We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL”
Review of Gables Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gables Hotel
Ranked #49 of 53 Solihull B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 November 2009

This has to be one of the worst hotel premises I have encountered and I have seen many all over the world. When we arrived after struggling to find the place it is located right on a busy highway. The parking area was so full of cars (there seemed to be some sort of function going on but no room for residents) we had nowhere to park. On entering the reception (if that is what you call it) the place stunk. No-one seemed interested in whether we were customers. It was grotty and dirty. It was so bad just from first impressions that I decided on the spot to not subject myself, my wife and our children to the experience. Despite being charged for the night I regarded it as a lucky escape and instead we had a very enjoyable stay at the Holiday Inn with two adjoining double rooms for a lesser rate than this shocking place. From the content of other reviews I have now seen on this website that was a very good decision. My advice is if you are looking for somewhere to stay in this area DON'T STAY AT THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
3  Thank Don047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 74 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2009

we arrived at 1am very tired had to wait ages to get in as it was all locked up and i had to phone the number on the door eventually got in they had over booked our room so we we then led into a family room which at first look didnt seem very nice but we were too tired to bother
upon getting settled in we noticed the serious damp smell in the room all the walls around the bed were black and mouldy we also noticed as we were getting into bed they had used a single sheet literally just placed over the double bed which obviously couldnt be tucked in!! no top sheet and a "dingy" quilt on top nightmare from hell believe me!!
we complained in the morning and demanded another room which they agreed too.
when we went into the new room the light bulb blew the shower was made for seriously skinny size zero's as we couldnt fit in! but at least the second time round we had a complete set of CLEAN FITTED sheets on the bed
all i can say is that these people should seriously clean up their act as i would never recommend this guest house to anyone ever ever ever!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank tazzy0159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2009

From the website this hotel looked homely and potentially quiet for a business stay for a couple of nights.

However, this was not to be. Not only was it very noisy, music etc but the rooms were incredibly tired. My wardrobe door fell off on opening it on arrival as did my lamp and received a burn to the hand from the bulb!
The only saving grace was that it was clean but otherwise really not worth it especially if you have an early start in the morning!
Shell out the extra 20 quid for a decent hotel!

Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
2  Thank Frufru99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank FranciscoSoldano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Dit hotel niet boeken
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meneer1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R1100RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solihull
0.2 km away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#19 of 118 in Birmingham
1,303 reviews
1.8 km away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
7.5 km away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 km away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
378 reviews
7.4 km away
Best Western Plus Manor Hotel
8 km away
Premier Inn Balsall Common (Near Nec) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Hotel

Address: Old Damson Lane, Solihull B92 9ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Solihull
Price Range: $78 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gables Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing