We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a superb gem run by lovely genuine people!”
Review of Jessop House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jessop House
Ranked #1 of 12 Tewkesbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2017

The service was superb, the room was excellent and the breakfast too was excellent. we were in Tewkesbury for the weekend for a wedding and if ever we return to Tewkesbury there is no other place to stay than at Jessop House. We are global five star plus boutique hotel users and while Jessop House is not a five star boutique hotel it punches way above its weight and is the nearest thing you will find in Tewkesbury at a fraction of the cost, with really nice owners who also serve and look after you. Awesome.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017

Beautiful hotel and rooms and lovely breakfast and delightful hosts. Our stay was a real pleasure. Great location, very clean and spacious. Really enjoyed our stay and heartily recommend this to other travelers

Room Tip: No elevator so walking stairs is a consideration
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Micheline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

I stayed here for a week on a business trip and loved my time here. The bedrooms are beautiful, each with their own individual style yet they all have been completed with stylish detail. Chris and her husband were fantastic hosts, and clearly have a very fine eye to detail decorating their gorgeous B&B.
My partner and I got on immensely well with them as they were very welcoming. Chris even showcased her sewing skills to put a button back on my boyfriend's shirt before an evening out with my work! I would definitely choose to stay here again!

Room Tip: The Deluxe room with the four poster bed and sofas is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Two hot and tired Tewkesbury Festival goers arrived at this outwardly unassuming guest house to be welcomed into luxury on a grand scale. The proprietor could not have been more helpful and showed us to a lovley Queen sized room with ensuite very welcome shower.
We had a wonderful nights rest followed by a lovely home cooked breakfast and a lazy check out time.
This establishment is run with love and attention to detail. Very opulent I'm decor but with a very down to earth approach to guests.
Have booked for 3 nights next year we liked it so much.
Gabi

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gothichaven54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

Lovely room, friendly welcoming owners, good breakfast. Tewkesbury is an interesting town with good opportunities for eating and drinking. The abbey and museum will appeal to those who are into history.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 14ronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

Faultlessly clean and made to feel very welcome were key factors. Breakfast was freshly cooked with all locally sourced produce, well done for taking the trouble to do that. Rooms are chintzy but that adds to its charm that makes it both individual and interesting. Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank siralex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

My new husband and I stayed here just for a night away for his birthday. It was great from the moment we got there. The room was on the top floor so it had a really nice view of the landscape on the backside of the building. Across the street is Tewkesbury Abbey which was beautiful on the inside. The owners of the B&B were very sweet people and we had wonderful conversations. They do have a honestly bar but we didn't use it because we had gone out for the night but was nice to know it was there. In the morning we did have full English breakfast (my first one) but who's counting. It was delicious they did have other hot food to choose from as well as a variety of fruit, yogurt, and cereal. I would definitely recommend this B&B by far the nicest one I have ever stayed at. The rooms very spacious and quiet as well. We did stay on a Thursday so it wasn't that busy but weekend go quick so book in advance!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nicoletravels09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewkesbury
0.2 km away
The Royal Hop Pole
The Royal Hop Pole
#1 of 7 in Tewkesbury
961 reviews
0.6 km away
Tudor House Hotel
Tudor House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Tewkesbury
540 reviews
4.0 km away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
536 reviews
6.3 km away
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Corse Lawn
767 reviews
0.1 km away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#6 of 12 in Tewkesbury
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jessop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jessop House

Address: 65 Church Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Tewkesbury
Price Range: $148 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jessop House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership from Oct 2011 Jessop House has been renovated to the highest standard. Rooms feature beds dressed with the finest Jaquard Sanderson linens and cosy velvet bedspreads, grand chandeliers adorn spacious rooms, maintaining many original period features whilst enjoying modern day comforts. Jessop House offers large well equipped en-suite rooms. Experience the splendour of medieval Tewkesbury & the Cotswolds from the comfort of Tewkesbury's finest Georgian town house. Privately owned, personal service is at the heart of everything we do... affordable, stylish and comfortable, Jessop House has all the essential ingredients for an enjoyable and relaxed stay in a beautiful town centre location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Jessop House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jessop Townhouse Hotel Tewkesbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing