We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place ”

Mughli Charcoal Pit
Ranked #186 of 2,568 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Mughli Restaurant + Charcoal Pit is a family-run restaurant serving home-style Mughlai cuisine since 1991. Recently voted as 'One of Manchester's Best Restaurants' by the Telegraph, the restaurant was also featured on Nigel Slater's show on the BBC and has had visits from sports personalities as well as the Prime Minister himself. The restaurant features a 'Refreshment Room' waiting area and a fully licensed cocktail bar, with the main restaurant set around an open charcoal pit and tandoori clay oven.
Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile

We had a meal here last night, brilliant place and the food was amazing. The only reason it's a 4* review is the starters arriving at different times (one of us had finished before the other came) the restaurant was quite cold and a lot of people had coats on.
I would return and highly recommend it!

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank DannyManta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (971)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 120 of 971 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2017 via mobile

Busy on a Wednesday.
5 stars? Well, been a while since I had this good curry meal. Might just be top 5 ever in fact.
Good service
Had plate with various. Tasty.
Lamb for mains (NIHARI)
The sauce was fantastic! Made the whole meal for me.
Price acceptable
Will be back when I can.

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2017

perfect atmosphere and food...music a little too loud but really worth it. is our go to indian place.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Carlotbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2017 via mobile

Went here as it was highy rated. Its a casual street food type place. We had a nice welcome and a good table. The food is unusual and we ordered lots of dishes to share. The food was good. The broccolli was excellent. Lots of vegan choice too. It was a busy saturday night and the atmosphere was really nice. Friendly efficient staff. I would say that i highly recommend this place, however our the end of the meal was ruined. The bill came to £47.20 so we left £52. Two twenties, one tenner and two pound coins. A waitress-blond haired white girl-who hadn’t served us at any point in the evening, came over and picked up the tray containing the bill and cash. She counted the money and said, very abruptly, “this is twenty pence short”. I pointed out to her that there was in fact £52 and she said “oh, i thought the ten pound note was a five”. And then she just walked away. No apology or admission of her hasty mistake-just an excuse. And then she was gone! I thought this was really out of order. If her first instinct isn’t to be embarrassed and apologise, then in my opinion she is in the wrong job. Such an ungrateful attitude. Shame as the night was other excellent.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank noXinespresso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile

We were a party of three adults and two teenagers looking for a meal on a busy Saturday night. We visited Murghli and were warmly welcomed and immediately led to a table even though the restaurant was busy. The staff were attentive and drinks and meals were served smoothly. The food was amazing and we left happy and contented. Thank you

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mughli Charcoal Pit also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Mughli Charcoal Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing