We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant enough for Gloucester” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel Gloucester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough for Gloucester”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a last minute night away and were satisfied with the hotel but not overwhelmed. Staff were very good and the rooms had been recently refurbished but our room had a view of the air conditioning units on the roof and there was very little left for breakfast when we went down.
An ok experience. Good having a pool and squash court though, a definite plus. Also be aware it s about £10 in a taxi to get into te city centre in the evening.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Abboo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Thank you for the constructive feedback, it is great to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay and I sincerely hope that you will consider us again when you next visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    440
    324
    157
    93
See reviews for
209
654
27
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

I purchased a groupon voucher for myself and partner, for her bday. We arrived at the hotel around 11am as we wanted to use the spa/pool before checkin in.

The pool area was pretty outdated but not the worst. After a semi relaxing time in the pool we went to reception at 2pm to check in to our but we were told the room wasn't ready and we'd have to come back?! No time was given for when we should come back.

We went to the bar area, had a drink and soon found ourselves in the same boat as at least 4 other parties waiting for their rooms.

We could see the manager was very flustered and from what we could tell he was trying to be as helpful as possible. Some of the parties got offered free drinks and other things. We didn't get offered anything.

After checking at reception we were told they had moved us to another room that was ready, this was at 3.45pm.

We were disappointed as we were only there for one night but the room was nice and clean and spacious.

The receptionist (French lady) was very apologetic and she explained there had been a large party that had checked out late and meant the maids were behind. If it wasn't for her being so sweet and genuine we would have complained.

The breakfast was, it has to be said, excellent! Ended on a high

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
I am pleased that we managed to make your stay a pleasant one overall and I thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive feedback. We do sometimes encounter challenges on the weekend with a lot of guests wanting access to rooms before check in time, I am sorry if you were adversely affected by this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

We styled here for a two night spa break. From check in to check out the staff could not do enough for us. The rooms where very modern and clean and the food at breakfast and dinner was exceptional. This is the second Hallmark spa break we have been on (Manchester previously).... Already looking to book another. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank pully1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Thank you for the fantastic feedback, it is great to learn that you left our hotel pleased and I look forward to welcoming you back to us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Our daughter and her husband chose this hotel for their wedding venue in March and I cannot praise/thank them enough for their professional attention to detail from planning the special day to taking care of our guests. We had guests from Lancashire, Somerset and even Russia! The staff were absolutely brilliant and made everyone's stay extremely special. We found the rooms very clean and modern, the food delicious ( from bar snacks to restaurant ) and the spa is ideal for youngsters and adults alike.
My husband hosts visits for business colleagues from abroad and since the 10th March he has decided to choose the Hallmark at Gloucester every time. It ticks all the boxes! My view is that if your guests are happy then you can relax. Short drive to both Gloucester and Stroud and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to both young and old. Brilliant access for prams and wheelchairs too. If you want a 'bolt hole' from busy elements of life, this place is quiet and serene, and if you want good nightlife/dancing then Gloucester and Cheltenham are only a short drive away. Confused by the negative comments - not our experience at all :)

Room Tip: The higher up you are the better the gorgeous country views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your great feedback, it is great to learn where we have exceeded our customers expectations as well as where we need to improve. I am pleased that we had the opportunity to look after such an important family occasion and we hope that you will be back to see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

This has to be one of the nicest hotels that I have ever been to. I held my wedding reception and evening do at this hotel in March 2012. The staff were very helpful and professional, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel has just been totally refurbished therefore it looks fresh, modern and most importantly clean. The majority of my family had to travel a long distance and all stayed here. Very reasonably priced and all were very happy.
The wedding planner, Charlotte, really takes the stress out of the whole experience, meaning that the bride and groom can enjoy planning their dream day. The manager of the hotel coordinated my wedding on the day and even cleared the plates between courses.

My husband and I would like to thank the Hallmark for providing me with my dream wedding. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loumatt2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
It was a great pleasure to look after you on such an important day, a responsibility that we take extremely seriously and I am pleased that the team did not disappoint. I sincerely hope that you will continue to visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

This was a fab weekend with friends. The hotel was great and the staff were excellent and nothing was to much trouble for them. From the moment we arrived to the time that we left. Our room was clean,modern and very comfortable. The centre of Gloucester was a short taxi ride away with plenty of shops.bars and restaurants to choose from. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice to pick from. The pool was really nice and relaxing with a lovely warm hot tub in the middle and it wasn't to crowded. A lovely place to spend a weekend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank little_yin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for the fantastic review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Hallmark Gloucester in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

We went to this hotel on a groupon deal and it was good value for the money.

Plus points the swimming pool is very nice, with a massive hot tub in the middle which was lovely and hot, there is also a mini current in the pool going around the hot tub which is challenging to swim against. The rooms are modern and the hotel was very clean. The staff were pleasant. The view from our window was lovely overlooking pretty cherry trees in full bloom. Breakfast was good, self serve (I always rate a breakfast on the quality of the sausage and they were great) with plenty of fresh fruit. A plus was they had fried bread :-)

Down Points: There were a lot of children in the pool as members of the public have membership there, the steam room was not working, there is a drinking water point but no cups.
The Beds are very firm - my partner prefers a firm bed but it was little hard for me. Annoyingly there seems to be a problem with the plumbing because every time the people in the surrounding rooms used the bathroom it could be heard in our room a rather odd noise that is difficult to describe but loud enough to wake us up. The fire alarm went off at 3am for which we received no apology for when we checked out.

Overall a nice night away for the price but not somewhere I would visit again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
2.2 km away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
7.6 km away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
3.8 km away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Gloucester

Property: Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Address: Robinswood Lodge, Gloucester GL4 6EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gloucester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Gloucester 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The boutique Hallmark Hotel has a lot within its stylish contemporary walls. An awful lot. For starters there's the 95 rooms and suites, all clean modern design with a mix of bold colours and earth tones, richly patterned carpets and good beds. Then there's our acclaimed brasserie. The rather good team of chefs alchemizes fine seasonal ingredients into a menu embracing both classic British and European dishes and Moroccan specials. Small wonder it's a favourite of locals as well as guests. Naturally, you may well wish to burn as well as devour calories. You're in the right place. As well as glass-backed squash court and excellent gym with fitness kit, we've an inviting pool (and another for children), steam room and sauna, as well as a beauty treatments facilities where highly trained therapists work wonders for the body and soul, with everything from stress busting Swedish Massages to Detoxifying Body Wraps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct and Travelocity so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Gloucester Hotel Country
Gloucester Ramada
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester UK - Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing