We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Good hotel for rate we paid. Plenty of free parking. Leisure facilities were good.
Bedrooms clean and comfortable

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs4662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    378
    225
    97
    72
See reviews for
303
322
36
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jenks, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Our second trip here, both times the Hotel was outstanding for a very fair rate. Parking is excellent and the rooms clean and spacious with a nice bathrooms. Now the big surprise - the restaurant is EXCELLENT. We never think about eating at a Holiday Inn when we travel. However we were tired and did not want to go out so we tried it. We are probably picker then most people and were really impressed. Everyone working in the restaurant was on the ball and the food was great.

The staff in the restaurant deserve a award for not going crazy because of the 20 something mother who let her 2 badly behaved kids run wild in the restaurant. They kept their cool and acted with aplomb. They are better then I am - I would have ask them to leave.

This does not take away from a wonderful meal at a very fair price. We travel this area regularly and next time will book even more days.

Room Tip: Take second look, this is really nice Holiday Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retireeurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Set 5 minutes drive from the centre of Lancaster, this hotel offers ample parking. The reception staff were very friendly and I was quickly in my room. The room was modern and very clean. The bar area is open plan andnhasnantypical holiday inn feel. All in all a good standard hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erichowell09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

The room I stayed in was on the 3rd floor and was much bigger than a standard holiday inn room. The bed was comfortable and the TV was decent.

Holiday Inn breakfasts are generally good, but you need to get a rate that includes breakfast. Stupidly, I chose a room rate without breakfast and was told that it would cost nearly £14 each to order breakfast! Crazy money!

Other than that, I was happy with my stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesShelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Starting with the positives the best part about our stay were the staff - very friendly and welcoming. The hotel was clean and had a good bar area.
Unfortuantely, we had a disappointing experience in the restaurant as the food took a long time to arrive and when it did my chicken tikka bites were overcooked and dry so would suggest you find somewhere else to eat.
The worst part about the stay were the beds. We had an executive room (331) with two doubles that were so soft they could have easily passed for a trampoline. Everytime one of us moved in the night it woke up the other person. We both woke up feeling awful.
We were also above a flat roofed annex and there was a fan underneath that kept making a noise so that didn't help trying to get to sleep.
Would suggest trying one of the other hotels in the area as that is what we will be doing next time.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlepod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Pod1969,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good and the opportunities to improve. I am pleased you liked our bar area as well as our friendly staff. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you found the beds in your room were uncomfortable. I am also very sorry you were not fully satisfied with the meal in our restaurant. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value your feedback as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Bon V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lancaster hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Spent the weekend of the 28th April here, all in all we had a really pleasant stay. Room was very clean and spacious, overlooking the water. Food was good but was disappointed that the restaurant menu was the same as the bar menu during the day. Other Holiday Inn's we have stayed at have had separate menus. Wise to check if there are any coach loads of Chinese guests staying, if so, avoid breakfast at the earlier time as it gets really busy. Have also read on another review about coffee and tea not being served, we had the same and had to ask several times. If you want a change of scene meal wise, there is a Brewer's Fayre just across the road.

Leisure club was good, although it can get busy when swimming lessons are on. Was horrified to see that mums were using the female sauna to get babies changed in. Saw this on more than one occasion.

All in all a good stay, staff were really good, would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kagsyturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Pleasant & efficient staff. Room was very comfortable, including the bed, & very clean too. Ask for a room at the back to avoid the road noise, but this wasn't too intrusive.
Nice walk along the river accessible at the rear of the hotel.
I would be most happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soutenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
7.2 km away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
0.1 km away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
3.2 km away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
6.4 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 11 in Morecambe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
8.1 km away
Pine Lake Resort
Pine Lake Resort
#1 of 9 in Carnforth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lancaster

Property: Holiday Inn Lancaster
Address: Caton Road, Lancaster LA1 3RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lancaster has reopened with a completely new look. It enjoys an excellent location close to the M6 Jct 34 and with a bus stop at the main entrance makes the historic city of Lancaster easy to visit. The Holiday Inn Lancaster is also located near to the picturesque Lake District and provides a convenient location for day trips to the beautiful Lake Windermere and the attractions of Blackpool. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure guests, including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. The hotels facilities include 156 fully air-conditioned bedrooms and 7 fully air-conditioned meeting rooms. Each bedroom and meeting room is also equipped with High speed internet access alongside Wifi in the public areas. Our Conference & Banqueting rooms can facilitate up to 120 people for a meeting and up to 80 people for a Banquet. These 7 modern rooms can cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. Ample car parking is provided complimentary at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Spirit Health and Leisure Club offers a gym, sauna, steam room and a indoor Heated Swimming Pool, in addition to Beauty Therapists and Spa. Our Restaurant, lounge and bar offer dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing