We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
147
13
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
13
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prunes guest house city centre great hosts scrambled eggs with salmon felt very much at home meat eaters fresh fruit place to stay b and b cooked options stayed longer breakfast was amazing comfy bed bus station needed somewhere a wonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 164 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

We first stayed here for the inaugural Derby Book Festival (organised by a friend) a year ago.
It was such a pleasant experience that when arranging to come up for the book festival again this year, there was no question about where we would stay.
Nina and Glenn are such friendly and helpful hosts that it felt like we were staying at a friends house rather than a guesthouse.
The breakfast has been delicious on all occasions (the special prunes are delicious!) and my vegetarianism and our preference for soya milk have never been the slightest problem.
On our last stay we had a great chat with some friends (that we had convinced should stay here) and one of the other guests over breakfast. It was a very pleasant way to start the day!
The location is perfect for the festival, so we're looking forward to staying here many times in the future!

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank kingthumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chucklesguesthouse, Owner at Chuckles Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2016

Thank you, we are very grateful to you for taking the time to post this lovely review and hopefully the book festival will run for many years to come. It was a pleasure seeing you both again and look forward to next year. Best wishes Glenn & Nina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2016

I have stayed at Chuckles several times, must recently last weekend, and have always enjoyed my stay. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The shower and toilet rooms are also very clean and showers nice and hot and powerful, with shampoo and soap. I love the breakfast here! I have the continental style (there is cooked breakfast too), which sets me up well for the day, including home made jam. Centrally located within Derby, very handy for the Download music festival :) Also very reasonably priced. I look forward to my next stay!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules75_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chucklesguesthouse, Owner at Chuckles Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2016

Thank you lovely, it's always great to see you and delighted you enjoyed your breakfasts. Look forward to (hopefully) seeing you next year, Glenn & Nina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2016

Another warm & heart warmingly friendly welcome greeted us as soon as we arrived stayed here last year & wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Derby!!!!! you couldn't wish for any better hosts than Glenn & Nina they are absolutely fantastic!!!!! Lovely tidy clean rooms tea/coffee making facilities, tv, free wifi. Breakfasts absolutely gorgeous choice of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, fruit juice, varieties of warm or cold breakfasts, followed by toast with homemade jam beautiful!!!!! Lovely hot refreshing showers. Real home from home!!!!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank howler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chucklesguesthouse, Owner at Chuckles Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2016

Thank you for the lovely review. It really was a pleasure to see you both again. Next year I'll try a better sun dance for you ☀️☀️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2016

Excellent rooms,bathrooms,food and hosts. Nothing was too much trouble for Nina and Glen and the little touches such as shoe shine wipes,individual hand towels in the toilets and their willingness to accommodate any reasonable request such as a hairdryer,iron and ironing board made this a truly enjoyable stay. After 2 nights it felt like we leaving friends behind. The breakfasts were fantastic,locally grown fruit, a perfect cooked breakfast and my son's favourite,kippers. All beautifully presented with plenty of options to suit anyone.If I need to stay in Derby again,this will definitely be the place I go to. Well done Nina and Glen,absolutely first rate.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahJ3689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chucklesguesthouse, Owner at Chuckles Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2016

Thank you Sarah; as I said we really to appreciate our guests taking the time to post reviews for us, particularly when they are a glowing as yours! :) It was a real pleasure to see you and your family and really do hope we see you again. All best wishes, Glenn & Nina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2016

Nina and Glenn were amazing the booking was nice and simple and as soon as I arrived I was greated by Nina who is so lovely I stay for a weekend whilst visiting a friend who they also welcomed for breakfast. We are both lactose intolerant so they had gone out and brought milk, butter and yoghurt for my stay. Amazing. The rooms are beautiful and really comfortae. Close to the town. I will be back in the future for my next visit to Derby.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoem59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chucklesguesthouse, Owner at Chuckles Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2016

Thank you so much Zoe, we are always incredibly grateful when one of our guests takes the time to write a review, particularly when it is such a glowing one! :) We hope you do manage to get back to Derby and look forward to seeing you again. With best wishes, Nina & Glenn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews