We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“friendly service and homecooked food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Dolce Vita - CLOSED

La Dolce Vita
Price range: US$21 - US$31
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Delicatessen, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“friendly service and homecooked food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

My wife and family have eaten here on special occasions and have never been dissapointed. The food is well cooked to simple Italian standards and the service is always professional and welcoming. This restaurant is a safe bet when you're looking for good Italian food.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank polskirob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    15
    4
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Good food and service nice restaurant but have had better. We stayed in the restaurant for two hours and no one else visited definatly better restaurants but is good value for money

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank kellis90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous - in every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

I hadn't eaten in La Dolce Vita in around 4 years but went for a meal on friends recommendation. The food was excellent, I went with 3 friends and between us we had Pasta, Fish, Chicken and Beef and all were perfectly cooked and delicious, the desserts were equally good. The service was impecable, our waiter was attentive but never hovering. The restuarant was suprisingly quite for a Saturday night especially given how good it was. This would now be my resturant of choice and I will be returning very soon.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Niki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian Food in pleasant surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

My family and I ate here one Saturday lunchtime. We were the only people in quite a vast restaurant, which was a little off-putting as we wondered why it wasn't busier! The waiter explained that most of their trade was in the evening.

However, the menu was extensive, food delicious and service excellent. They even made my 5 year-old a special pizza (they don't normally serve pizzas but they made one for him as the waiter overheard him saying he wanted one!)
The surroundings were very attractive and everything was spotlessly clean, including the loos (most important in my book!). I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this restaurant if you're after a quiet, delicious lunch.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Frome78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

One of the most professional, attentive waiters I've been served by. La Dolce Vita has definitely improved again from my last visit (not that it really needed to). Look past the exterior of the restaurant as inside you would never know you were in the middle of Swindon. The decor, layout and atmosphere all help you to believe you are eating an evening meal on holiday! Great range of starters, main courses and desserts but at good prices.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KellyRowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Dolce Vita also viewed

 
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing