We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Derby Winner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Derby West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Derby West
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Derby Winner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

A very quiet, comfortable room. There was a good choice on the menu ( even for one of us who is vegetarian). Substantial breakfast to set you up for the day.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenandjohng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    146
    43
    15
    14
See reviews for
220
117
19
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

stay there this weekend because we were going to Alton towers, only wanted to stay one night but then decided to stay for a second night before our journey home to Newcastle the rooms were clean and the staff very friendly would recommended this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellaghy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Normal premier inn although I must say the staff were very friendly rooms were clean and comfortable. The main gripe I have with premier inn hotels is the charge for internet access which most hotels in the £70-80 price range are falling over themselves to give for free. As I use these hotels for business purposes I cannot book the oft touted £29 pund packages. The breakfast package (which I did take) was average and I was slightly annoyed that there was no self-service for the cooked breakfast rather it was brought down by a waiter who asked exactly what you wanted. I would stay here again but only on business as I don't foot the bill - if I did I would probably look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimJackPirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Recently had to leave another hotel as the room was unsuitable and had to find somewhere else to stay. Normally not too much of a problem, you might think, but this was at 9:30 pm on Good Friday (Bank Holiday) in the Peak District with my 2 kids!

Luckily the Premier Inn had a family room available, so we booked in and arrived 30 minutes later. The receptionist was brilliant, making a real effort to get the extra bed in the room sorted out quickly so that my 2 kids could get to bed.

The room itself was comfortable and clean, and the associated Beefeater served a decent breakfast (kids under 16 eat for free).

The one caveat is that the hotel is not well sign posted from the main road.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at the Derby West hotel over the Easter bank holiday weekend. There were 6 of us and we had three rooms. Check in was very quick and easy - we were given assistance in booking a taxi into town for the evening too. We were given three adjacent rooms which was nice to see - saves us trooping about the hotel to go to each other's rooms.
The bed was nice and comfortable, the room and the bathroom were very clean and modern. TV worked and had a remote which is a nice change from most travelodges I've been to!
Other than the noise of the guests walking around above us (must just be thin ceilings!) we slept very well - we were right near a hospital and a main road so we were concerned about road noise but didn't hear a thinkg.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. Over all, we all had an enjoyable stay and it was a good base for our weekend's activities.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmylillylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We arrived as a Party of 9 and had 3 double rooms plus 1 family room for a 2 night stay. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet as was everyone elses in our party. We had dinner in the adjacent Mallard Beefeater and were given a reservation within 10 mins of our arrival. The waitress in the Mallard, couldn't have been anymore helpful and attentive. My only gripe was that for a 2 night stay our room was the only one not made up and replensished with tea, coffee etc., though the other rooms in our party were. However, the staff at reception were very helpful in replenishing the tea etc. We didn't have breakfast at all though 3 of our party did on the 2nd morning. Mixed reviews were given for that, 1 really enjoyed it, the other 2 didn't, not worth the money. Myself and my family went over to the Royal Derby Hospital and had a cheap breakfast there, which was more than adequate. All in all, it was a great stay and would not hesitate in staying there again as it near relatives in Littleover and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to others either. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Ideal location for our purposes. Clean and comfortable friendly staff. Very peaceful stay but it was the weekend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Motherhen84206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
2.0 km away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
4.7 km away
Premier Inn Derby East Hotel
3.0 km away
Premier Inn Derby North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#5 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
2.0 km away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Riverlights)
3.7 km away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Derby West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Derby West

Property: Premier Inn Derby West
Address: Manor Road | Uttoxeter New Road, Derby DE22 3HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Derby West 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get your history hat on at nearby Kedleston Hall or get your kicks with a day trip to Alton Towers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Derby West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Derby West Hotel Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing