We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chiseldon House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alexandra House(Wroughton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Harrow Inn(Wanborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parklands Hotel(Ogbourne Saint George)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
100
61
39
20
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
61
39
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssorbetafternoon teafinger sandwichesscones and cakescake standjam and creamwedding meallovely afternooncountry houselovely buildinglovely surroundingsvegetarian optionslarge roomonly stayed one nightwaiting staffthe main hotelexecutive room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2010

My family and I, along with friends, stayed at the Chiseldon House Hotel for more than a week in June and then again in July. Situated in the small village of Chiseldon that is filled with thatched-roof homes, the hotel is just south of Swindon and centrally located to tour all the great sites (London, Cotswolds, Oxford, Bath, Avebury, Cardiff), using public transportation. Bus line is just a couple of blocks away, which takes you to a walks-way to the train station. The house hotel also has superb accommodations. Every room is en-suite, clean, bright and oozing with country charm. Included is a full breakfast menu with lots of selections, served in a lovely on-site restaurant. The staff is super friendly and especially caring. At the end of our stay we all felt we were leaving "home." At only £65 single, per night (which includes breakfast), the Chiseldon House Hotel is the best place to stay in the Wiltshire area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJGoodell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

This is our second visit to Chiseldon house. We last went approximately 3 years ago. They do a deal called, free on Friday. They offer a 4 course meal with coffee for £40 per head and you get your accommodation for free, including breakfast. This offer is available on selected Friday's only.
The evening meal was exceptional and breakfast was great too. The service and friendliness of the staff was excellent. When we arrived we sat on the patio in the gardens of the hotel and our drinks from the bar were brought to us. This isn't a hotel for families but is ideal for a romantic break. This is a traditional style hotel and our room was clean but looking a little tired, for example the carpet was a little soiled in places. However this is only a minor criticism. We wanted to stop on another night, however there were no rooms available on the Saturday evening. Overall a very pleasant stay. Would I stay here again? Most definitely.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

This hotel is so near to Swindon and the motorway and yet you don't know it. Our room was generous, the decor has a patina but was clean and interesting. The gem was the restaurant.....the food was really good with excellent service. I was mixing business with pleasure during this stay. I found this location ideal to do my business in Swindon then with my partner we headed south visit several "henges" for a cracking day out. If you are wanting to visit Swindon, and are tired of chain hotels or value peace and quiet, stay here. Being off a main road, with large grounds its a pretty safe location for children.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim_Ashton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

Having stumbled across your website, I felt that, as a reasonably regular customer over the last three years, I should add to the comments about Chiseldon House.

We first stayed in the hotel as part of a large group after a wedding and were well satisfied with the condition and cleanliness of the rooms. In fact, the rooms and the grounds of the hotel, and everything to do with the event made the day the most memorable in the life of the bride - as it should be! A lot of this was due to the organisational ability of the manager, Sue, whose experience was evidenced in the efficiency and care shown throughout.

We have also attended birthday celebrations and eaten lunch and dinner in the restaurant.

On all occasions, whether a formal lunch for 50, buffet for 70, or simply a routine meal, the food has been good and the service attentive. There is always a warm welcome, and the presence and involvement of the charming owners is reassuring.

Chiseldon House is a lovely building in a brilliant setting – an oasis of tranquillity – so convenient for Swindon or for an overnight break off the motorway. It must be the ideal venue for business meetings and conferences.

It is now time to arrange another birthday celebration, and we have no hesitation in returning to Chiseldon!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GregBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

Thank you to all the staff at the Hotel that made our recent family weekend a great success. Both food and service were outstanding and we were made to feel very comfortable indeed. We will look forward to seeing you all again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luvena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews