We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food”
Review of Viceroy Derby

Viceroy Derby
Ranked #21 of 691 Restaurants in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$39
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located on the Midland Road in Derby, a street filled with restaurants and caf��s, The Viceroy Restaurant stands out as one of the most stylish dining destinations in the neighbourhood. Smart and upmarket, the dining room at The Viceroy is filled with modern furniture, plush carpets and colourful lighting, and the sophisticated atmosphere is suitable for dinner with family, clients or friends. The menu is extensive, but The Viceroy Restaurant���s specialty is Desi cooking ��� a traditional home-style of Indian cooking full of flavour and cooked over slow fires. Only a two minute walk from the Derby train station, this restaurant also has affordable prices as well as a fantastic selection of wine.
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

Love it here.. gorgeous food.. relaxing atmosphere and great service and friendly staff. Definitely recommend

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank 937helena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

Took a party of 8 to the restaurant, great food recommendations from the staff were really tasty and offered something a bit different to the norm. Only downside was the time between courses. But will definitely be back.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank R8563ACrobertn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2018 via mobile

Visited here for a friends birthday. Firstly it’s massively overpriced, with standard dishes being up to £16. I live in london and Michelin Star Indian restaurants cost less than this per dish. The food was massively underwhelming. As a group our bill came to over £300, and the restaurant had the cheek to charge us £25 for popadoms (which you expect on a big spend bill they would chuck on for free). Not only that but when we questioned the amount vs what we actually ordered they said they gave us extra as they didn’t think it would be enough, and then charged us for them. Jokers! Most of us didn’t finish our meals at the restaurant and asked for our food to be wrapped up to take home. The waiter came back with one bag which had a container with some left over rice and half a naan bread inside. We asked where the rest of our food was and they said it would be coming back from the kitchen but it never arrived! Definitely try elsewhere if you want good food and decent service as this place is a waste of time!

Date of visit: October 2018
4  Thank 924kayleighf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

Not only is the food well made, fresh and delicious. The service is 5 stars. We ended up spending around £30 a head for a 3 course meal with drinks.

The food was remarkable quality, very good value and the service was incredible. You will not pay this much elsewhere and get the service you get here.

I’ll always return.

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank siobhano657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

From the moment we turned up, we were tested as one of the regulars. Over the years have never had a bad meal there. The staff were attentive and polite. Never an empty glass on the table. Nav and Zain were the perfect waiters, ensuring that everything was as you wanted. Will be back.

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank nathmarriott951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Viceroy Derby also viewed

Derby, Derbyshire
Derby, Derbyshire
 
Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to Viceroy Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing