poor.It was small.It had a bed,2 bedside tables and a built in cupboard-no table,chest of drawers,or chair.The second room was better but in need of maintenance,broken toilet seat,noisy extracter fan and badly fitting doors.Breakfast was good but not "fabulous" or "great".Toast came instantly-it was cold.Over-rated!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarrogateTraveller, Manager at Arden House, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
We are proud of the positive reviews from Arden House guests. Had you informed me that you were disatisfied I would have dealt with your concerns there and then. However I can confirm that the toilet seat has been rectified, there is an on/off switch on the ensuite wall which controls the extractor fan. As you have mentioned we get many first class reviews regarding breakfasts of which our cook is highly delighted. Thank you for the top marks you gave for our location. You also gave us a good score for sleep quality and may I take this opportunity to mention that we are located on a quiet tree-lined road just 2 minutes stroll into the Spa Town and Harrogate Conference Centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed two nights in March. Great value for money, friendly people and very handy for Harrogate (less than 10 minutes walk to the town centre).Very clean with a comfortable bed - had the best couple of nights sleep in a long time! One of the most fabulous breakfasts ever experienced in a B&B. The only small criticism was that the en-suite was tiny but this didn't detract from what was a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarrogateTraveller, Manager at Arden House, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
It was an absolute pleasure to meet you and hope you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Arden House is a great guest house. Beverley & staff made us very welcome. Eager to direct us by phone if needed. Very clean & comfortable. Restaurants & pubs 10 min walk, near to Town centre. Had a great sleep & a cracking breakfast to start the day....lovely !! Will go again if staying in Harrogate.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shar0n1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Close to Harrogate to walk to the shops and eating out in the evening it had off road parking. The rooms were lovely with everything you needed. Breakfast excellent with a good choice. The host was great and very informative and we had a lovely weekend

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We booked our weekend at Arden House after seeing the reviews on Trip Adviser. We were not disappointed!

Location:
We walked into Harrogate twice, both to look around the shops and for dinner in the evening. It took us about 10 minutes, and was very easy. There is a private car park, which is small but perfectly adequate for the size of the B&B.

The look:
It is a very nice looking building, with a warm reception room with sofas and a bar (with an honesty box) which we used and saw others using. The breakfast room is light and airy, and comfortable. The room we had was fairly standard, nothing exciting but perfectly reasonable for the price. It was clean. Really clean! And very comfortable. We slept well, and the bathroom met our needs perfectly well.

The breakfast:
Arden House is not one of those B&Bs that makes a big selling point about it's breakfasts, which might make you think that it isn't anything special. This would be a mistake! They have a good selection of fruit, yoghurts and cereals, as well as toast and spreads. They give you fresh tea and coffee in a caffetiere or tea pot, and a choice of hot breakfast. This includes a choice of how you want your egg. Hurrah! The poached eggs were done nicely, thank you very much! It was a good size, but not too massive or greasy. The bacon was crispy :-)

We would highly recommend Arden House for anyone looking for a good B&B in Harrogate, that comes reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warwick_beast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.7 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,255 reviews
1.1 km away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
586 reviews
0.3 km away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.0 km away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#2 of 100 in Harrogate
437 reviews
0.1 km away
The Grafton
The Grafton
#4 of 100 in Harrogate
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden House

Property: Arden House
Address: 69-71 Franklin Road, Harrogate HG1 5EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arden House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arden House, a Victorian Harrogate Guest House,offers comfortable accommodation, free WIFI, free parking, friendly staff, lounge bar and the ideal location; with the advantage of being situated in a quiet tree-lined road just a few minutes stroll from the Harrogate Conference and Spa Town Centre. Everything you need for a relaxed comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Arden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing