We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break in Derby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Although it's a Holiday Inn - this is "only" the Express version of this popular hotel brand, so don't set up your hopes too high. There is a bar just next to the reception, but no restaurant in this hotel - a choice of two independent ones is just opposite the road. The family room we've chosen was a bit small, when both beds were set up, but still plenty of space for a family of three. And the price we got through booking.com was about half of the official rate stated at the reception. This hotel - even if its in close distance to the town center - is located in the industrial area, so you'd better have your car with you, if you don't want to wander around factories and business units abandoned in the evening. This hotel could be a perfect choice for football fans, as it is just round the corner to Pride Park Stadium - home to Derby County F.C. And after all - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank endrju_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPPDerby, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel, I am pleased to read that your family enjoyed their break in Derby.
As you have stated , our family rooms contain a double bed & a sofa bed, making them the ideal size for a family of 3 or 4 occupants. All of our rates are per room (not per adult), with up to two children sleeping free of charge when sharing a room with adults - this adds up to great value, especially if you can book on one of our discounted advance purchase rates.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to the area.

Regards,
Angela Nicholls

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed here in December '11 after a christmas party. The rooms are extremely clean and well maintained. Price included buffet breakfast which was very nice. For the price this was great. Couldn't have asked for better.

Room Tip: Great location in pride park, quiet, clean, well priced and food was great! Can't ask for more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rach S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We booked here over Easter. The family room was slightly smaller than i would have liked but as it was only a short two day stay we managed (we have 2 teenagers a 22 month and 3 month so a particularly large family).

I read reviews before we stayed and people criticised the breakfast. Although the sausage and eggs were not to my liking there was plenty of other choices available to me which were more than satisfactory.

As for customer service i found the staff courteous and helpful at all times.

Would definitely stay again for a short stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshmummyto4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We arrived over in Derby late Friday night all 22 of us. St Josephs Football Team 15 Players and 7 Adults. Greeted by the now two infamous "Susans" who really looked after our every need. A few beers in the hotel bar and then off to bed. Forgot my toothbrush, no problem Sir here is a complimentary one. details as to where to eat "No problem". Rooms where great, clean, roomy and a decent widescreen. Really could not fault the staff, location, information given, value for money and all the nearby facilities. Needless to say the lads probably ate more than there fair share of breakfast which was a buffet, huge variety and the food kept coming, being 15 year olds with hollow legs, it was much appreciated!! We will be back for sure....

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davekerr1848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPPDerby, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback and wonderful comments - its great to hear that all went well on your recent trip to the hotel.
I have passed your positive comments on to the team at the hotel and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back to Derby soon.

Regards,
Angela Nicholls
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Excellent value for money. Room really clean and modern. Staff very friendly and breakfast good too.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fletch44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Excellent value for money
Rooms are good clean with air-conditioning had two good nights of sleep with family of 2 adults and 2 kids
Breakfast was good
Lounge is good and airy and bright
Staff are very helpful both at front dest and support staff
Will certainly return

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed here before and no problems. But a complete nightmare this time:
1. Lumpy duvets on 3 occasions - some bits had no stuffing and other bits had too much stuffing.
2. Blocked shower - had to change rooms. Poor quality duvet again.
3. Poor service as duvets not changed as asked - had to do it ourselves. Which meant lugging duvets up and down.
Therefore not impressed at all - expect better from Holiday Inn. will be staying somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kkaur7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPPDerby, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the hotel, I am most surprised and disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I have spoken to both the housekeeping and the maintenance departaments to ensure that these matters are resolved and ,in light of your comments, have now placed an order for replacement duvets.
On a more positive note it is good to hear that you found the standard of room cleanliness to be high and I do hope that this will encourage you to use our hotel again in the future.

Regards, Angela Nicholls (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
1.9 km away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
1,827 reviews
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
0.8 km away
Travelodge Derby Pride Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
0.5 km away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#16 of 29 in Derby
490 reviews
0.1 km away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#6 of 29 in Derby
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park

Address: Wheelwright Way | Pride Park, Derby DE24 8SQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range: $90 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park hotel for a peaceful location 10 minutes' walk from Derby town centre. Our modern hotel in Derby is located within the Pride Park business and retail complex, just 10 minutes' walk from Derby train station and a short drive from the A1. Friendly staff and a convenient location mean guests return to Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park again and again. We're a good-value choice too, with free parking, complimentary continental breakfast with hot items and free Wi-Fi access throughout. Plus all of our bedrooms have recently been refurbished and feature a cool new look, we've added irons, ironing boards, better hairdryers and much more! There's space for up to 25 people at events in Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park's meeting room and wireless Internet throughout the hotel means you can catch up on email anytime. Direct trains speed you from nearby Derby station to Birmingham and central London and we're within easy reach of Rolls Royce's factories and offices. It's 29 miles to the stately grandeur and landscaped riverside gardens of Chatsworth House, while the thrilling rides in Alton Towers theme park are just 26 miles away. Pass through picturesque Matlock Bath en route to the dramatic moors of the Peak District, an hour's drive from the hotel. Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park's stylish Lobby bar is decorated in bold red and black and lined with leather sofas. There's a selection of restaurants within the Pride Park complex and you can ask our helpful Front Desk staff for dining recommendations in Derby town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park Hotel Derby
Holiday Inn Derby
Derby Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing