We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wetherspoons winner”
Review of The Royal Hop Pole

The Royal Hop Pole
Ranked #20 of 80 Restaurants in Tewkesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed August 26, 2018

Had a very nice lunch in this very interesting pub, as its now wetherspoons the price was right.
Worth a visit .

Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

Dear Customer, thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us and at the right price too! We do have a very interesting building here - fully of history and character. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 470 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

We return here relatively frequently but more for the beer garden and good prices.
Always get served quite quickly although the food can take a while at times - busy place so comes with territory. OK place but the same as any other Wetherspoon.

Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

Dear Customer, Thanks for the review. We are pleased to hear you enjoy our garden and our good prices, and that you are always served quickly. We can sometimes experience a bit of a wait on food (normal expectation is within 10 minutes here) but we do try to advise our customers at the time of ordering if we are expecting the wait to be more. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2018

One thing I love about Wetherspoons is that they often step in to save and restore old historic buildings. The Royal Hop Pole is a case in point. It is a very large building/collection of buildings. Wetherspoons saved it from potential dereliction (Walk round Tewkesbury which has many amazing buildings to see some sad examples). However at this visit it is clear that it is time for Wetherspoons to do a refurb and bring this magnificet place back to its former glory. One niggle: having to pay for parking. The garden area needs some TLC. We ate in the Georgian Room which is bright and airy. We ordered via the app so didn';t wait long for our breakfasts. Standard Wetherspoons fare so good value.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

Dear Customer. Thank you for your review. We are sorry to see that you feel it is time for a refurb for us, as our pub and hotel were refurbished just short of a year ago. We are, however, continuously spending to maintain this magnificent amalgamation of buildings in all their glory, including the great medieval hall upstairs in the hotel. We will feedback to our gardeners your comments regarding our garden however, as it has been well used during the heatwave we have recently experienced. It is great to know that you didn't have to wait long for your breakfasts and found us to be good value too. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

Visited for a snack and drink on a Sunday lunchtime. Normal Wetherspoon good selection of ales and food at good prices. Nice very large premises which is also an hotel.

Thank Superbaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Dear Customer, Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed a good selection of ales and food at good prices during your Sunday lunchtime visit. We are a hotel, with 28 bedrooms and comprise of at least 3 historic buildings across 3 floors. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2018

We use this often and, as a Wetherspoons we eat there rarely but, the food has always been quite good.
Drinks are the normal for Wetherspoons but this place is rather big, if you are a smoker then it's out the back.
As non-smokers we have to stay inside otherwise we'll be overcome by the smoke outside. This can be a pain in the summer as it can be hot in areas.
The lighting is dimmed but I think it adds to the atmosphere, we remember when it was a restaurant / pub before a fire gutted it so it's had a new lease of life since Whetherspoons took it over. You have to get into the bar quite close or be tall like me to get noticed if it's busy but overall it's a really good place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 963wr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Dear Customer, thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed good service, and when eating, good food too. We do have almost half of the garden that is a designated non smoking area - please just ask at the bar next time you are in and they'll point you in the right direction! We can get busy at times, but we do try our upmost to serve everyone in good time. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Hop Pole also viewed

Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Royal Hop Pole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing