We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (341)
Filter reviews
341 results
Traveller rating
48
88
74
49
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
88
74
49
82
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 341 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2018 via mobile

On arrival there is a steep slope to a limited space car park. Check in was quick. Receptionist was nice and informative. They explained breakfast times, check out time and where the bar and restaurant was. There was a lift to our room which was tiny, old and didn’t feel safe. We had the option of the stairs though. Our room was nice and clean. Nice comfortable bed. The generator outside the bathroom was quite noisy which went off at 10pm and back on at 7am. The shower didn’t have much power but was hot. Breakfast was ok but basic. There was too many condiments per table and four of the same bottles were empty. No atmosphere to the room which made it dull. Check out was quick with no mention as to how our stay was which would have been nice.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Receptionist at International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Hello,
Thank you for writing a review on our TripAdvisor page about your stay with us. We apologise about your poor experience. While it is no excuse, we are still undergoing refurbishment and that is the reason for our car park having limited space at the moment, as the lower half of our car park is currently being worked on. We are also sorry if you felt unsafe in our lift, it is being maintained and fully operational. The issues you had with the generator and shower are being passed on to maintenance so they can have a look at it. Your review will also be passed on to the management so they can speak with breakfast staff and reception staff about your breakfast and check out experience. We are once again very sorry about your experience but we hope that you will visit us again to see the changes made.
Kind Regards,
Adela, Reception Team
International Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

My family and I spent the night at the international hotel and had a lovely stay. At £59 including breakfast for a family room we were more than happy! The room was spacious and nicely decorated, perfect for our party. The beds were incredibly comfortable and having had to bed hop due to travelling with two young children, I can vouch the comfort for all the beds! Yes the decor was a little worn in places - our room was perfectly fine! - let me remind you, we paid £59 for a family of four so weren’t expecting the Ritz!

I cannot fault the staff as they were all welcoming and attentive. The breakfast was delicious and cooked fresh for us as we stayed on a Sunday so it was quiet - I believe it is normally a buffet. Having travelled from London we decided to eat in the pub attached and whilst the service was a little slow, the food was delicious and very good value for money.

We very much enjoyed our stay at the International Hotel and would stay again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank cshaw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Receptionist at International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Hello,
Thank you for your amazing review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the International Hotel. It is good to know you found your room comfortable and nice. We are currently in the process of refurbishment and while some areas have been touched, some are still waiting for their upgrade. Your review will also be passed onto the kitchen and pub management so they can investigate the service and make sure everyone is attended to quickly, apologies if it caused any inconvenience after you travelled for so long with your family!
Thank you very much again for your review and we hope that we will see you again!
Kind Regards,
Adela, Reception Team
International Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2018

The sign says being refurbished...saw zero signs of this actually happening. The room (suite) was ok in size but very very dated with dirty stained carpet dirty bathtub and bed that had the springs coming right through. our first stop was to buy bleach and cleaned the bathroom.. at night it was so uncomfortable with the bed that we took the spare quilt and laid it on the bed to sleep on, soon moved it due to the huge urine stain on it. Derby was suffering from a heat wave... only one small fan put in the suite to help...no air conditioning, no fridge to keep drinks cool. We had reserved the room for 8 nights, we however decided to move to a nicer more comfortable hotel 2 days into it. You can't use the phone to call even local numbers only to call down to the desk. We drove around looking for another hotel available immediately..very tough to find for some reason but we finally found one available. We stopped at the desk to let them know we would be checking out and reasons why and that we wouldnt need the last 5 nights of the stay... All we got was "sorry, didnt you have a fan in your room?" No refund for ANY of the other nights even the ones after a 24 hour cancellation. The only good thing about this place was breakfast..the cook tried VERY hard and it showed.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Randy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2018

Staff were helpful and pleasant, breakfast good variety although 1st day the cooked breakfast was not so good but better the next day, apparently a different cook was on. Food in restaurant was good. To be honest you get what you pay for with this hotel.

Very very dated room, bathroom suite was mustard colour!! No toilet roll holder as broken. In desperate need of an update, apparently there is work going on to update the hotel but we saw no sign of THIS. Our room was at the front right next to the very main busy road so we had hardly any sleep due to traffic noise all night long. I found the bed very hard but my family were ok with theirs. Lift is so old and we only used it once due to the fear of being stuck in it. We were in a family room, so if they try to give you room 101 ask for another. Also parking was not easy, they forget to tell us there is limited spaces and it's on a very steep hill so mum had trouble getting up.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back of hotel due to road noise, not 101
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fantastic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Receptionist at International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

Hello,
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay here at the International Hotel. We know it is not an excuse however we are still undergoing refurbishment, the work is now mainly concentrated in closed off rooms. And while some have been fully redone, there are still some waiting for their touch up.
We are sorry you had such troubles in your room. The maintenance will be notified immediately about the toilet roll holder if they have not repaired it yet. We are also sorry if you felt unsafe in the lift, it is fully functional. As for the troubles with the parking spot. Our parking is based on availability which is mentioned during online booking process. However, we do have disabled parking spaces available in front of the hotel. We are once again truly sorry but we hope that we will see you again so you can experience the changes made.
Kind Regards,
Adela, Reception Team
International Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

Booked an overnight stay as part of a road trip around the UK....arrived about 7pm on a Friday night....took one look at the outside...drove around the rough road 'back lane', which was suppose to be suitable for parking.. decided that it would not be suitable to stop...on leaving the street there were a number of unsavoury characters at the hotel entrance and surrounding streets....dare I say we did not stay at our non-refundable room and promptly booked another hotel to stay at which was as it was advertised and as the photos had shown. (We did read in the booking note...that the hotel was currently being refurbished but need less to say this did not help)

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews