We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m., 6:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Good value!

No this pub is not the Ritz but it is very friendly and welcoming - it's an old fashioned... read more

Reviewed March 12, 2017
jansie2016
,
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Hearty and wholesome

Visited to try out the quiz but the menu looked good so decoded to eat here as well, very quiet... read more

Reviewed November 25, 2016
roger750
,
Swindon, United Kingdom
Read all 12 reviews
  
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
5
4
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
4
1
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 12 of 12 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We were staying at the Mercure Hotel just down the road from the Carriers Arms & thought we'd 'pop in' for a quick lunch. We were given a very friendly greeting and service; the freshly made sandwiches were excellent & a bonus was a choice of Real Ale! NO it wasn't dingy or dirty it is a 'real pub', very rare to find these days with a lot of places tarting up & becoming trendy soulless, expensive wine bars. We decided to go in the evening for a meal, and while there were invited to join the locals in a pub quiz which was free & great fun. We both had the steak which was cooked exactly as we asked and was one of the best we've had in ages. We were visiting the area to tour the Cotswolds, the next day we'd had a good breakfast at the hotel so after a long day driving around & not stopping for lunch etc., went back to the Carriers, we ordered fish 'n' chips which was freshly cooked & superb, and my husband had a Thai curry, again very good. Oh, and the prices would be very hard to match - to sum up WE WISH WE HAD A LOCAL LIKE THE CARRIERS ARMS!!!!!!

Date of experience: June 2014
1  Thank Roam802680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Went here to book a table to eat Sunday night - first impressions dingy and dirty! Thankfully they are closed Sunday nights! Glasses filthy, toilets disgusting! If visiting south marston avoid!!

Date of experience: May 2014
Thank beeniecrew-182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Had fond memories of this place but when I visited recently and ordered scampi and chips, I was so disappointed. The scampi was overdone and very crunchy to the point of almost ring burnt. The chips were dry and tasteless. The service was efficient and the log fire very welcoming on a cold and wet night.

Date of experience: February 2014
Thank suespurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We were on our way from devon up to London along the 303 when whilst feeling a bit peckish we spotted the small sign at the side of the road saying next left for good food
The pub was easily found with good directions and as soon as we walked in we were met by welcoming staff. We ordered our food and drinks and every member of staff seemed friendly, professional and helpful.
Our food soon arrived and all 3 main courses were superb, well presented and tasted delicious.
The deserts were equally as good with very generous portion sizes.
We will definitely visit again when next on the 303 (remembering that food was only served wed-sat at our time of visiting)
My wife has been craving the chips ever since!

Thank simondenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews