We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the money this hotel is excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #95 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed on February 14th the hotel was clean and staff were friendly and helpfull

Thank Yeardles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,060)
There are newer reviews for Britannia Manchester Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,189 - 3,195 of 4,060 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

Would again stay here for a place to get my head down but nothing more. Staff were very friendly and helpful but that doesn't make up for the fact the place is seriously outdated. Our room had no window, the extraction although switched off at the wall rumbled away all nite and there is an unpleasant smell about the place. A good refurbishment needed and this place could be a great hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayser12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This is the worst hotel I have EVER stayed in and it should have warnings on its website, 1, the entrnace is raised ie 2 lots of steps, about 4 in each level, then the entrance doors open in such a fashion you have to hope someone will hold them ajar. 2, you go round a big staircaes to queue like at an airport, when called you get very little information, like parking, in fact its like pulling teeth, they have no car park, its an ncp one, a long walk away, and its 16 quid for 24 hours thats with discount. 3. we asked for a quite room and were sent to 5th floor, big mistake i did not look at room docket, it does not print room number legibly so had to go back from 5th floor and get attendant to write it down, their english was poor, 4. room was a nightmare, cramped, badly decorated, and worst of all no sound proofing, so much for a quite room. be warned do not stay at this hotel unless it is a last resort. the site i booked this with will never see me again either, it was a last minute, hint< arrangement but we should have been warned about access, and we are elderly AWFUL and I am writing this while sat in actual hotel. if you do it had a blank space for a picture on wall with a mark around it, if you do book ask to see the room you are allocated. if i paid 29 quid i would not even right here i would have checked back out and gone elsewhere!!!

Room Tip: do research and avoid a place like this, dont trust late arrangements and
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gerrymitie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

we booked our room from late rooms and when we got to the hotel there was no info for us we sorted that out the room well verry dirty the bed was clean but needed a new carpet and the bathroom needed a clean from top to bottom

we was staying two nites and on the second day we whent out for the day and on the return to our room the key cards would not work so i whent to the front desk and sed our key is not working the lady sed we was only booked for one nite but i was 100% i booked two nites when she looked on the late rooms website i was in for two nites just the last thing you need after a long day would i stay here agen NO is the anser

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

When walking into the foyer of this hotel, it looks quite impressive, with the huge chandelier and stair case. This is where the wow factor ends.
Everything in the hotel is grubby.
I think i stayed in the room that time forgot! The decor is really shabby. There was dirt on the walls and the carpet had a weird red stain that looked like make up or paint or something.
The floor that I stayed on stunk... it was a weird mix of cigarette smoke and cheap air freshner. It was really sickening.
I didn't eat in the hotel at all, as I wanted to get out of the as soon as possible in the mornings. The price of the room was very cheap, but you really get what you pay for. I would recommend paying the extra and staying somewhere nicer.

It could be a lovely hotel if it had a huge face lift as the building itself is quite nice, but the interior is disgusting.
Definitely wouldn't recommend it to a friend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face Piccadilly gardens. It's very noisy in the mornings as it i...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmieLou83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Spent Sat night there, the 18th Feb, on a Valentines package,

Deluxe double on 5th floor ahad Nothing wrong with it, great large window,
comfortable and spacious.
very clean.

Buffet was very busy, and food not quite as topped up as it could hve been, but it was 8.45 so maybe the rush had ended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisnwillnboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I spent 2 nights at the Britannia and found it clean and comfortable, The room was spacious and even though it faced the main road it was very quiet. Restaurant was large and even though it was Valentines day we didn't need to book. Basic food but good never the less. Hotel has an amazing central staircase and an attractive bar area.
Our package included fizzy wine and chocolates.
Car parking is nearby at the NCP car park at a reduced rate.
Very conveniently located for Chinatown, the art gallery, the trams, Picadilly gardens and Canal Street.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room either one facing the outside or one with a whirlpool bath.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnecPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 km away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 km away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.3 km away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#72 of 120 in Manchester
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 km away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
1.0 km away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Address: 35 Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $70 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing