We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel is nice, but definatley not a spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hotel is nice, but definatley not a spa”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in a suite, the room and hotel is decorated very nicely. The suite was a bit strange in its layout though, and all looked a bit empty, if we were to stay again it isn't worth bothering to have a suite. The pool is ok, nothing special, just like your normal local baths. I used the gym once and had it to myself which was nice. We struggled to be able to fit in any appointments with the beautician as they were always fully booked, so were unable to use any of the services they offered.

We ate in the hotel on our 1st night, and the meal was very enjoyable with the waiting staff being very polite and helpfull. We found the staff at the pool area not particualarly pleasent or friendly though, it would be nice if they were trained to the same standard as the hotel staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your constructive and helpfull feedback. It is very important we know where to improve as well as where we exceed our customers expectations. I do hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    455
    333
    164
    95
See reviews for
215
678
29
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
corsham
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I came here last weekend (26th May 2012) for my 21st birthday with family and friends.
We had read the reviews before we came, and were unsure about what to expect as the reviews were so varied. We chose this hotel because we booked it through Spabreak Direct and got a great deal - £79 each which basically covered everything except drinks and lunch.

We got the train down in the morning (great that the hotel is only an £8 taxi ride away from the train station), and weren't due to check into ours rooms until 3pm that day. When we arrived to let them know that we were here, they said all 4 rooms were ready, and that was only at 11am! So that was such a bonus to be able to dump our bags in the rooms and not lug them around all day.

The rooms were amazing. You can tell they have just been decorated. Even down to the pictures in frames on the wall, everything was spot on and so colour co-ordinated. Everything was supplied for you, even a hair-dryer and an iron, and there was lots of tea, coffee and biscuits ready for you too. The bathroom was lovely, so clean which is such a relief! And the shower was really powerful.

We then headed over to the Beauty Centre for our spa treatments. 4 of my party had back, neck and shoulder massages, and said they were fantastic, so relaxing and so worth the money. 3 of the party has the Eye Brightening Treatment and were so happy with the results. The staff were professional but chatty at the same time so made you feel relaxed. Myself and another member has a manicure, which was great - but the only negative part was that we were told to wait half an hour until we went into the pool, we waited 2 whole hours and my nail varnish still peeled off!

After our treatments, we went for lunch in the hotel bar. We all ordered sandwiches, which arrived within about 5 minutes of ordering (and that was for a party of 5), and they were at a reasonable price. Staff were friendly and helpful, but they could of done with a few more serving during the day!

We were so blessed with the weather that we decided we should sit outside. If you go out of the back of the swimming pool, there is a grassy area which was perfect for sunbathing. We were able to go in and out of the pool as we pleased, and it was like being on holiday! We were supplied with bath robes and towels (I even had a special pink bath robe as it was my birthday!!)

Dinner was the best part of the whole day! We had already paid, so we were entitled to 3 courses each! Wine was a good price, and there was the perfect waiting time between ordering, and receiving our food. I can definitely recommend the Chocolate and Orange Creme Brulee, and a lot of the party said the Pan Fried Chicken was amazing - it even came served in a mini frying pan!!

Breakfast the next day was also great, and well organised. It's all a buffet, even the fried breakfast, so you can help yourself and there is a great selection that is restocked a lot throughout the sitting.

All in all, we had the most amazing time at the Hallmark Hotel, Gloucester. The only thing we could fault was the 1:30am fire alarm on the Sunday morning - not what you fancy after a few glasses of wine when you are in a deep sleep!! Other than that, the staff were great, the value for money was spot on, the rooms were lovely, the treatments were relaxing, the facilities were good and exactly how they were described, and the location was pretty perfect. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and I will definitely be going back!!

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the left hand side of the corridors when you stay, especially if it is hot, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RJA23_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this fantastic feedback. We are pleased that you chose the Hallmark Gloucester for you special occasion and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

After reading reviews from people on here, my girlfriend and I were a little worried about what to expect. We arrived and were greeted by a well presented hotel, and the reception area was very nicely laid out. The room was lovely, and I don't know how people can moan about the showers, they are powerful and nice.

The pool has a nice jaccuzi in the middle and a nice sauna and steam room, and they provide towels as well ( which is handy )

The breakfast was help yourself but if you want anything they will get it for you and bring it to your table.

Overall i would stay here again, it was good value for the money we paid, and we got a good deal on a groupon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your helpfull feedback, it is great to learn where we can improve as well as where we exceed our guests expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend for one night following purchase of a groupon deal. We arrived early on Saturday morning prior to check in so we could use the pool facilities. We were allowed to keep our bags in a secure office while we awaited check in. The 'spa' facilities consisted of pool, jacuzzis, steam room, sauna and a water fountain...but with no cups. The leisure facilities resembled a local community leisure centre, far from our perception of a 'spa'. Upon check in, a little after 2pm, we were asked for a reference number which I wasn't quoted upon booking over the phone. They then advised there was no record of us booking a room. They advised that a room could be provided but housekeeping were still tending to the rooms and would take an hour so we had to come back. While sat in the bar lounge, we overhead 2 or 3 other parties who weren't able to check in at 2pm because their rooms weren't ready. One group were told that they had a busy night previously and many of these guests didn't leave their rooms until after check out.

We finally got to our room at 4pm after my boyfriend asked for the next available room. The double room was very modern, all the mod cons required and the shower was powerful. Bed was huge and curtains nice and dark! Breakfast served until about 11am I think, lots to choose from and all really good quality. Definately a highlight! Most helpful and friendly member of staff was timea, she remembered our problems the next day and apologised for the problems the day before.

As a suggestion the hotel could spend a little money on the pool area and train staff to be a little more friendly. Other than timea, the staff were quite miserable and not proactive in providing good customer service, which is key for a hotel

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LAD_y1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you for your constructive feedback, it is essential for us to learn where we need to improve our offering in the future. Please accept my apologies for where we have not come up to standard and I do hope that you will consider us when you next visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a last minute night away and were satisfied with the hotel but not overwhelmed. Staff were very good and the rooms had been recently refurbished but our room had a view of the air conditioning units on the roof and there was very little left for breakfast when we went down.
An ok experience. Good having a pool and squash court though, a definite plus. Also be aware it s about £10 in a taxi to get into te city centre in the evening.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Abboo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Thank you for the constructive feedback, it is great to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay and I sincerely hope that you will consider us again when you next visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

I purchased a groupon voucher for myself and partner, for her bday. We arrived at the hotel around 11am as we wanted to use the spa/pool before checkin in.

The pool area was pretty outdated but not the worst. After a semi relaxing time in the pool we went to reception at 2pm to check in to our but we were told the room wasn't ready and we'd have to come back?! No time was given for when we should come back.

We went to the bar area, had a drink and soon found ourselves in the same boat as at least 4 other parties waiting for their rooms.

We could see the manager was very flustered and from what we could tell he was trying to be as helpful as possible. Some of the parties got offered free drinks and other things. We didn't get offered anything.

After checking at reception we were told they had moved us to another room that was ready, this was at 3.45pm.

We were disappointed as we were only there for one night but the room was nice and clean and spacious.

The receptionist (French lady) was very apologetic and she explained there had been a large party that had checked out late and meant the maids were behind. If it wasn't for her being so sweet and genuine we would have complained.

The breakfast was, it has to be said, excellent! Ended on a high

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
I am pleased that we managed to make your stay a pleasant one overall and I thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive feedback. We do sometimes encounter challenges on the weekend with a lot of guests wanting access to rooms before check in time, I am sorry if you were adversely affected by this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

We styled here for a two night spa break. From check in to check out the staff could not do enough for us. The rooms where very modern and clean and the food at breakfast and dinner was exceptional. This is the second Hallmark spa break we have been on (Manchester previously).... Already looking to book another. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank pully1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Thank you for the fantastic feedback, it is great to learn that you left our hotel pleased and I look forward to welcoming you back to us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
2.2 km away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
7.6 km away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
12.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
3.8 km away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Gloucester

Property: Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Address: Marlstone Close | Robinswood Hill, Gloucester GL4 6EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gloucester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Gloucester 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Gloucester is perfectly located for explorers or business meetings, just 5 minutes drive away from the M5 and a short taxi journey from Gloucester train station. Within walking distance of Gloucester Golf Club and Gloucester ski and snowboard centre. The hotel has 95 bedrooms including 6 family rooms. Why not enjoy a delicious meal in the brasserie or relax within the bar and lounge. Unwind in the health club with a swimming pool, children’s pool, squash court and beauty treatment area. If you are here for business, we have meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates. The hotel also has a Civil Ceremony licence and a versatile wedding suite for up to 200 guests. Plenty of onsite parking and free Wi-Fi awaits. Plus, BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Gloucester Hotel Country
Gloucester Ramada
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester UK - Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing