We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice B&B, good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catbrook House

Catbrook House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chipping Campden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Catbrook House
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice B&B, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Had 1 night here in May 2011. The location is nice, being on the edge of the village. It was 10 mins walk down a back lane to the centre. Proprietors were nice, a German couple who made us feel welcome. Was able to park the car safely in the forecourt of the B&B.
Chipping Campden was nice, though I think it's overrated as being the "best" of the Cotswolds villages, I think that Boughton on the Water, Burford and maybe Broadway were more appealing.
The B&B is in a very quite spot, it backs onto fields on 2 sides.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gareth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

Comfortable stay, friendly and helpful hostess, lovely house, great breakfast, set in lovely countryside, clean, easy walking distance into Chipping Camden, parking available. Only let down was the extractor fan in the bathroom next to us which woke us up every time someone used it. You might get a better night’s sleep by booking one of the other (cheaper) rooms rather than the ensuite which we were in.

Room Tip: Don't choose the ensuite room as the extractor fan next door will keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We booked our room here for a wedding, and this B and B is in a good situation very close to the centre of the town.
We booked a Double room, the Green room, and found our bathroom to be down at the bottom of a flight of stairs which we hadn't thought to check up on. When we went to bed we found we had two single duvets on our double bed, which made sleeping awkward and uncomforable for us. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty however.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Catbrook House is nestled in the lovely village of Chipping Campden. The owners Anna and Mathias, were charming to a fault. The room was cosy and definitely European. It was immaculately clean and the Kleins run a very nice establishment. The garden out back is a hidden treasure, lovingly tended and excellently maintained. Chipping Campden is an ideal home base location in the Cotswolds, and the Catbrook House is a perfect place to rest your weary head(or feet) after a long busy day. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweettoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

I found Catbrook House to be a quiet and relaxing place to stay in the beautiful town of Chipping Camden. It is located a short - probably five minute - walk from the center of town so it is easy to enjoying the local atmosphere and yet have a quiet place to walk back to at the end of the day. A walking path starts across the road and there are many many intersting things to see in the surrounding area. I especially enjoyed the gardens at Hidcote, only about two miles away. The room was very clean and comfortable. A lovely place to stay

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsy132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

Booked catbrook house at very short notice for a weekend break with my husband and really cant give any negatives,
the house itself was a lovely detached house built in cotswold stone with off road parking.
the lady who met us at the door was very pleasent and welcoming and informative when we asked questions on places of interest etc.
although the house itself was very dark interior and 1980s it was clean and our room was peaceful and had nice views.
There were notices around the house asking guests not to bang doors and to consider other guests which i liked because all to often when you are on holiday etc you have to endure inconsiderate people.
breakfast was a variation of juices, cereals.and a cooked breakfast if required .
chipping campden itself was about a 15 minute street lit walk.
would definitely return

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMELIA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

Privately owned B&B, with three rooms (not all ensuite). Nice welcome by proprietor, who was friendly and full of advice. Tricky to find - call ahead for directions. Private parking, and quiet at night. Lovely cooked breakfast made to order. 5 minutes walk from Chipping Campden (pretty Cotswolds town), and close to A44 for other local towns.

Only downside, mattress was lumpy and could feel springs - if they get a new mattress then a perfect little B&B!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas_0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chipping Campden hotels
0.8 km away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.8 km away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
4.5 km away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Volunteer Inn
The Volunteer Inn
#17 of 28 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.8 km away
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
#1 of 28 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.9 km away
Eight Bells Inn
Eight Bells Inn
#7 of 28 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catbrook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catbrook House

Property: Catbrook House
Address: Catbrook House Catbrook, Chipping Campden GL55 6DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing