We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow at bringing wine but lovely otherwise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge Lancaster
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Slow at bringing wine but lovely otherwise”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We met up with two friends or fish and grill night. Meal deals were great. Loads on the plate! Waitress was slow at bringing wine out to us. Arrived as meals did. Stayed for a few drinks after meal lovely selection on drinks and bar was full of punters. A good sign! Great place will dine again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fordfamilymk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    84
    47
    28
    27
See reviews for
99
88
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Large family room, adequate for needs but lack of cleanliness details. Black mould on shower screen and bathroom window. Artificial plants caked in dust. Room cold despite heating on full but spare duvet helped. Not awful but probably would go elsewhere if in the area again. Food in restaurant average, including a rather greasy english breakfast

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAZZBUNNY6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My sister moved up to Lancaster and when we visit and she doesn't have any room for us we stay here. We've stayed twice now and would definitely go back. The rooms are comfortable, the staff are friendly and the meals in the pub are great. Lovely Location.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We have visited Slyne lodge a few times over the years. Recently undecided as to where to spend New Years Eve , we happened to call for lunch mid xmas break. After a hearty bowl of soup and a pint of Jennings Creamy , the waitress advised that there was a couple of rooms remaining and a couple of tables free ... great.. no pressure selling and a very accommodating booking for the NEw Years Eve celebrations .

On arrival genuine welcome and we were personally shown to our room in the stableblock, the room was clean and airy plenty of space , plenty of makings for tea and coffee. The dining room was spacious and warm and cosy . The meal a tasty unhurried 7 course meal including a succulent seafood platter and tender steak this was supplemented with excellent wine and table service. Joined the locals for a friendly night of entertainment . Comfy beds and a hearty breakfast.. Thanks . Will call again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clinicstb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen.
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stay her for our staff Christmas meal held at the Keys just along the road. As an overnight its fine, the rooms are clean and warm. We were in room 5 (a twin) we booked a double through bookings,com to be called next day by the hotel to say they had double booked and no doubles were available!
To be blunt room 5 smells, damp, an almost 'cat wee' smell! This could be caused by the water feature..ie the leaking guttering over the front door that had been leaking so long it has scoured the flagstones clean on the doorstep! Our friends who stayed in Room 8 above us complained that the noise of the leak kept them awake, let alone us! Their shower didn't work either!
Breakfast was ok although the lone waitress was run off her feet as it was busy. But it was hot, well prepared and tasty.There seemed no option of any fruit, just cereal, toast and a 'full English!
Check out was fine, the chap in front was overcharged..and so was I! So be careful and chek you bill!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neilb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We arrived at Slyne Lodge for a one night's stay because we were attending an event in Lancaster. The location, just 2 miles outside the city, was good and we thought would provide a quieter stay than right in the city centre on a Saturday night. Check in was good and we were even taken to our rooms personally, the room was surprisingly spacious, well equipped and had a smart bathroom, it was clean and warm on a cold November evening. Our group had booked a meal in the restaurant and the managment had agreed to us ordering from the cheaper lunch menu as we had to get away early. The food was plentiful and well cooked and excellent value for £5.95 per head. We left for our event very satisfied. We returned at 3:45am and settled down for a good night's sleep. However at 4:15am the loudest fire alarm I have ever heard went off and we all sprang our of bed and gathered in the court yard outside the rooms in the howling wind and rain, bewildered and expecting a member of staff to direct us. The pub was in total darkness, but the alarm was going off in there too. I ran back into my room and grabbed my mobile and checked for an emergency out of hours number in my room realising there was no-one on site. Nothing, no instructions, nothing. I had no choice but to call the Fire Brigade, who also involved the Police, and we and other guests, including small children, had to sit in our cars for about 11/2 hours until the fire brigade were sure the building was not on fire. They left and we had the ear piercing alarm ringing until the breakfast staff arrived at 8:15am. By this time we were cold, exhausted and in need of food, to be fair we were given breakfast by an apologetic member of staff and he sent for the Manager. The Manager arrived about 2 hours later and was apologetic and did not charge us for the rooms or breakfast. This was a disaster waiting to happen, there should be someone on hand in just such an emergency with a roll call of guests because we had no idea whether all the rooms were booked out so fire men had to take ladders and climb up to the upper floor and look through windows. We all accept that these things happen, but there should be a procedure in place. It's a shame because for what they charge Slyne Lodge is good value for money, but because of this disaterous experience none of my party would risk staying here again.

Room Tip: make sure you check your room for information of how to contact a duty manager before the pub closes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoSmithLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lancaster hotels

Wuppertal, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I stayed here for 4 nights recently to visit family in the area, arranged a late arrival and was given a warm welcome, being shown to my room personally was a nice touch.

Very clean rooms which are very well appointed for the price you pay. Shower would be the only remark which has a total lack of pressure.

Breakfast was very good and the service was also very pleasant. Do not know what earlier comment regarding cleanliness is in reference to, seemed very clean to me. In reference to the restaurant, the food seemed very good quality certainly not from Iceland, unless the previous bloggers' Iceland is aka Harrods.

Have to agree with an earlier remark of the locals being served first but what can one expect in such a place?

Stayed in Hilton Rotterdam recently for 4 times the price, given the choice i would always choose this place in comparison.

Room Tip: All rooms in seperate stable block, would probably advise to park in main car park due to size of ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
8.8 km away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,340 reviews
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
1,035 reviews
2.3 km away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
344 reviews
5.1 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,415 reviews
4.5 km away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Lancaster

Property: The Lodge Lancaster
Address: 92 Main Road | Slyne with Hest, Lancaster LA2 6AZ, England (Formerly Slyne Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge Lancaster 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lodge Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slyne Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing