We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Elegant hotel close to central Manchester” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #13 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Elegant hotel close to central Manchester”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

I have stayed at the Midland many times on business. It is extremely convenient for central Manchester. It has an air of Victorian elegance. The rooms are very comfortable and well-furnished. The two hotel restaurants provide very adequate food but breakfast is a little basic but also adequate. I have found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. WiFi is freely available throughout the hotel. Car parking is available but at the cost of £20 per night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 6th floor - on other floors some of the basic rooms are quite small
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppadoc5748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Poppadoc5748,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for where we get it right for you as a Business guest I thank you for telling others about your experience. Where you're looking for us to ever improve then as with all feedback we take it on board and will look to give you and all of our guests an even better time next time round.

Genuinely our ambition is for every guest to enjoy consistently great service and hospitality at The Midland whilst at the same time making the experience bespoke and as interesting and new as possible.

We look forward to your return and the opportunity to deliver another great stay for you.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,594
    1,336
    470
    143
    76
See reviews for
622
1,848
159
1,110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (798)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

I have stayed at the midland a couple of times and I have always been satisfied. A stylish hotel and I found the beds are very comfortable . The hotel is very clean and the staff both proffesional and courteous . We stayed for bed and breakfast and I found the breakfast to be of a good standard . I would not hesitate to stay here again .

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliataylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Julia,

Apologies in the delay to replying to your review however it is appreciated and of course we'd be delighted to see you back here soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Midland with my Mum for a theatre break this month, we booked a special Friday package including breakfast and upgraded to a superior twin room.
Although check in was 3pm we arrived at 1pm and were allowed to check in straight away, the reception staff were polite and helpful throughout our stay.
Our room was huge with plenty of wardrobe space and two enormous beds. The bathroom was clean and the toiletries were really lovely.
The hotel is really central we parked in the upper level of the convention centre for only £9 for 24 hours and the hotel was a short walk from the car park, shops and the theatre.
Lovely stay at a reasonable price, excellent brekkie would definately stay again!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsB_Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Mr&MrsB_Leeds,

First of all I think I can vouch for part of your night being excellent as I went to see 'Phantom' also. However thank you for your kind words about the part that The Midland played in your break as we are extremely lucky by the fact that we are located so close to Manchester's Theatre and Concert venues.

Thanks also for the kind words about your room and our great team it is appreciated.

We look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

I recently stayed at the Midland Hotel in Manchester and I was very impressed. The staff were very helpful and polite and made my stay very comfortable. My room was very comfortable and spacious and I would recommend anyone to stay there. The breakfast that was served was beautiful. The midland hotel offers a huge choice of breakfast and I thoroughly enjoyed my breakfast that morning. I will definately be returning to the hotel for future vists as the location is also in a very useful position. Cant speak highly enough of this fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Stuart C,

Thank you for your kind words about our team, this great hotel, our footprint at the heart of Manchester and our food offering. Delighted to read also that you would recommend us to anyone; praise indeed!

We look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

I had the fortune to stay over in this lovely hotel for business last night (third time). As ever the Midland is just a simply fantastic hotel; rooms are great, big and spacious and the a/c is top notch if you like your room ice cold like I do (or hot).

Beds are the comfiest hotel beds anywhere and the bathroom sizeable and filled with the gorgeous pecksniff's products (best hotel products anywhere).

I will always recommend the Midland as the best hotel to stay in in Manchester to anyone that will listen to me.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the hotel facing Manchester Central or interior rooms overlooking the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJ29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear LJ29,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for writing about The Midland in such a positive way; it really is appreciated!

It goes without saying that we'd be delighted to see you back here and again thank you for telling others about your experience and the part our great team play in delivering such a great stay for you.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Stayed for 3 nights this week, we pulled up outside and where greated by Raymond the Concierge, lovely man and made us very welcome straight away, organised our cases to be sorted and for the car to be parked by the valet parking which is great. The rest of the staff followed on from the standard set by Raymond, all very friendly, Liz at breakfast deserves a mention as well, excellant.The hotel is very grand, rooms very big and room service very quick and good quality, the room was a little dusty and as mentioned by others ash tray of some sort needed outside being the only negatives .Its a great location and only a short walk to Kendals, Harvey Nicks and Selfridges amongst others. Checked out today and car brought to front of hotel and we were off, end of a great 4 days. Thanks.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prop01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear prop01,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for telling others about how well you enjoyed yourself. Raymond does a great job in welcoming guests to The Midland as do our team within each department including Liz at breakfast and many, many others who are part of this fantastic team.

To be fair we do have ash trays outside of the hotel for guests who smoke and they are within the designated smoking area along the Auden Way. We decided not to put them outside the front of the hotel as guests entering us complained about the smell. A situation which I hope you can appreciate for non smokers can be extremely unpleasant and detracts from the ambience that we want to create for ALL of our guests. This scenario leaves us in a no win situation if guests decide to smoke outside the front of the hotel rather than use the smoking area that is already prepared for them.

All that said once again I'd like to thank you for your kind words and of course we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

I stayed here for a conference with work and had a very pleasant stay. Rooms were lovely and big with VERY comfortable bed! The only 2 downsides were that the windows in the rooms did not open. There was air conditioning but i'm afraid I like fresh air! The other is that there is no ashtray outside the building therefore you have to either throw your butt in the road or down a drain. I do only smoke a couple a day and I HATE having to throw the butts on the floor!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear cheryl w,

First of all thank you for your very kind words and for taking the time to review us. In answer to your observations you've highlighted the two areas where we've made compromises based upon guest feedback in the recent past.

In opening I can confirm that we do put ashtrays in our designated smoking area for guests use and that this area is to the rear of the Hotel along the Auden Way as the vast majority of our guests are non smokers and told us that they didn't really want to be subjected to others habits and associated smell and smoke when arriving and departing from the hotel. I hope that you can see our reasoning and preparation therefore.

Our hotel enjoys 100% air conditioning throughout our bedroom stock and we found that it is only effective if the windows are kept closed. Which is one of the reasons why we lock the windows. It is important to note that they are also part of the hotel listing and we want to retain the character of this 'grand old dame' as much as possible as well as ensuring we keep guests safe.

Both aspects, I know, are compromises but based on decisions made after reading through the feedback from our guests and we sincerely believe that we sympathetically ensure that we make as many guests as comfortable as possible so that they enjoy their time with us.

I do hope that my brief explanation does not detract from the main gist of your review in that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us as that always remains our primary aim. And from your feedback is a situation that we are absolutely delighted about and hope that you will repeat many times in the future.

Thank you once again and we look forward to your return

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.3 km away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#5 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 19 in Salford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,304 reviews
0.3 km away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#8 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
0.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca and Expedia so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing