We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect service; clean & comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shakespeare Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shakespeare Inn
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect service; clean & comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We went to The Shakespeare for a weekend in Ironbridge with 2 small children. We chose the inn based on the good reviews here, and overall we encountered a similar experience.

The service was excellent, and the family room (room 4) was perfect for our needs: clean and comfortable. Like other reviewers have mentioned there is noise from the bar downstairs through the floor, louder on the Friday than the Saturday, but it didn't stop any of us from dropping off to sleep.

We ate in the restaurant both evenings and the children were well looked after, as were we. There's a good choice of beers and wines, and the menu is a combination of pub classics and a Mexican range. As other reviewers have also commented on, the quantity is HUGE: so much so that we couldn't finish our main course and definitely didn't have room for pudding. I don't like say this, since we had such a lovely weekend, but the only real downside for me was the food quality: in such a popular tourist area there is an opportunity to showcase local food, and I felt that there was a reliance on mass-produced sauces and processed products such as poor quality sausages. Admittedly my children loved them, but it's not what I would choose to feed them at home.

However, overall a good, fun, experience, and we will definitely visit the area again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinchesterClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    49
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
36
84
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I booked a room at the Shakespeare last minute without doing much research. Upon arrival we were so pleasantly surprised with the rooms and location we instantly asked about taking a 2nd night. The management juggled existing bookings to accommodate us and also rearranged table bookings in restaurant to find us a table. Very impressed with welcome and service. Everyone very friendly. Rooms lovely and characterful. Food very good and reasonably price for good portion. Had a wonderful weekend and the Shakespeare certainly made it for us. Will most definately return. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterBlood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We booked a for a 60th birthday party in the conservatory, but because the size of our party had dropped by two they moved us in to the main pub. This in our opinion felt very cramped for 20 people. Apart from this initial mix up we thought the food was excellent and very good value for money. The service and hospitality was also very good. Will definitely go again and would recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Beatifully located in a beautiful area. Coalport museum and Victorian town easily walkable. The accommodation was fine although floor could do with a good hoover. Generous coffee/tea/milk supplies. Good shower with good pressure and hot water. Steps up to first floor room were wet and slippery and rather steep and dark.
Breakfast plentiful but they use incredibly cheap ingredients, definitely quantity over quality. The restaurant was the same, intended to make fat people fatter. Really cheap bought in jars and packs type of stuff etc producing, glutinous flavourless junky food. The owner has a very very posh car, there's obviously money to be made from this malarkey. But, the restaurant was always busy, so the quantity over quality policy is obviously a winning formula.
The room was over the restaurant area and we found the noise highly intrusive. We expect noise in pub accommodation but mistakenly thought an inn would be better. Ah well, never mind.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derizzoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

We chose the Shakespeare because of the proximity to the sights and museums in the area, some within walking distance. The inn turned out to be a really good find. The accommodation was very good, clean and comfortable. There was a good choice for breakfast and there was a wide selection on offer for evening meals. The bar was busy but the service was good and all the staff friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

The restaurant was very busy at the time of our visit. All tables were reserved but we were squeezed in at about 6.15 although the table wasn't booked until 7.45! Plenty of time for us to have a meal.
I opted for the pan fired chicken with a plum and cranberry sauce. I thought the sauce was straight out of jar as it looked a bit glutinous. The chicken was very tender but lacked any colour I believe it should have had from the frying pan. The chips were light and crisp, vegetables slightly crunchy as I like. Both dishes came with an enormous salad garnish that made me remind the server I had ordered vegetables! I didn't eat it. My wife had the duck breast with the same plum and cranberry sauce but without the cranberries! We both thought it a bit too spicy.
The pub served an excellent range of real ales so that was a bonus.
This just my opinion so you must really try it for yourself.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverdale15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We have just returned from a relaxing break at The Shakespeare Inn and have been delighted by our choice of accommodation. The room was clean and comfortable, well thought-out (an extra mirror near an electric socket for the hairdryer for example) and a generous allocation of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and bathroom 'freebies'.
The location is perfect, quiet, rural, yet right amid the many attractions of this picturesque and historic area, near Ironbridge, with fantastic walking all around.
And the food! Yum! After sampling the popular restaurant on the first night we did not even think of venturing further afield. The breakfasts likewise were excellent.
With friendly staff and impeccable hospitality, this makes a winning combination. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telford
3.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel
BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
2.6 km away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
6.8 km away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
11.0 km away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#2 of 21 in Telford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
2.8 km away
The Swan Taphouse
The Swan Taphouse
#2 of 3 in Ironbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakespeare Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare Inn

Property: Shakespeare Inn
Address: High Street | Coalport, Telford TF8 7HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shakespeare Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Shakespeare Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shakespeare Hotel Telford
Shakespeare Inn Telford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing