We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveller rating
236
89
62
24
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
89
62
24
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews abbey road park view suite a family run hotel town centre yorkshire breakfast birthday party function room car park the hotel manager friendly hotel sunday lunch next morning lasagna full english breakfast wedding reception course meal stayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 431 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2018 via mobile

We had a very disappointing experience.
We were there on a Saturday night.
The hotel is basically a wedding and function venue with rooms above.
Problem is they don’t advertise this and if you are not at the function you are in for a very loud experience in your bedroom. It was like we were in the function.
The hotel is not built for function hosting so has no sound proofing.
The whole place looks like it has been poorly thrown together.
The rooms have been refurbed but not very well. Standard of furniture decoration and equipment is poor.
The bed was too small and not very comfortable.
The worst night we have had in a hotel for many years.
And not particularly cheap either.
Just a very bad experience.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank PhilipJepson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management001, Front Office Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Thankyou for your review dated 27th may. We are sorry to hear that you feel you had a bad experience during your stay with us.

We are a family run, fully functioning Hotel and a popular choice of venue for Weddings and Functions.

For your stay on 26th May, you booked an economy double which is very competitively priced. These rooms are located all throughout the Hotel so unfortunately on weekends some noise from the functions is unavoidable.
We do have upgrades available to rooms overlooking the park which is a much quieter side of the Hotel and this is offered to our guests on check in. I apologise if this was not made clear to you when you arrived.

We understand that you reported the issue to our Night Manager at 11.40pm where he informed you the music would be finishing in 20 minutes at midnight. Again, I apologise for any inconvenience caused.

On the other hand, the following morning the manner in which you spoke to the receptionist was incredibly rude and did cause her distress for the rest of her shift and afterwards. Please be advised we do have a zero tolerance policy when it comes to threatening behaviour and if you had asked to speak the the Manager on duty regarding this issue, this could've been resolved in a private area rather than a confrontational manner in front of the reception area.

Again, we can only apologise for your disappointment and we do welcome any feedback from our guests which shows us any areas we can improve on.

Kind Regards
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 19, 2018

Stayed on a Friday night the staff were friendly and the hotel spotless.Great value for money plus dog friendly rooms. It was a bit noisy from traffic and sirens but if your staying near the town you would expect that.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank V1915CLl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management001, Front Office Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2018

Thankyou for your lovely comments, we enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2018 via mobile

We went to this hotel after it being highly recommended. The food n staff were good for meals. Unfortunately what is a shame was we booked this hotel as we were attending the races at Doncaster. As we had not been to Doncaster before and as it was ladies evening at the races and we knew me walking far in high heels ladies is a no no we added on parking at the races. This was a present for my boyfriend. What the hotel did not inform us was that once we were parked up they would allow other guests to block us in. We also wanted to leave spare shoes and coats in the car so we could nip out when it got cooler later on. This was not meant to be. I have never felt so imprisoned at a hotel and have always been able to come and go as I please before as that is the point of visiting new places. What was more appaling was they went to get the groom of a wedding as it was his party and he gave us 20 pound for a taxi and a round on him. This should have been the hotel that did this not the groom at a wedding. It said a lot. When we got up the next morning my partner was worked up as we were still blocked in and he couldn't each much breakfast. It ruined our weekend at the races and made what should have been a special event a stressful one. Please be warned parking is atrocious and if u do park at this hotel u could well be imprisoned by being blocked in.
Yours sincerely
Miss shore

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management001, Front Office Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2018

Thankyou for your comments re your stay at the Regent Hotel.
Many apologies for your issue with our car park. We are a town centre hotel and so unfortunately have limited car parking. It is hotel policy that car parking is done on a first come, first served basis and we do not allow cars to block in in the car park. On this particular night the hotel was full and we had 2 events on. I understand that one of the wedding guests blocked you in on this occasion and we could not find him on the night.
The money for the taxi was offered by the groom as a goodwill gesture and was not anything to do with the hotel.

Once again, we can only apologise for any inconvenience you experienced on the night.

Kind Regards
Regent Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2018 via mobile

Pros: reception area, bar and breakfast room. Very friendly and helpful staff. Correct price. Close to the railway station. Room of decent size, clean, confortable bed, heating was on. Cons: a maze of coridors to get to the room plus staircases - not good if you carry suitcases. Wifi was more or less OK. TV did not work, very small screen. Bathroom clean, very simple and not too modern. To summarize, a normal place to stay for a night, have been in better Doncaster hotels for the same amount of money. The staff was great though.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank Nedko1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management001, Sales & Events at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2018

Thankyou for your comments, we appreciate your feedback and are pleased to see you found your stay with us to be pleasurable overall.
We do have a lift that serves half of our rooms and if you were to mention this when booking with us again we would ensure you were allocated a room close to the lift.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2018

Stayed here in February with my wife whist visiting friends, 1 night B&B

Check In :: No Problems at all. Quick , Friendly and efficient.

Room:: Very nicely presented, clean and a very generous size.

Breakfast :: Superb. Nice selection on the table and nothing beats a proper cooked breakfast. Staff were attentive , polite and friendly.

Generally when we stop away from home, it's always a premier inn, due to price, locations and you know what you are going to get, but the regent has that unique charm and feel about it and doesn't have that regimented , corporate look.

We will be back later in the year and we will be stopping here, Simon and the team do a great job here and long may it continue.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank richuk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management001, Sales & Events at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2018

Thankyou for your excellent comments, we are pleased to see you had such an enjoyable stay here at The Regent Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back again later in the year!

Kind Regards

Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews