We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect base for a rural holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of New Close Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Harrogate, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Philip N
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“The perfect base for a rural holiday”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The cottage was well appointed and cosy and has everything you need for a fabulous rural holiday. With the freindly welcome from Anne, Martin and Misty this is the perfect base to explore Nidderdale and the surrounding areas.
Eileen and Philip

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2015
So glad you enjoyed the cottage and your stay and we were near enough for you to visit friends in Wharfedale.
Many thanks for your comments,
Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omar a
1 review
“wonderful place”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We arrived quite late and were met by Anne and Martin who made us very welcome. The cottage was lovely and warm and comfortable and furnished with everything we needed. Lovely views and plenty of parking.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2015
Hi
Thank you for your kind remarks as you used the cottage to visit local places of interest, particularly York.
Hope you had a safe journey home.
Regards
Anne S
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patti3
oswestry
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cotttage with Outstanding Views”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Had a lovely 3 nights at The Cottage which is immaculately kept with lovely views of open fields and baby lambs. The Cottage had everything needed for self catering (although we didn't do much cooking). Loved the upstairs Lounge with the views. Nothing to add that hasn't already been said. Had a fabulous time there.
The very friendly Anne and Martin are next door. They don't intrude but are there if you need them for anything. Often had a chat while they were taking Misty the dog out for a walk.
Had a few really good meals at the Royal Oak, about 5 mins away. Have to mention the lovely pies from the Butchers in Summerbrdge, again about 5 mins away
We will return soon!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The Weather!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2015
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in Nidderdale with the lambs being an extra little bonus. Plus you were able to try the local pubs and shops to see what they had to offer. Hope to see you in the future.
Kind regards
Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan D
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An absolutely first class holiday cottage.”
Reviewed 14 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We greatly enjoyed our peaceful stay in New Close Cottage. The cottage is immaculately clean and very cosy, with everything that we needed. Having hired cottages in England and Europe for over 30 years, we judged it to be perfect. We found many places to eat, so we did not need to cook, but, had we needed to do so, the facilities were perfect. The hosts, Anne and Martin, who were next door, were very friendly but not intrusive, but were there should they have been needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2015
Many thanks for those kind words; it is good to know the cottage met with your approval. That and the countryside help to make a memorable holiday.
Kind regards
Anne S
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bertiehed...
Garstang, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Away from it all”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Lovely cottage, spotlessly clean and well equipped. The setting is really peaceful and ideal for cycling (if a bit hilly!) Some good pubs and tea shops; we had a great Sunday lunch in our cycling gear in the Old Station in Birstwith.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2015
Many thanks for your kind review and comments. It is testing country for cyclists but you managed it.
Kind regards
Anne S
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sid90
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a very relaxing short break in this fabulous rural retreat. The cottage is immaculately clean, warm, comfortable and very well equipped with many thoughtful little extras. Highly recommended and we will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and the beautiful views.
Liked least: Internet access would have been useful.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2014
So glad you had a relaxing break and enjoyed your stay at our cottage. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Many thanks
Anne S
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALAN E
Gawler, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“HIDDEN TREASURE”
Reviewed 24 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

NO Suburban contact out in the wilderness. However this accommodation is excellent and well placed in Northern England for day trips to places like YORK and HARROGATE. The premises are well maintained and in pristine condition. We were welcomed and left in peace. If assistance was needed we only needed to ask. We will try to revisit in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: Location and condition
Liked least: Weather, but what can you expect at this time of the year.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2014
Glad you enjoyed your peaceful stay in Nidderdale and we will always be pleased to welcome you both back. Safe journey and many thanks.
Kind regards
Anne S
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$84
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing