We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”

Bowland Wild Boar Park
Ranked #6 of 71 things to do in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed February 23, 2018 via mobile

After leaving 2 5* reviews in the past and numerous fantastic visits, it was a total disappointment to see this farm so unclean. Farms are dirty yes! But this went beyond what should be allowed. The pig pen was nothing but a walkway of poo and the cows were covered in poo in pens that looked like they hadn't seen a clean piece of hay for a fair while. The staff in the past have been so chatty and informative, however today they were sadly not. The usually pleasant stroll up around the totems was just overgrown and unwelcoming. Can't believe this is the same place that I gave 5 stars last year. The only saving grace was the great play area. We travel an hour each way to visit this place and today was a total let down and not worth the money at all. Will not be revisiting unfortunately. I have added a photo of the pig and cow pen so feel free to make your own decision.

4  Thank Amanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowlandwildboarpark, Manager at Bowland Wild Boar Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2018

Dear Amanda,

Thank you for your review, we are very sorry you felt this way about your visit to the park, and we do take all comments seriously.

Please can you contact us directly so we can discuss this issues you have raised, our email address is wildboar6@yahoo.co.uk or if you could let us know your address then we can discuss things further.

Kind regards

Hannah Lemon-Fish
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tractor ride"
in 65 reviews
"wild boar"
in 76 reviews
"barrel ride"
in 35 reviews
"lamb feeding"
in 35 reviews
"chick stroking"
in 25 reviews
"hay bales"
in 19 reviews
"baby chicks"
in 19 reviews
"feeding the animals"
in 17 reviews
"play area"
in 43 reviews
"feeding times"
in 10 reviews
"round house"
in 6 reviews
"bottle feed lambs"
in 6 reviews
"bird feeders"
in 8 reviews
"animals seem"
in 6 reviews
"great family day"
in 20 reviews
"all ages"
in 33 reviews
"the barn"
in 14 reviews
Filter

26 - 30 of 523 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2018

Lovely park, great walk and lots of wildlife. Kangaroos , deers, goats, meercats, racoons , owls, peacocks. There is a gift shop, ice cream, snack bar. Last thing we did was go to the farm section and fed the lambs & held little fluffy chicks there were also donkeys and cows. We spent the day here so plenty to do. A visit is a must!

Thank LouiseCarhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2018 via mobile

We always have a great time here. It was muddy but plenty of the animals were in the barn so you could see them. The chick handling was magical. Didn't see many wild boars today but certainly tasted some in the cafe! Food was good as always the cafe is small and it is difficult when people bring prams in but everyone is very tolerant. The new adventure trail for the over 7's was fun. I am sure we will be back again soon.

Thank fran1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2018 via mobile

Had a great day out even in the rain and snow. We fed lambs, stroked chickens, went on a tractor ride and played in the park. On arrival I thought oh we will be here about 10mins because of the weather but we were there most of the day and the snow and cold didn't stop us. The kids loved it all especially the hay barn and the chickens pooing in your hands when you hold them. I would recommend this day out to anyone and its only going to get better when the weather does

1  Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2018 via mobile

I came here with my family and I found the place lovely. My only negative was there was a few broken go carts in the place area, however there was enough to go around anyways.
It had an opportunity where you could hold baby chicks, a play area, a cafe, farm, a small maze which the kids loved hiding in, tractor rides and a free car park.
There is also food for you to buy and feed the animals.
I got a discount voucher but it was well worth every penny. Every family must visit, especially if local.

Thank Nicol29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bowland Wild Boar Park also viewed

 

Been to Bowland Wild Boar Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing