We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Just arrived home from a relaxing break at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester. Perfect way to spend the bank holiday weekend. Very welcoming and the staff were really friendly. Our room was newly refurbished, warm, cosy, modern and clean. The bar area was great for lounging around and the restaurant was great for a quiet meal for two. We chose to eat at the hotel twice, our first meal was lovely, as was our second, the wine was stunning and the service was great too on both nights. We had read Trip Advisor before booking this hotel, whilst we thought twice at first we are glad we didn't and just booked, everything was perfect... a lovely place to relax and unwind away from work!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Exeter2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    453
    331
    163
    94
See reviews for
214
675
28
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Just got back from a weekend break away with the girls for a hen party and we had a lovely time! Arrived late afternoon and was greated by friendly reception staff who checked us in quickly and offered a hand with luggage. Rooms were modern and clean. We booked through spa breaks and thought the offer we got for DBB, afternoon tea and 2 spa treatments each for £139 per person couldnt have been a better offer. We had arranged dinner for the second night but wanted to change it to the first and reception done this promptly no question asked. Dinner was lovely and service was quick and with a smile. The afternoon tea we had the next day was really large and we couldnt finish it all, breakfast was also very nice. On check out another party had put items on our room bill, im sure by accident and the receptionist looked into it and removed them with out any hassel. The spa treatments we had after breakfast were wonderfull and again the staff in the beauty salon couldnt have been friendlier, we also used the pool and no complaints there either. All in all a great weekend away, will definately use again. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jolened84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

Mum had booked a spa break with me and my sister at the hotel. It was just one thing after another. First, they had booked us as arriving the wrong day and blamed a member of staff who has now left. The spa treatments were at different times to what we had booked. They had forgotten our afternoon tea vouchers which were part of the package. For the package dinner we had booked a table but the staff failed to reserve one so it was 90 mins until we got our starter. Then they ran out of puddings. Breakfast was chaos and you had to chase staff for food and drink. Tables in the restaurant area weren't being cleared so they just set us up in the bar area. The rooms were nicely decorated but you could have had a more powerful shower standing out in the rain. Two members of staff, Carolyn and Kieran, stood out for us with their helpfulness and patience (other guests were complaining just as much). We came by train and had to get taxis into town as it wasn't as walk able as the website made it out to be. Finally, we had to question our bill as they over charged us. We had read a trip advisor review before we came so were expecting the worse. Very disappointing as it was a nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chicky80h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gloucester hotels

Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stayed in a family room for 1 night. Had to ask twice for another bed to be set up in the room and twice for a few other things during our stay. The children enjoyed the pool area but it could do with a refurb.The room was great and had a lovely bathroom. Breakfast was good but they seemed to be short staffed and the waitress seemed to be a little stressed.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelLeister, Marketing Executive at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
We were sorry to read you felt you needed to ask us twice. Customer Service is extremely important to us here at the Hallmark. Your comments have been taken on board and address with relevant staff...thay have helped us greatly. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Steve Collins, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

My fiancé treated me to a stay here upon arrival we felt that all though advertised as 4 star, it felt more like 2.5 or 3 star, the rooms are dated and good service is non existent.
We stayed in room 123 and could here people playing squash in the leisure centre so much so that it felt like the balls were being hit at our wall!!!
Food wise we had 3 courses, the starter I had a prawn cocktail and it had a skin on top like it had been sat in the fridge for a while, the main was pork and everything on the plate was dry as sandpaper with the tiniest dribble of sauce, the dessert was supposed to be a selection of icecream and turned out to be a selection of sorbets that were far to sweet!!!!
We had a drink at the bar and it took forever to be served and once we were served we were waiting again as they had no ice, and needed to restock with drink?!?!
We would not choose to stay here again as it is certainly not value for money we have stayed at better for cheaper!
It is around £107 for a bog standard double room that did not live up to the most basic expectations!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank midnight12383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelLeister, Marketing Executive at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
We are sorry to read you were unhappy with your visit to our hotel. I understand from reading your review you were unhappy with several elements of your visit. Our hotel has undergone a £3.5 million refurbishment, all rooms are of very high standard, we are 4* AA accredited. However, we will take on board your feedback and pass on to relevant members of staff.
Kind regards, Steve Collins, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Room was great apart from small problem with tea & coffee facilities in the room.
Pool and facilities were terrible, definetly not worthy of the four star rating that it holds;
Steam Room not working
Lazy River not working
Spa Bath Unheated
Walk down corridor from changing rooms to pool facilities.
Whole pool area is in need of a good refurb.
Along with other small issues, the pool facilities were more than poor, and this is one of the main reasons my husband and I picked this hotel for our visit, and therefore would not recommend it to anyone else looking to enjoy the same sort of thing from a hotel stay.

Room Tip: Quietness and room quality itself were of good quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foxychickmainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelLeister, Marketing Executive at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to read you were uphappy with our pool and its facilities. The lazy river and jets work by request, for those guests wishing to swim lengths the jets can often hit them. We apologise that the steam room kettle had broken during your visit, this has now been replaced. We are trying really hard to make sure everyone who visits our pool enjoys what we have to offer. Our team are working around the clock to improve the Health Club facilities, the Health Club is very clean, tidy and offers everything you need from a Health Club- swimming pool, steam room and sauna, gym and squash courts. Kind regards, Steve Collins, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

On arriving at the Hallmark I had high hopes with a nice entrance. Unfortunately looks can be deceiving. The room was comfortable however not a 'double bed' but two singles zipped together.

The evening meal was an adventure. Very poor service. With a 15 minute wait for wine and water. When the water arrived there was a bottle top (Coke) in the jug?!

The food was unfortunately memorable for the wrong reasons. The duck salad with hoisin sauce came with no hosin sauce as they had run out. The prawn cocktail with a 'modern twist' where the twist was 5 frozen prawns. Bruschetta comprised of a French stick sliced (one slice).

I would not recommend staying here for anyone.

First night of four so will be eating out next few nights.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JackieLeChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelLeister, Marketing Executive at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Your feedback is very important to us and we have taken all the necessary actions to rectify the problems you have highlighted. Our team really do work very hard to meet all the different levels of expectations our guests have, customer service is at the forefront of our business. Our Chef has been working very closely with his team to deliver superb food to our guests in the Brasserie. We are pleased to read you found your room to be comfortable and we hope to welcome you back again fopr an improved experience. Kind regards, Steve Collins, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
2.2 km away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
7.6 km away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
12.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
3.8 km away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Gloucester

Property: Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Address: Marlstone Close | Robinswood Hill, Gloucester GL4 6EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gloucester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Gloucester 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Gloucester is perfectly located for explorers or business meetings, just 5 minutes drive away from the M5 and a short taxi journey from Gloucester train station. Within walking distance of Gloucester Golf Club and Gloucester ski and snowboard centre. The hotel has 95 bedrooms including 6 family rooms. Why not enjoy a delicious meal in the brasserie or relax within the bar and lounge. Unwind in the health club with a swimming pool, children’s pool, squash court and beauty treatment area. If you are here for business, we have meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates. The hotel also has a Civil Ceremony licence and a versatile wedding suite for up to 200 guests. Plenty of onsite parking and free Wi-Fi awaits. Plus, BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Gloucester Hotel Country
Gloucester Ramada
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester UK - Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing