We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
83
51
19
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
51
19
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shared bathroom train station nice outlook top floor on arrival represents excellent value ensuite room pleasant lady lady on reception town centre central location saturday night one way street would stay here again busy road rooms are lovely minute walk
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 163 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

I really can’t fault this place, it’s an amazing little hotel, perfect for the price I paid (£40 for a night). I came because I had my graduation in the morning and needed to stay overnight. This place provides a free breakfast, and the room is really decent. Yes it’s a shared bathroom, but it’s kept incredibly clean, and the staff were lovey. Would stay again!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank JHofstetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2018

Huge family room with four beds, friendly staff and best quality breakfast we have had in any hotel. Lovely helpful check out and looked after cases for hours after checkout. Very handy for the station and town centre and very cheap.

Room tip: hotel itself was quiet but the traffic noise at front is very loud, would request back room next time.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2018 via mobile

Ok so it's cheap, but still overpriced.

Basic room (last available) on top floor with shared bathroom 'down the corridor', except it was out of order.

No explanation forthcoming as to why I wasn't told this upon arrival, but simply 'there's a shower on the next floor down you can use'. Gosh thanks!

Were it not after 10pm I would have packed up and gone.

Basic is fine of course, but there comes a point at which dated shabby becomes just grim.

The dripping tap did little to enhance the traffic noise, the window open because of the admittedly hot weather, but also because the room was made almost unbearably hot by virtue of it being on the top floor and next to some fairly substantial hot water pipes.

Location is fine for the train station, but that's about the best that can be said for this nasty little place.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2018

We had a wonderful overnight stay at this little hotel. Upon arrival, we were cordially greeted, checked in and shown to our room. This was tastefully and comfortably fitted out, had a comfortable bed, its own en suite, a TV and tea and coffee making equipment.

The breakfast room was bright, airy and had a nice outlook. Our cooked breakfast was one of the nicest we’ve had; very capable and friendly staff. All very tasteful and professional.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2018 via mobile

We booked last minute for a one night stay when visiting friends in the area. Only twin rooms were available which was no issue, however it was not advised on the website that this means sharing a toilet and bathroom with other guests. Even once booked the confirmation that came through wasn’t completely clear, stating ‘our standard twin rooms have wash basins in the room with the toilet and shower located outside the room in the main bathroom’. Nothing explicitly stated this would be a shared facility. Unfortunately the shower on our floor was also out of use (which we discovered ourselves rather than being informed of when checking in). Having the information about sharing a bathroom before hand would probably have put us off booking, even more so at this time due to being 5 months pregnant which makes everything that bit more uncomfortable and sharing a toilet and bathroom with strangers not a pleasing prospect. Unfortunately the pipes running through our room were intermittently noisy, presumably whenever someone else ran water or used the bathroom; there was no bulb in the bedside lamp (only discovered when we returned late in the evening); and the bathroom smelt of damp (although appeared clean enough).
There is parking outside although none available when we returned in the evening, there was however plenty of space available on the next road down from the hotel.
The staff were very friendly, the breakfast service was good with a variety of cooked options, cereals, and yogurt.
Overall, if we had been able to book a room which had its own bathroom then the stay would likely have been good. Perhaps being more explicit on the website about the facilities would prevent anyone else being a bit disappointed on arrival, but if you’re happy to share a bathroom worth others then this is a good stop over hotel.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews