We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
leigh w
Sheffield, United Kingdom

Perfect pub with perfect rooms 😍

Review of Toll House Inn
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks agovia mobile
Stayed 2 nights Gorgeous rooms, with lovely in-room essentials. White Company products and lots of refreshments with home baked biscuits. Breakfast are cooked for you and fresh. Great service from the staff with nothing too much trouble. Extra comfy beds for a lovely nights sleep.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Superior Bedroom 1
C$111
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Toll House Inn
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
C$133
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$133
0.6 km from Toll House Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$198
C$151
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$151
1.1 km from Toll House Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Luxury double
C$177
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$177
0.4 km from Toll House Inn
C$185
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$185
4.3 km from Toll House Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
C$161
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$161
0.7 km from Toll House Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$129
C$126
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$126
0.5 km from Toll House Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$137
  • Algotels
3.1 km from Toll House Inn
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
8.7 km from Toll House Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front Entrance of the Holiday Inn Lancaster
  • Hotels.com
  • HolidayInn.com
    C$131
  • Expedia.com
    C$132
3.2 km from Toll House Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Lancaster
Reviews (852)
Filter reviews
852 results
Traveller rating
484
271
62
22
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
484
271
62
22
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews penny bridge fresh milk night porter lovely hotel public car park cooked breakfast double glazing the pub fish and chips busy road breakfast was included bed was very comfortable evening meal city centre bar area biscuits canal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 852 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2024 via mobile

I booked this late for a night away as we were going to a gig.
The service was excellent even from an email sent during the day asking the time for Check in to be told the room is ready for us.
On arrival staff were friendly, smiles all round clearly the staff enjoy working there, if they don’t they hide it well! πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ˜
The room was well appointed. Tea, coffees, biscuits, then hair dryers and TV etc.
Breakfast was excellent and plentiful.
We’ll be returning soon.
Thanks again it was a pleasure x

Room tip: Limited parking at the Hotel but there is a car park just down the road and Β£14 for 24 hours.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Culture66508542885
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 13, 2024

My husband and I had chose lamb from the Sunday roast menu, and what a good choice it was. Plenty of it and cooked beautifully. As was the whole meal. One of the best we've ever had and we eat out quite a lot.
The restaurant and beer garden are lovely and the staff very polite and helpful.
Well done Toll House Inn. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Vacationer745869
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 10, 2024

After a shaky start - no trace of our booking despite the confirmation email we had received - , we enjoyed our stay here. Friendly helpful staff who rebooked us a room and at a lower rate! Nicely designed room, good food with great vegetarian options. Ideal for an overnight stop en route to Scotland.

Room tip: The hotel is on a main road but we asked for a quiet room and we were not bothered by traffic at all thanks to the good double glazing.
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Su B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 10, 2024

My Husband and I stayed one night at the Toll House Inn at the end of our holiday in the Lake District. Although only a short break we found all the hardworking staff were friendly, efficient and very helpful throughout our stay. Our lovely comfortable room was exactly what we had requested and came complete with a massive bathroom and toiletries.
The breakfast far exceeded our expectations. I started my breakfast with a fruit juice and a delicious fresh fruit salad, followed by a well cooked tasty full English, toast and marmalade, and tea to drink. My Husband enjoyed scrambled eggs and smoked salmon on a muffin. The breakfast service was excellent.
We travelled by train and the station was a 10 minute walk. There is also a delightful canal walk across the road from the hotel.
I would not hesitate in recommending the Toll House Inn to anyone looking for accommodation in Lancaster, we felt it was good value for the money.
Highly recommended.

Room tip: The rooms on the 2nd Floor are quieter.
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 7, 2024

We stayed in a family room (2 adults and 2 kids, aged 5 and 10) for 3 nights, while visiting extended family in Lancaster. Having never even been to the pub before, we were a little nervous about what to expect.

We needn't have worried. The room was comfortable and plenty big enough for the four of us. The bar was pleasant and the breakfast substantial. But what makes this hotel such a nice place to stay is the staff. Everyone was so friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

Having arrived after a horrendous drive from Kent, a friendly smile and warm welcome was just what we needed. We'd contacted the hotel a few days ahead to ask about parking, and they reserved us a spot right next to the courtyard, making it easy to unload and to come and go.

They gave us some fresh milk for our tea and coffee in the morning, in a little thermos flask (lovely touch) and provided us with a much-needed pint/glass of wine to take to our room!

On the second night, unfortunately our daughter was sick on the bed - we were obviously mortified but the team were so understanding and reassuring, immediately providing fresh sheets/duvets and asking after her for the rest of our stay (she was fine thankfully).

For our final breakfast, we asked the night before if the rest of the family (14 in total) could join us, as a bit of a farewell. Once we'd agreed a time (they wanted to make sure they could look after us properly), the next morning we arrived and they had put us in the function room, so we had our own space and was a perfect way to finish off the weekend.

We really did feel well looked after and would have no hesitation recommending the Toll House to anyone thinking of visiting Lancaster and the surrounding area.

Thank you so much to the team (especially Joe!) for helping make it such a lovely visit.

Room tip: If you want to park at the hotel get in touch with them as early as possible.
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattB307
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews