We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful House, Charming Owner”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maidstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Limes on the Green
Ranked #13 of 26 Maidstone B&B and Inns
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful House, Charming Owner”
Reviewed 13 March 2010

Set in a village overlooking the Green this period house offers the highest standards of accommodation and service for a B&B. Each bedroom, there are three, is large, individually styled, beautifully furnished, immaculately clean, has comfortable beds, and well equipped en-suite facilities. The atmosphere is relaxed and informal and Sonia, the owner, is very welcoming and a fund of useful local knowledge. There are two restaurants, one virtually next door, and a pub just up the road so eating out is very convenient. Breakfasts are lavish with plenty of choice to suit any taste, with a varied cooked option always available. We visited in early Spring so it was sadly too cold to enjoy the lovely garden. Good value.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandPEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
36
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2010

Sonia could not have been a more caring and attentive hostess. But don't get me wrong - she was not intrusive. Our elderly family dog was made most welcome too, which is important to us and one of the reasons we went there. The bed in the Attic room was 'delicious'! Pure comfort with the goosedown duvet. There was plenty of space too. Breakfasts were provided when you wanted, how you wanted - freshly cooked and delicious.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbieCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garstang
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2009

My colleague recommended The Limes near Maidstone for my two night business trip. He was spot on.

Sonia and Steve were extremely friendly and more than happy to serve my breakfast at a very early hour both mornings. The food was delicious. My room was comfortable in every way, with wifi available. Power shower lived up to the job.
When I returned each evening I was fed really well at both pubs, The White Horse and The Royal Oak. Good local beer also.
All in all I would wholeheartedly recommend a stay at The Limes. My wife will be in for a treat when I get round to booking a weekend away for the two of us as I know she would love it and Sonia has also recommended the nearby Souffle restaurant as perfect for a romantic meal.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murphypatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

We stayed at Limes on the Green for two nights when attending a wedding in the Archbishop's Palace in Maidstone.

This Bed and Breakfast is situated in the beautiful village of Bearsted and rooms overlook the charming village green.

The hosts Sonia and Steve made us feel really welcome and met us at the railway station even though it is only five minutes walk from the The Limes.

Our room, the Loft Room, was spacious and well equipped and we got an excellent night's sleep on a very comfy bed.

The breakfast was amazing with freshly homemade jams, fresh fruit and a Full English including the best Black Pudding I have eaten in a long time.

Thoroughly recommended to anyone staying in the Maidstone area or looking for a beautiful quiet location for a romantic break.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northumbrianscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The house is lovely and the rooms are spotless. The bed was very comfortable and roomy. There was no noise at night and the view across the green is most pleasant. The owners couldn't be more friendly and helpful. They provided a great selection of food at breakfast and there was lots of it.
We would definitely like to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forteanfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenwick Nr. Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

On my previous trips to the Maidstone area I stayed at the very special “Thurnham Old Rectory”. However, this time I found that it had closed and the very welcoming Sonia, who ran it, had moved a few miles down the road to Bearstead Green. She now runs “The Limes” which is a contrast to “Thurnham Old Rectory”. This house is much older. I think some 500 years with oak beams and low ceilings and packed with period furniture. All tastefully decorated in that special style of our host. The rooms are comfortable, have good quality linen and are spotlessly clean. As before, our host is very welcoming and provides those little extras that make your stay both relaxing and pleasurable. At breakfast you are spoilt for choice and its all good quality with large portions if wanted. I can recommend “The Limes” without hesitation to anyone travelling in this area.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianiie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Have just stayed at Limes on the Green with some friends after visiting the area for a 40th birthday party, and couldn't have picked a better place. The house is beautifully decorated with oodles of character (beams galore) and located in a lovely setting overlooking the village green, minutes walk from the mainline station for anyone travelling out of London, but also offering ample parking at the rear for those arriving by car. Our hosts were wonderfully friendly and accomodating, the rooms were decorated to a high standard (no chintz yay!) with big comfy beds, crisp white linen sheets, fluffy pillows and snug blankets to keep you warm at night! The bathrooms in both rooms were clean and well fitted. Plenty of good breakfast options from numerous cereals, fresh fruit and yoghurt, to a full english brekkie cooked with good quality local produce and all washed down with a lovely cup of tea! Added bonus were the freshly made scones straight out of our hosts aga that morning, need I say more! If you are looking for a comfortable stay in a picture perfect village location with easy transport links and some great gastro pubs and restaurants within walking distance, I would highly recommend this delightful B&B.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mag1ccat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maidstone hotels
2.7 km away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
0.9 km away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.1 km away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#4 of 15 in Maidstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
3.6 km away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#10 of 15 in Maidstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
4.6 km away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limes on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limes on the Green

Property: The Limes on the Green
Address: The Limes The Green, Maidstone ME14 4DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Limes On The Green Maidstone, UK - Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing