We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,171)
Filter reviews
1,171 results
Traveller rating
715
304
91
40
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
715
304
91
40
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea sauna and steam room leisure facilities leisure club swimming pool sandwiches drawing room restaurant manager cotswold countryside changing rooms hotel is beautiful lovely setting relaxing break the general manager ebrington arms cream tea four poster bed
Filter
Updating list...
488 - 493 of 1,171 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here when visiting Hidcote Gardens and it was a great choice due to its location. We were greeted by a very friendly man on reception and upgraded which is always a bonus. However we discovered afterwards that it was to a room where dogs are allowed to stay and my friend suffers with an allergy to animal fur so she did suffer in the evening.

Dinner was fabulous. Excellent food and service. Breakfast was also good but there is a limited buffet table. They clearly use only the finest ingredients. The main house is very characterful and a lovely unusual place to stay. We didnt get to use the pool as in the late afternoon/evening and morning there were a number of mums and children who were visiting just for the pool and it wasn't big enough for us to be able to swim in too.

All in all we would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
Thank cher590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2015

Dear Guests
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, I'm sorry the pool was a little busy during your stay, it can be difficult to judge as some days it can be empty all day.
Kind Regards
Michael
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2015

Charingworth Manor is a wonderful place to stay if you are looking for a character hotel set in beautiful surroundings.

The staff could not have been more helpful, the food was superb and the setting was difficult to beat, with great views of the surrounding countryside.

It's the ideal place to stay if you enjoy a retreat or a place away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

The rooms were quirky and spacious, even though we received a complementary upgrade on arrival!!

We would definitely visit again and would welcome another chance to dine at the restaurant which served amazing food.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: A room facing out onto the gardens would have the best views
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beryl1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2015

Dear Guests
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Michael
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2015 via mobile

Wonderful, delightful and delicious afternoon tea for two. We greeted in a very welcoming fashion. Service and staff were excellent. The Manor is set in the heart of the Chipping Campton countryside . Extraordinary views of the rolling hills and fields to be had here. Thank you team.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Johnglor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2015

Dear Guests
We really do have stunning views and I'm glad you both enjoyed your tea with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
Michael
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2015

We stayed at Charingworth Manor at the end of May for a family celebration - a special birthday. Members of our party ranged from 5 to over 70 and all had a really good time. In particular I would mention the food at dinner, which was absolutely delicious, and the service, which was impeccable from start to finish. Really recommended, a great base for exploring the Cotswolds, and fab to stay in too.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
Thank danteandsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2015

Dear Guests
Thank you for your comments and I happy your family all enjoyed your recent stay, I will share your comments with the team here at the hotel.
Kind Regards
Michael
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2015

Our family booked just one night, during a driving tour of the Cotswolds. What a lovely experience - excellent service, charming rooms, and a fabulous dinner. And, of course, the location is absolutely stunning - our favorite location of our entire European vacation.

We stayed in the main building, which I believe is the oldest, and certainly it has an "old inn" feel, complete with low ceilings, creaky floors, and such. But the staff does a terrific job with the rooms and making everyone and everything as comfortable as possible.

Dinner was a real highlight. The menu was superb, the service warm and professional, the ambiance inviting. Our compliments to the chef.

I went for a run in the morning, heading out the long driveway and turning right onto B4035 for about two miles out. Luckily it was early (before 6am) and traffic was light, but I did have to dodge a few cars. I was rewarded with some of the best scenery I've ever seen during a run.

The only blemish on the visit was encountering a full busload of visitors for breakfast. We'd planned to eat right at 7:30am upon opening, and apparently they did too. They totally overwhelmed the small staff and dining room, literally clearing out the entire buffet table. Our waitress managed to make it over to us after 20 minutes to take our order, but by then it was too late, as we had a tight itinerary for the remainder of the day. Not her fault, but perhaps management can figure out some way to better handle large tour busloads without inconveniencing other guests.

Overall, thank you for a memorable and enjoyable visit!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Glenn90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2015

Dear Guests
I'm glad you both enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments. I apologise you where a little overwhelmed at breakfast and will look to improve this area in the future. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Michael
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews