We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
nuneaton
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Will return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Had a great stay the night before our flight the best nights sleep the bed was great.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royalruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    758
    389
    136
    79
See reviews for
267
970
127
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed here for one night and really enjoyed it! It is very conveniently located to gatwick and has ample parking. When booking in the (very friendly) receptionist pointed out their upgrades and extras, all very reasonably priced and it adds great value! We upgraded by adding several "extras" like breakfast and parking etc. and we were really impressed with the variety on offer and the flexibility of the terms, all their "deals" seem well thought out and like it was formulated with busy travelers in mind. The staff were really helpful and professional throughout our stay. The rooms are comfortable and had everything we needed, we had a great nights sleep and left for the airport the next day feeling well rested.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wandergirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor with fellow travellers.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Crowne Plaza,and you were able to take advantage of some of the special offers we have in place for any extras.

It is always nice to read that our staff have provided good customer service and you enjoyed a comfortable night with us,

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

We chose to stay at the Crowne Plaza for the night before our flight (early am departure), travelling over 2 hours from Leyton, London via public transport to Gatwick Airport where a very reassuring website had told us we would be picked up by "regular" shuttle bus and taken to the hotel.

When we eventually found the shuttle bus area (around 12am) it was a shambles! The time tables were out-dated and useless. Some kind soul had half-heartedly posted information about the changed bus numbers in one of the shelters (didn't find it until after 20minutes of standing around). There were contact details for some hotels on stickers on the outdated time-table board but none for the Crowne Plaza. Also tried searching for a phone number on my phone but had no luck. So waiting in suspense to wonder if we had missed the last bus or would one arrive any minute... Waited like this for just about an hour made friends with some other unlucky ones who had no idea when or if their shuttle would come. (One gentleman was disabled and had been waiting in the cold long before we came and was there long after.)

We cheered for joy when we saw our bus approach (1AM) and climbed aboard to be faced with a nice fee. First time I have ever had to pay for a hotel appointed shuttle bus (or so they make it sound on the website). When I tried to pay with a £20 note which was all I had in my purse the driver looked at me as if I had three heads. When I explained that I wasn't aware I had to pay so I didn't have any change he huffed and puffed and I could tell he was thinking hard, after a moment he began to look pained. To put him at ease I suggested that perhaps when he brought us to the hotel I could get change from the receptionists. He grunted and I assumed that was permission to board so we took a seat, gratefully.

Bone-weary, yet safe in the knowledge that in 5-10mins we would be cozy in bed I cozied down and waited. At the second terminal he stopped for any other crowne plaza guests. A family with children and numerous large bags stepped to the door and asked if he was going to the Ramada hotel. I grimaced in sympathy realizing that they would be waiting longer as this was solely a crowne plaza shuttle and then to my disbelief the driver waved them on. After another few minutes fussing with all their bags and children they sat down. Then the driver whistled and waved at me shouting "You can pay now." I was slightly shocked but paid the driver anyway and we continued our journey. I believed that perhaps the ramada was on the way to the crowne plaza...

TWENTY minutes later we arrive at the hotel.

The staff were very nice and when I asked about the issues with the shuttle bus the gentleman behind the desk grimaced and apologized. He said the driver shouldn't have picked up the other guests and that they had only recently changed around buses and routes etc. (Apparently this had happened before.)
I didn't hold him responsible as I have experience with similar situations and bus/taxi drivers are a law unto themselves (or so they like to think), however, considering the shuttle bus is part of the service they offer they should try to improve it as much as they can.

In reference to the hotel itself I didn't get a great look around as by this time we had to be up again in 4 hours so it was straight to the room and bed!

The room was great! All sparkling clean and such a COMFY bed! I thoroughly enjoyed the free biscuits and hot chocolate as I drifted off. The TV however was tiny and very blurry. Not a big deal for us as it was more background noise.

The wake up call was prompt but with that, much to my displeasure, we were too soon departing. I mourned that extra hour or so we wasted faffing about with the shuttle bus...

Check out was good, another nice member or staff. Would have been nice to see the breakfast but we were, understandably, too early.

The shuttle bus TO the airport was no problem there in less than 10mins!

I would like to try this hotel again in future, perhaps for a stop off on the way back from a holiday instead of going to one. Spend the day and enjoy it fully!

One thing is for sure though, I'll be getting a taxi!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport hotel.

I am so sorry that you experienced some issues with the shuttle bus service, It has recently changed its schedule but unfortunately the Airport will not allow anyone to change any signage they have the sole rights to do this, so I am sorry if the information was out of date.

The Bus service is usually very good and the new time table has more buses and is more frequent so I am sorry that you had to wait.

I am pleased that once you arrived you did enjoy the rest of your stay. I do hope that you will use the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed here as part of a package deal with parking for an early morning flight.
hotel ended up costing £20 on top of the normal parking charges.
Cant really say much apart from we had a well appointed room, check in and out was quick and efficient, staff were friendly.
Great location for airport. There was a small plaza by the cinema just a 10 minute walk and you have a selection of around 10 different restaurants should you not want to eat in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteN84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport hotel.

I am pleased that you had a nice room, and our staff were friendly and helpful.

The hotel is very close to town and this makes us a good choice if you want to take a stroll into the main shopping area or cinema complex.

I do hope that you will come back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Booked through APH and only cost a few pounds more than airport parking alone so decided it was worth it not to have to leave home early in the morning. For 17 days parking and the hotel it was under £70 so excellent value and was pleasantly surprised. There were even little extras like lavender relaxing spray for the pillows for a good nights sleep. Would highly recommend the hotel. Didn't eat or use the facilities so can't comment on those

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on trip advisor following your stay at the Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport hotel.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and the facilities were to your liking and good value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed for one 1 night in April before an early flight to Las Vegas. Got a good deal with parking at hotel for 9 days. On arrival we upgraded to a club room for £30 and were given 24hr access to a lounge area where beverages (including alcoholic) were free and snacks such as fruit, crisps and nuts. Plus we were given a nicer room which was big and nicely decorated. We had a meal in the hotel restaurant and as with most of these type of hotels it was expensive for what we got but pleasant. The pool was small and overcrowded but we did go in there during peak time and there was also a kids swim lesson going on at same time. Jacuzzi was out of use for cleaning. We didn't have time to use the gym. Breakfast was good. Airport shuttle pick sup from directly outside hotel and runs evry half hour..think it was £3.60 per person. When we returned from Vegas hotel staff were very quick and efficient finalising my stay/parking anf getting my car keys. All the staff on the front desk were helpful and very friendly, would rate the vcustomer service highly. Would stay again if flying from Gatwick.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

One stopover from Australia and onto Seville. Very friendly and hospitable hotel. Room excellent and got our request for a high floor and one king bed. Restaurant quite good and food very nice. Excellent way to sleep off the jet lag.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor.
I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel ideal as a stop over before your long flight.

I do hope that if you are travelling in the UK in the future, we will be able to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick-Airport hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.5 km away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
4.1 km away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.6 km away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
4.1 km away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.9 km away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Address: Langley Drive, Crawley RH11 7SX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#14 Family Hotel in Crawley
#14 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking, wing-shaped canopy soars above the entrance to the Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport hotel. You'll receive a warm welcome from our friendly Front Desk staff, who can direct you to your calming room or Suite. Revitalise and work out in the fully equipped gym, which is complimentary to residential guests. Dark wood and ochre create a stylish setting for business dinners in Cube restaurant, which serves modern English cuisine. Dine with up to 280 guests in one of our 11 vibrant meeting rooms or host board meetings in the chic executive boardroom. Upgrade to access the Club Lounge, where complimentary breakfast & drinks are served as well as canapes in the evening. A pre-bookable airport (taxi) transfer is available for £10.00, Based on 1-3 people in a car. Gatwick Express trains take 30 minutes to London Victoria station from London Gatwick Airport, while Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport is 5 minutes' walk from Manor Royal Business Park. Experience British summertime at the exotic Royal Pavilion and beach-side oyster bars of sunny Brighton, 30 minutes' drive away. You'll find wireless Internet throughout Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, where your stay is worth celebrating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Hotel Crawley
Crowne Plaza Crawley
Crawley Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing