We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good facilities but only suitable for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
Ranked #44 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed here in March 2012 as we had a 5 night stay in Manchester to visit friends and family and this hotel was central to where we needed to visit during our stay.

The hotel was staffed to a good level, the facilities are fine - well within what you would expect for the price (the gym was an unexpected bonus) and overall the service was good.

Obviously the hotel targets short stays for flight connections and so therefore we found the room to be quite small with very limited storage space for a 5 night stay and also the menu in the restaurant is fairly short and easy to get bored of.

Overall though, would I stay here again - yes I would.

Room Tip: Short stays only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Andy_in_Estepona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,724 - 2,730 of 3,313 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed here recently 27/02/2012, I have a Priority card but had no problems. We had booked 2 rooms and parking for 2 weeks with Holiday Extra's. On arrival the receptionist was very helpful and pleasant, we were checked in promptly and we decided to upgrade to the club rooms. Used the club room lounge, made use of the free drinks 6pm to 8pm! Next morning enjoyed a good breakfast...all part of the package with club rooms. Rooms were clean and comfy.
No issues next morning with our transfer to the airport. On return we were collected within ten minutes and our driver was really first class, 5am in the morning after a long haul flight you just want to get to your car and go home. The driver even went in to the hotel, collected our car keys and made sure we found where our car was...would like to say thank you was too tired at the time! We all said we would book this hotel again for overnight stay and parking.

Room Tip: Club rooms are located in a quieter area and on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ella2008Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

we stayed here the night before flying. we paid on superbreaks which worked out cheaper. we also had 8 nights parking. The staff were very helpfull and there were 3 restaraunts and room service to choose from, all with different menus. the room was lovely with extra special toilettries and free sleep pillow spray which worked wonders.
The shuttle bus was free and very efficent, it was very busy but we still only had to wait 10mins max.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smybax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

What is wrong with these people, we stayed here before our early morning flight, we were greeted by polite and efficient reception staff, the bed was clean and extremely comfortable, we ate in the restaurant where the food was ok but the service absolutely fine. We had an early morning call and the transfer to the terminal at 4.30am was also extremely efficient with no waiting whatsoever. When we returned we were collected within 5 minutes and the car was where they said it was. What more do you want from an airport hotel? Also, if you check you paperwork it does state that you give your permission for your car to be taken off site and brought back for your return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaine2454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

all I can say is if you want to be greeted by an old nasty receptionist who has got a problem with children then you might like this place I paid £108 to be treated like rubbish,
waited over 30 min to be checked in then given a room that was at the far end of the hotel and the key would not work, after 1 hour managed to get in to room. Decided that as it was late would eat at bar £60 for 2adults 3 children. result spent all night ill. please dont stay at this hotel you have plentey of choices cheaper and better

Room Tip: dont book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apjnnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

apjnnp,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

The only good thing i can say about this hotel is the location right opposite the terminal but other than that it was dreadful.
on arrival the receptionist was rude and didn't seem to have a clue what she was doing took her 20 minutes to check us in and all that time she made us feel very unwelcome.she gave us a room on the far end of the hotel and forgot to activate the key so we had to go all the way back ,she didnt even the apologise.
we had dinner in the hotel that night which was very overprised for small portions and not a great selection.within hours the food had made me very ill,not a great start to the holiday
in the morning we wanted to take the shuttle to the terminal but it was such a small shuttle there was no room for us and we ended up walking with 3 kids and 3 large suitcases while still being sick every 5 minutes.
thanks to crowne plaza the first 4 days of my holiday were ruined when we complained we received an email saying thank you for you positive comments we appreciate it .they dont even bother to read the emails .
this hotel only gets 4 stars for its location because the service is appaling i have stayed in better etaps than this

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p1979Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

p1979Leeds,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

What can I say about the Manchester Crowne Plaza Hotel which includes an overnight stay with 8 days parking for £95?
We stayed on the 28th February 2012 and returned from out holiday some 7 days later to collect our car from the Hotel grounds. Let me also say that I am a member of their platinum club, their highest award. This platinum status makes you instantly recognisable to their staff on arrival and during your stay. It may even include some perks if appropriate, such as room upgrade etc.
On 28th February, we checked in. The Hotel had no record of who we were or the reason for our visit. Desk staff could not find our reservation and in the end had to ask us why we were here and the reason for our booking, to which I replied, “I thought you would know as we are platinum club members”.
I had parked our car securely at the back of the Crowne Plaza Hotel in zone 5. We returned from holiday on 7th March at 10.30pm, having had a 6 hour flight and 3 hours wait pre take off. We were a bit run down and still had another 4 hour drive home from the Hotel still to do.
I eventually collected my keys from reception, although after waiting 15 minutes with no one even acknowledging us, I had to shout to behind their desk if anyone was there. Keys now in hand, off we set to find our car which was not where I had parked it on arrival. Also, it had additional miles on the clock, my sat navigation reset and tampered with, the electronic driving seat adjusted to someone else’s position. Where had the car been?
On my return home and a day or so later, I sent an E mail to Crowne Plaza asking for an explanation to all these points and heard nothing from them. So after a week sent another E mail and have still heard nothing, not even an acknowledgement of either E mail. I want to know what has happened to my car whilst left in their care, who wouldn’t?
So, if you are thinking of using Crowne Plaza Manchester airport, please remember what happened to us and their indifference with customer service.
At the very least you would have thought they would acknowledge two E mails from a valued customer. Perhaps they think that if they do nothing people will give up and go away. There are many Hotels to use at Manchester airport who offer parking and overnight stays, I’ll think twice before I leave my car here ever again. At 17th March 2012, some 10 days after our return from holiday, we have still not heard a thing from Crowne Plaza. Disgraceful!
See another review from Scrappy485 which confirms my views. Premier Inns look a good option in future.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank J4NOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

NODNewcastleuponTyne,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
0.1 km away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
0.2 km away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#59 of 120 in Manchester
3,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.7 km away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.7 km away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport

Address: Ringway Road, Manchester M90 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#25 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#33 Business Hotel in Manchester
#40 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $138 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fantastic Manchester Airport Hotel superbly located on the Airport complex, the four-star Crowne Plaza Hotel is within easy access of the M56, M60 and M62 as well as Manchester City Centre. The hotel boasts a stylish restaurant and bar, offering modern cuisine in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. Accommodation includes 299 well-appointed air-conditioned bedrooms that are ideal for both the business and leisure traveller. High-speed internet access is also available in all rooms. Spacious family rooms and Accessible rooms are also available. A complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport is available to all guests. The Park Stay & Go package offers guests accommodation, long stay parking & courtesy transport to & from the airport. Vehicles are transferred to a secure off site car parking facility working in conjunction with Peter Ashley Car Parks. Hotel Residents are required to pay for parking at the overnight rate of £15 per vehicle. Our Car Park has floodlit signage and Pay and display machines for visitors. Please note parking is for cars only. The Crowne Plaza has four superb dining options, plus 24 hour room service. We also offer small meeting facilities and ample car parking with accessible spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing