We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location.. Poor Room!”
Review of New Union Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Union Hotel
Ranked #80 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Location.. Poor Room!”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Me and my friends came here for a birthday bash, Location was great no taxis or anything! Room was very basic and worth money we paid however... one window was broke and ha to stay open good job it was sweating that night!! Also light was very dim only one lamp worked, then the shower had no hot water and just dripped on you.. I then went to my friends room where there shower worked but again had no hot water, my other friends room was a triple room and you would expect 3 beds or a double and a siungle no it was 2 singles and an airbed! I personally dont think thats the acceptable, also didnt feel that staff were around alot and bar man was VERY rude and had one hell of an attitude! I mean i asked for a drink with a glass and ice with a straw and i got back.. " god you dont ask for much do ya!" think this is so innappropriate.. he was slamming about and given customers dirty looks ... overall had a fab time and suppose hotel was worth how cheap it was,.,, ya get wat ya pay for i suppose...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah-Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    49
    40
    13
    34
See reviews for
6
55
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The hotel is set in an ideal location for manchesters night life. it is close to rail and bus links.
the room itself was clean, and offered everything you need for a weekend get away.
The hotel staff were friendly, and we felt they were willing to help with anything we needed.
generally a great place to stay and would recommend it to friends.
overall very satisfied.

Room Tip: preferrably a room facing canal street would be requested, however this isnt that important for this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanpowell5393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Staff were excellent. Room was very small and basic but right in the heart of the village so no cabs. Hot water in the sink did not work but shower was ok. Bed was comfortable. Would have been nice to have a breakfast option after a heavy night out.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoff196050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2011

My husband and I stayed for one night on a Wednesday. Robin, the reception staff was very helpful and went out of his way to accommodate us and orient us to the town. The room is above a gay bar so we expected some noise but it was done by the time we went to bed which was about 1 am. The room was clean and comfortable. Great option for enjoying the Manchester night life!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jezebelkatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Our room was small but comfortable at the rear of property so little outside noise, shower could have been more powerful but apart from that a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikemmtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Lets be honest, your going down to Manchester for a night out on the village and where better to end up than at this hotel? I wouldnt stay here if i wasnt going out as its pretty nouisy untill the early hours!

Located bang on the village youll either start here or end up at this place, the rooms are great value and a pretty decent size. The other part of the group that i was with stayed at the etap hotel and they all were jealous of the room i had!

Rooms were spacious, clean but simple. Flatscreen TV for them all important tunes gettnig ready and a clean bathroom with towels and cream. Kettle is also included in the room for the rough morning after!

Staff were very helpfull but would probably advise checking in earlier rather than later as it does get pretty busy! You get a key with your own entrance at the front so you can stroll in whenever you want.

If your going down here for a night out and want to either book a room for yourself or with other people i would deffo reccomend staying here....i certainly will!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andynufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2011

We stayed in this hotel as it's location was good, but that was all that was good! When we arrived the hotel had lost our booking for a twin room and the person booking us in spent 20 minutes trying to work out why it had happened and who was responsible rather than resolving the problem. She then offered us a double, followed by a room with a camp bed for no discount. When i suggested these were not acceptable she told me she was going to complain to the company i booked it through about my attitude. We eventually accepted a room with 1 bed and 1 mattress on the floor which we were told is their standard twin room for a discount of 10%. This was noisy with people still up and down the corridors at 5/6am . In the morning the shower didn't work properly, nor did the tv in the room. It was difficult to find anyone to check out and get back our £20 deposit on the room key (only hotel i've ever had to leave one).A shame as the location is right in the heart of manchester with bars, clubs and resturants all within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ermford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 km away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#58 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.2 km away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 km away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#86 of 117 in Manchester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 km away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#49 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
0.6 km away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#67 of 117 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Union Hotel

Property: New Union Hotel
Address: 111 Princess Street, Manchester M1 6JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Union Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the New Union, you can benefit from: * Great value rooms from 40 pounds * 24-hour access key fob * Privacy: en-suite bathroom in every room * FREE Internet access via Wi-Fi * Convenient location near: o Gay village, Chinatown, shops & Palace theater o Piccadilly & Oxford Rd train stations o Chorlton St coach station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your New Union Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Union Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing