We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“very good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Doncaster

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
cleethorpes
Level Contributor
273 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“very good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

stayed here several times excellent staff really big breakfast room often a problem at expresses also does evening meals which is unusual room i had was starting to show its age a bit but i spite of being on ground floor was very quiet i would always stay at this hotel in area also reasonably priced

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CleethorpesGtfcfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    132
    65
    10
    10
See reviews for
65
127
29
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neath
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed here three times to visit Doncaster Rovers fc, which is 1 mile from hotel.Stayed one night for £44.Hotel is situated behind B & Q, If you drive over the bridge which crosses the railway line, you have passed it! Breakfast is not the best, the choice is, fruit juice, cereal, but the cooked part of the breakfast is, sausage, beans, & scrambled egg, no bacon, or fried eggs, the scrambled eggs were not very warm.The Woodford pub across the car park is very good.Staff very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Godfrey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

Clean rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Lovely breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Definately dont rely on the post code to get you there. Ask for B&Q or the Woodford farm pub. The hotel room was a fair size, bathroom very nice, clean, functional. Our gripe is the bed, soft and sagging in the middle, if you like to be close to your partner this is the place for you. Give the staff their due, they did give us another room,another saggy bed, so yet another room. This was marginaly better. Breakfast seems to be luck of the draw. Day one on the hot menu,sausage scrambled egg and beans. Day two (two bus loads of guest) sausage, beans,scrambled egg, tomatoes and bacon. But big ques to eat. Oh the orange juice is tastless. Staff multitasking so we had to go find someone in the breakfast room to pay the bill.

Room Tip: check bed befor you unpack
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjenkin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

My first stay at this Holiday Inn Express was back in June, before I discovered the wonderful online site Trip Adviser, so have decided to rate both stays on the post.
Myself and the wife need some where to stay for the evening in Doncaster, As I was booking in advance and knew there was not going to be the need to vary or cancel the date chosen, I decided to shop around for a good deal, as I was booking early, I was able to take advantage of Holiday Inns early booking saver rate and got a very competitive price.

First visit June 11: The hotel was easy to find in a convenient location, when I arrived there was ample parking spaces with four disabled bays right next to the entrance, when I went to check in the lower disabled accessible desk had been broken but the staff came round the counter to allow me to complete the paperwork, I had booked a disabled room, which was on the ground floor it was extremely spacious with a fully accessible bathroom, a lowered bed, plenty of complimentary tea and coffee with making facilities within the room, a TV, after a very comfortable night’s sleep, we took advantage of what is described as a complimentary breakfast( although considering the cost of the room compared to a premier inn I believe the breakfast cost are budgeted into the price), Breakfast consisted of cereal , toast, croissants , rolls and scrambled egg , beans, sausages. Choice of tea or coffee and juices. Staffs were friendly and helpful. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay, and before we had left were looking forward to when we had to visit Doncaster again.


Second Visit October 11: Very excited needed to visit Doncaster again, don’t shop around for some where to stay, decided to just book the same hotel as we had stayed at before, however on this occasion two of our children decided that they wanted to accompany us this time, I was advised on booking the accommodation that I could not book a disabled accessible room as it could not accommodate the two children in it, however that I could book a family room which would still be suitable, On arrival go to check in some four months after our last visit and the disabled accessible counter still broke, staff did come round to help me check in as before, however I did feel that in such a long time since my last stay it should off been fixed. Our room on this occasion was on the Second floor but this was not an issue as there was a lift, and providing there was not a fire (and I was hopeful that it would not be the case I did not feel this would cause any problems.) On entering the room I could hardly move as the room was very small, I would of possibly had more room to move if I had been staying at Her Majesty’s Pleasure, there was not even enough room to turn around in my wheelchair in the room ,I Could not access the shower room / WC at all, thanks goodness for the McDonalds down the road that closed late and opened early, there were not enough towels put in the room, only enough for one cup of tea each for me and the wife, the kids bed consisted of a sofa bed, as this was the case I am bewildered as to why one could not have been put in an accessible room, do holiday inn not believe that disabled people have children and want to stay in hotels. On wanting to go to bed I could only get in to bed by my wife lifting me into the bed, as could not get my chair to either side of the bed, once in bed it was the most uncomfortable night I have ever had in any hotel, and I have stayed in a few. The bed sunk in the middle so you both rolled into each other. I hardly managed to get four hours sleep, the kids moaned that their bed was uncomfortable and they were tired when they got up at 6.30 and I did not wake them up, they just could not sleep any longer in it. Breakfast was still good but was too tired to really be interested in eating, wish I had spent the night at home got up early and drove up to Doncaster that morning, I would have been better rested than staying here for the night. On check out was asked how we sleep told the guy at reception who said if we had phoned down would of moved us to a new room, however a 10.30 at night after a 200 mile drive had just wanted to get into bed, was not thinking about making a complaint about the room. As they say you are only as good as your last stay so am afraid that I could not recommend this hotel for a disabled person with a family but can if you are travelling as couple you should be ok.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Storm287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

I have stayed here on many occasions and a Priority Club member check in is always quick and easy with check in staff always polite and friendly. The rooms are well fitted out with all you need for a good nights sleep. Good lounge/bar area that serves good food and a small breakfast buffet is also available. If you book in advance you can get a fantastic rate at this hotel. Will be staying again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor away from lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flounder1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spilsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Decided to stay for a two night break taking in the "Question Of Sport Live show" we took full advantage of the "Daily Mail" hotel offer by saving tokens and selected The Holiday Inn Express in Doncaster. Housed in a modern building with plenty of fee parking, our room was large, clean, comfortable and fantastic value. The rate paid per night even included a buffet breakfast which provided a range of hot or cold items. The staff were polite and very helpful and a credit to the hotel management.

Despite being located on the edge of an industrial and business complex it is only one mile from the centre of Doncaster which has plenty of parking. The hotel does offer a limited evening meal and has a nice bar in the lounge area, however there is a very popular pub opposite where good reasonably priced food is available. Check out was quick and efficient
and we would stay there again should we have the need to stay in that area. The hotel seemed full and to be honest I can see why, this must be ideal for the business community.

Room Tip: Best to go online to aquire the best room rate or look on website for special offers, all rooms well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnHerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Doncaster (Lakeside) Hotel
3.7 km away
Holiday Inn Doncaster A1(M), Jct. 36
1.0 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Doncaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
3.2 km away
Premier Inn Doncaster Central (High Fishergate) Hotel
2.3 km away
Premier Inn Doncaster Central East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Doncaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Doncaster

Property: Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
Address: Firstpoint Balby Carr Bank | Bullrush Grove, Balby, Doncaster DN4 5JQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Doncaster
#7 Business Hotel in Doncaster
#7 Romantic Hotel in Doncaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Doncaster 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Express by Holiday Inn Doncaster has been created for value and comfort. The hotel is Fully Air Conditioned ,every room is equipped with all the facilities you need for a relaxing and comfortable stay, an invigorating power shower, satellite TV, in-room movies, broadband access, High Speed Internet Access and tea/coffee making facilities. Guests can enjoy our complimentary continental buffet breakfast and relax in the Great Room lounge and bar area. FREE WIFI in lounge and bar. Located in First Point Business Park, just a two minute drive from the M18, this hotel is the perfect choice for leisure and business. In house are 2 fully equipped meeting rooms. The Dome Leisure Centre. and the Keepmoat Stadium home of Doncaster Rovers Football Team are both less than 5 minutes drive away. The Doncaster Racecourse and Exhibition Centre home of the famous St. Leger Race is local. Doncaster is also home to Doncaster Knights Rugby Club at Castle Park.The hotel is situated close to Robin Hood Airport and the location of the hotel offers excellent transport links to the M18 and A1(M) for nearby cities such as Sheffield, Leeds and Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Doncaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster Hotel Doncaster
Holiday Inn Doncaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing