We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,904)
Filter reviews
1,904 results
Traveller rating
742
646
310
137
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
742
646
310
137
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel portland street city centre street noise nespresso machine q park good size cooked breakfast afternoon tea great central location comfy bed saturday night lovely room executive room would stay again breakfast was excellent reception staff
Filter
Updating list...
412 - 417 of 1,904 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2016

I have just finished my second stay at the Townhouse and would recommend with caveats.
The location of the hotel is excellent; right in the middle of town with an easy walk to most places. It is on the corner of two busy roads so be prepared for some noise.
The bathroom, while large and clean, was not so good from an ergonomic point of view with no way I could see of turning on the shower without getting immediately wet and no way to fill the kettle in the sink.
One of the lifts was playing up but overall an excellent stay

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Duggy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townhousehotel2, Guest Relations Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2016

Dear Duggy44,

Thank you for the great comments and excellent review. We hope to see you again soon. Kindest Regards Jodie Veevers - Guest relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2016

We stayed for one night on the second floor. We got a double room when I had booked a king size, but didnt get the confirmation email, so couldn't say anything. It said you got dressing gowns & slippers & there were none. one of the en suite lights was broken. It was quite cold and we couldn't get the things to work, & there was quite a lot of street noise, but that is to be expected as it is in the centre of everything. It was clean though and we got a kettle to make tea, & water. We only really used it for sleeping after the wedding party we went to, so wasn't really that bothered.

Room Tip: Ask for a qiuet room if you don't want the street noise
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank KathrynR1279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2016

My colleagues and I stayed in this hotel for one night. We were all allocated our room. My room was 102. Lovely large room with separate shower and bath. Nespresso machine and bath robe. Unfortunately one of my colleagues in room 107 did not have the same luxury. She had a pokey room with no separate shower. No coffee machine or robe and her room overlooked the main street which was very noisy.

Dinner deal was very good value but a few issues with the order. Breakfast in the morning we asked for boiled eggs and were unable to eat them as unsure if cooked properly.

Apart from these little errors I thought the hotel was good and would stay here again. Unfortunately one of my colleagues would not.

Room Tip: Room 102 but ask for rooms higher and not on the street side as very noisy
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SarahW42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townhousehotel2, Guest Relations Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2016

Dear SarahW42, Thank you for the great comments and fab feedback - Hope to see you again soon. Kindest Regards Jodie Veevers - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2016

The Townhouse Hotel was very well presented. We had a room on the fourth floor and was very spacious, good view and clean. The shower was very good and powerful, we also had a coffee machine, bathrobes and slippers!
Breakfast was good quality food however the service seemed a bit rushed and the portions could be slightly bigger. The bar area was very relaxed and a nice setting to enjoy a few drinks in the evening. We also had the best afternoon tea ever, with warm scones!! We were served by Louise throughout our stay and she was very accommodating and helpful, although all staff members were very friendly from the day we booked!
We didn't have much to fault here and the price is very good too!!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townhousehotel2, Guest Relations Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2016

Dear JackLawrenence01,

Thank you for great review and fabulous feedback, Ill be sure to pass the comments on to the rest of the team.

Kindest regards

Jodie Veevers - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2016

We stayed here so we could be in town over our wedding and they were incredible. We were very lucky to be upgraded to a suite and it was extremely we appointed, very comfortable bed and an incredible shower. The hotel is in a lively area and on the Friday night a little noise could be heard in the lounge area but that's to be expected. We bought breakfast vouchers for £10 a person and we found the quality great with very strong coffee which was very welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townhousehotel2, Guest Relations Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2016

Dear Chris A,

Congratulations on your wedding, I'm really glad that you had a nice time with us - Hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards
Jodie Veevers - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews