We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“verry nice hotel good for nite life!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #92 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
chester
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“verry nice hotel good for nite life!!”
Reviewed 2 April 2010

this is a verry nice hotel last time we stayed the room was of a dark smelly room but this time we stayed it was verry nice we was on the 5th floor looking out over the city bed was a littal hard but was verry clean staff was verry nice we arived late around 11.00pm and the front desk staff was verry nice. a good hotel to stay in if you are looking for a good nite life close by (cannal street ) and good for shopping all within walking distence

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    792
    966
    754
    1,229
See reviews for
389
1,428
338
731
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,057)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The World
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Very grand looking hotel, staff were friendly, however, for that price I assumed there would be a window in the room.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _Phileus_F0gg_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere port
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

I have to highlight that I stayed in this hotel for a very brief time and so my opinions will only satisfy those who aren't staying for long. This hotel cost us £47 a night for two people, which I consider to be very cheap, which is why I think it was value for money-essentially we paid buttons to stay in a 3 star hotel.
The room itself had only a sky light for a window as we were on the 5th floor, which I would have never picked, and advise that you ensure you don't-as it feels very claustrophobic. The tiles in the bathroom were a bit dodgy-clean but didn't all match, there was no apparent extractor fan, and the bath leaked. The bedroom itself was very dark-due to the lack of a "big light" and the only natural light coming from a curtained off corner. The decor was very old fashioned, and I felt at times like I was on the Titanic. The stairs were very daunting, and the lifts were a bit scary too-making lots of noises, and being high up are not things you want when trying to get to ground level.
Other reviewers have complained about the staff but I found them to be polite and helpful, but seeing as I only spoke to them when checking in and out, I don't know whether that amounts to much.
The sleep quality was ok-the bed was comfortable and clean-but I like cold air to come through an open window at night as it helps with my asthma, and although I could open the skylight, it opened mere centimeters. You could also hear through the walls, we were able to here our friend snoring-and they don't snore that loud!
The location is just a stones throw away from the night life, which was perfect because everyone seemed to be going on a night out (including us). When it comes to breakfast at the end of the road when you leave and turn right there is a Wetherspoons which do a breakfast for a quarter of the price you pay in the hotel.
All in all, if you are looking for a bed for the night and a leaky bath, then this is the place.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lc8661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Stayed at this hotel back in August last year for an overnight stay after a friends Birthday night out - the hotel is atrocious ! Upon arrival the hotel looks really grand and the foyer and reception areas are really nice. The staff however were rude upon check in and we was advised that our room wouldnt be ready for at least another 2 hours !! Bearing in mind we was advised that we could check in at 2pm and it was about 2.30 ! Anyway we totted off into Manchester did some shopping had some food and returned to our room to get ready for the big night out. When we finally got into our room it dark, hot and dirty. The first thing we noticed was that the room had no window - how it can be classed as a room i dont know, the second thing we noted was the state of the skirtin boards and chairs in the room, they looked as though they hadnt been cleaned since Victorian times. There was plug sockets hanging off the wall, dodgy 4 way plugs jutting out haphazardly. Overall it was bad, and the room was just too hot. We decided to get a fan but the fan was absolutely filthy, no way i would be switching that on. The only thing that was quite clean was the bathroom and the bedding thank god. The next morning we complained only to be told that we had already been given a reduced room rate so couldnt really complain - im not being funny but no matter how much you pay there are still standards !! So i decided to write in at which point about a month later i got a reply with a 50% refund - not exactly what i would have wanted but nevertheless still grateful after a terrible nights stay. I definately would not stay there again no matter how desperate i was to stay in the city centre, and I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleSweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

london
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

The Britania gets as resounding 2 out of 10. It is central and the breakfast is alright, that's where the pluses end. The rooms are not comfortable. Tastefully decorated it's not. Modern facilities is its claims, yet the was no toilet brush, TV remote control and a minute kettle. Towels are not changed even when requested, the windows are filthy, dust covers most surfaces, bulbs don't work, carpets are stained and the sliding closet door had come off its rails. When another door closes anywhere nearby, the vibration shudders the flimsy partitions, soundproofing is poor and its not value for money.
This place needs to clean its act up immediately. I am well travelled and not that fussy, but the Britania is only fit for weekend footie fans and maybe stag parties.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bridgetandralph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

Spent two nights here on a bargain break and very impressed. Amazed to be given a choice of smoking or non smoking room in this day and age.A welcome bit of common sense for us smokers.
Room smaller than expected for an 'executive suite' but had everything you could need and the bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in,including my own!
There was a terrific choice of dishes for breakfast which kept us going all day and the location is great for anyone without a car.
Would imagine it could be noisy in rooms overlooking Piccadilly but we were at the rear and apart from a drunken moron shouting the odds on Saturday night it was generally quiet .
Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMbKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2010

My boyfriend and i booked this hotel based on the price and good location - very close to the city centre. However, it was one of the worst stays in a hotel we have ever had. There is a nightclub underneath the hotel which plays loud booming music up until 2am making it impossible to sleep. After 2am there is constant noise from people leaving other bars, then to top it all off the traffic noise is very loud througout the whole night getting worse into the early morning. We asked to be moved to another room at 12.30 pm and were told the hotel was full and that it was not the fault of the hotel that we couldn't sleep. The website doesn't mention anything about noise - beware - if you want any sleep at all avoid this hotel at all costs. Staff were also rude when we complained. We would never ever stay here again. Rooms are also very dated in decor.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bramble01Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 km away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 km away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.3 km away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#69 of 118 in Manchester
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.3 km away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#59 of 118 in Manchester
742 reviews
0.6 km away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#46 of 118 in Manchester
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Property: Britannia Manchester Hotel
Address: 35 Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing