We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Comfortable and great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge Guest House
Ranked #13 of 44 Swindon B&B and Inns
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Clean, Comfortable and great breakfast”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Our stay at the Lodge was without any complaints, the room was clean and the bed was really comfortable which ensured a good nights rest. Full English Breakfast was excellent and the host was more than accomodating! Rooms are adequately furnished and I found the free wi-fi and access to an Ironing Board and Iron really usefull. So also recommendable for a businessman's stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLodgeGuestHouse, Owner at The Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you stay, and we are pleased we were able to make your time away from home (while the insurance work was being undertaken) a pleasurable one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    13
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
11
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Every thing was made very easy and really welcoming. Had great breakfast. Even had extra bacon. Bedroom was really clean. Has a great romantic weekend

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkerley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLodgeGuestHouse, Owner at The Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
So glad you enjoyed your weekend with us. It's been great to see you back again since, and looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Having already stayed on a previous occasion round the corner at the Swandown, where we had a view of the dustbins from our very cramped room, we thought the Lodge looked much better. There was no-one there when we arrived at 5 pm, and we had to wait about 10 minutes for the manager to turn up (apologising profusely).
We stayed in an annexe which had two rooms, which was the only plus as it gave us enough space to put things down. The place was very cluttered with too many bits of furniture. Perhaps it is usually used for someone working locally on a weekly basis as it had a microwave and cutlery and so on, and we were just put in there on a Saturday night while they were back home. That's certainly what it felt like.
The worst thing was the fact that it simply wasn't clean. The floor was very stained, and it certainly had not been vacuumed recently. There were empty sachets of shampoo and shower gel in the bathroom.
The towels were tiny, even for British B&B, but again the extra room was useful as there were some more (tiny) towels in there and we used them too.
Breakfast was ok, but the dining room was very cramped and the paper serviettes were doll-sized.
We did give feedback to the manager, and he did make a note of what we said, but I can't recommend the Lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CliqueJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLodgeGuestHouse, Owner at The Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
At the time I received your review it was a dreadful shock. However, the manager that you met and was responsible for the cleaning of the room left within two days of your stay. As I was away at the time, I had no knowledge of your problems until my return.

Since then we have completely refurbished and redecorated the building, and our replacement manager has improved standards of service and cleanliness. We have not only retained our 4 star rating, but improved upon our percentage rating from VisitEngland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2010

I stayed at the 'Lodge' for only one night whilst attending a function within Swindon. The service was excellent and friendly. The accommodation is of high quality, clean and met with all my requirements. I found the Manager pleasant and very friendly. I have stayed at a number of premises of this type over the past years and have to say this was amongst the best of them. I would definitely stay here again when next visiting Swindon. In-expensive, good value for money accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveP40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

My partner and I stayed in the lodge for 2 nights Just to get a way for the weekend. We received a very friendly welcome even though we turned up very late. We were shown to our rooms which unfortunately were freezing cold as the cleaner had left the all the windows open. The owner apologised and offered to put the heating on, which we accepted so it soon warmed up.

The room itself was very lovely; very clean as was the en suite bathroom which had a huge tub with a shower, the bed was very comfortable, I would say one of the most comfortable beds i ve slept in away from home. The room had all the facilities we needed including towels, extra blankets, shower gel/shampoo, tea/coffee making facilities etc. Overall we were very impressed

The Bloke who dealt with us throughout our stay was very friendly and seemed to have a very good sense of humour (which worked for us, but might not be everyone's cup of tea!). Nothing was too much trouble for him.

Breakfast was served in a conservatory dining room, which was a bit cramped. However it was cooked to order and quite good quality with a good range.

I would recommend the Lodge to anyone who would be staying in the area especially for the friendly welcome you receive and would definitely stay here again if we were in Swindon in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cirkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2010

I was in this place for 3 nights, and Suzan and her family are very very nice, helpfull. Location is excellent, you can go to the center of the town very easy walking. I had a great trip.
Concerning the breakfast, Suzan prepare herself the full english breakfast each time on demand, and can prepare more if you want.
I recommand this hotel, the room are very clean also. I will return in this hotel. The prices are very honest.

Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank ParisSolsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
572 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Booked reservation on internet due to central location; room excellent; location within walking distance of Old Towne and newer area; easy access to M4 for day trips to the Cotswold, Bristol, Windsor Castle. Staff on site were helpful with directions, suggestions. Full English breakfast daily was excellent and plentiful.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenBee0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
0.7 km away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
0.4 km away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#23 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.3 km away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
3.9 km away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
2.6 km away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#15 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Guest House

Property: The Lodge Guest House
Address: 1 Hunt Street | Old Town, Swindon SN1 3HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have eight en-suite rooms, a four star rating from VisitBritain, a central location, with free on-site parking and complimentary Wi-fi. A great location for both business and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing