We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The Wrong White House” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White House Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The Wrong White House”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

After staying in The White House in Telford, I decided to rebook again as I thought the hotel was perfect, however on arriving I realise with the help of the staff I'd booked the wrong White House this time round! On tipping up at the hotel I accidentally booked I was extremely disappointed. I was staying in a pub, rather than the hotel I thought I'd booked. On entering I was welcomed with gloomy looks by the locals, and then swiftly shooed up to the attic room. It was tiny, not enough room for my husband and I to stand side by side. The box shower room was awful. To brush my teeth I had to stand in the doorway sidewards.

Considering I thought I'd booked that luxery White House I'd stayed in previously I was gutted to be in the wrong White House.

If I ever end up having to stay in Telford again I'll be sure to book the right hotel in future!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid the attic box rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    75
    36
    19
    15
See reviews for
39
65
5
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed here in oct/nov.. Arrived and the reception and the man was quite polite and welcoming. I had booked a exct room and as i got to the room no lights were working and had to go down stairs to get it sorted.. was sorted right away.. the room was nice,big and clean! Breckfast was nice. At check out was a girl who was quite rude and not very helpful when i asked for a taxi number.. i work in a hotel and know what service should be given! apart for a few little things was nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GemmaM5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We have stayed at this hotel alot of times and will go back again we have stayed only in the honeymoon suite which is really nice havent yet stayed in any other rooms there was huge four poster bed very comfy large sitting area tv large bathroom everything that you would need very clean and tidy we have also eaten in the restaurant there alot of times the meals are very nice and loads for breakfast 5*

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louise b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed here for a few days in october. The room we had initially was quite small but we asked if we could move and the staff were really accomodating and moved us to a bigger room. The food in the bar was excellent and i would definitley eat there again. The breakfast was lovely. Its not the poshest hotel around but its nice and comfortable and i would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Sorry but what is shown on the Website is not what we experienced in the Hour we were there. The room we were given was poorly cleaned throughout, with damaged/broken fittings. A second room was shown to us, no better, the bed badly worn on one side so that you almost rolled off it.We decided to leave. Cannot say how good the food is as we didn't stay long enough to find out. If we hadn't found a Premier Inn close by we would have been making a 200 mile trip back home
This place was recommended to us by a colleague and as we wanted to visit Ironbridge, seemed to be ideal. In our experience sadly not.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytravellor00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Telford hotels

uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We booked at 2 and arrived at 6 for one night. Check in easy and the room was very pleasant (Smoking Room) a good size, nicely decorated and a good shower ! Staff were very helpful and pleasant. Lovely full English Breakfast My only gripe is website said price of rooms was £58.50 but I was charged £69 as I didn't book online ! My fault I suppose but I wanted to book over the phone to make sure we had the reservation as we were setting out on a 3 hour journey and didn't want to arrive with no room confirmed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaipur07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

I needed a hotel for one night and most in the area were fully booked. I stayed for one night on business and found the hotel close to where I needed to be which was great. Check in was trouble free and staff were pleasant. Room was at the top of the hotel and was clean and comfortable but the decor was a little dated. Dined in the restaurant the food was superb and the next morning the breakfast was also of a high standard. The staff were all pleasant and helpful. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Telford hotels
8.5 km away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#6 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
5.9 km away
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
#13 of 21 in Telford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Telford North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
5.2 km away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
5.1 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Hotel and Restaurant

Property: The White House Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Wellington Road, Telford TF2 8NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The White House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hotel
The White House Hotel And Restaurant Telford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing